Old 27th January 2011, 23:55   #1
Thorin Hammer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Cannot rip CD's

I am having a problem with ripping any CD, Winamp won't do it. I am using Winamp Pro 5.601. I have done a clean install. When this problem first surfaced I could rip a couple of CD's after reinstalling Winamp and then no more. After I did the clean install I cannot rip any CD.

I searched all over the forum and Winamp help for an answer to this problem and had to post my question as a last result. Does anyone know what could be the problem? Please let me know if there is other info that I need to post to help with this problem.
Thorin Hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2011, 22:51   #2
Thorin Hammer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
The other thing I should add is that Winamp appears to rip the tracks but the finished mp3's never show up. I have tried multiple CD's to no avail.
Thorin Hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2011, 23:20   #3
Thorin Hammer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
System specs

Here is the list of system specs and plugin list:

HP Pavilion dv6700 Notebook PC
Amd Turion 64 X2 Mobile Technology TL-60 2.00 GHz
Ram: 3 GB
Windows Vista Home Service Pack 2
Sound card: Conexant High Definition SmartAudio 221
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce 7150M/ nForce 630M
Direct X 11
Winamp 5.601 Pro was set up in a limited user profile.
Attached Files
File Type: txt my_plugin_list.txt (21.8 KB, 117 views)
Thorin Hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2011, 22:40   #4
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorin Hammer View Post
Winamp 5.601 Pro was set up in a limited user profile.
That could be where the issue lies. By "set up", do you mean installed? Winamp should be installed on a administrator account/profile. Winamp still should be available on the other accounts, even-though it was installed on the admin account.

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2011, 15:12   #5
Thorin Hammer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
I double checked the user profiles and it turns out that Winamp is installed on the administrator account, not a limited user profile.
Thorin Hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2011, 22:01   #6
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
Winamp > Ctrl+P (for Preferences) > Media Library > CD Ripping > 'Output File Settings Tab'

What are the settings. Has the 'destination folder for ripped tracks' been correctly set? If you go the the destination folder, are the ripped tracks there?
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2011, 04:06   #7
Thorin Hammer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
I have a folder set the way I always had it. The destination folder never has the ripped mp3's. I did a search for several of the CD's I ripped and nothing was found. It seems like Winamp rips the CD, holds it in the cache, but never transfers it to the destination folder, it just gets lost in oblivion.

It baffles me that I can reinstall Winamp and the ripper will work for 2 or 3 cd's and then stop. Could there be some setting in Vista stopping this action?

I've used Winamp for over 10 years and never run into a problem like this. Could I be using the wrong encoder? I am using MP4/LC-AAC version 1.31.

Last edited by Thorin Hammer; 31st January 2011 at 04:07. Reason: Not finished with message.
Thorin Hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2011, 23:04   #8
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
Hmmm, I can not see anything wrong with the list of pug-ins. Does someone else see something that I have missed?

If your are ripping to regular MP3s, the MP4/LC-AAC will not be involved.

Please provide a HijackThis log. Hopefully that will shed some light and allow one of us to find the issue. Clicking on th links will provide instructions for providing the info. It might be awhile before one of us has a chance to look at the lists/logs and make suggestions, most of us volunteer our time for tech support at the forums.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2011, 03:02   #9
Thorin Hammer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Here's the Hijackthis log. I also tried ripping in several other formats with the same result. Thank you very much for helping me with this issue.

Your assistance does not go unappreciated!
Attached Files
File Type: txt hijackthis.txt (12.5 KB, 140 views)
Thorin Hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2011, 22:49   #10
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
I did not see any "red flags" in the HjT log. Anyone else?

The only thing that I can think of, is the output folder has not been given read or write access in the limited user profile. Are you able to access the administrator profile? Does ripping work in the admin profile? Have you tried changing the output folder in the user profile?

Sorry for the time difference between replies.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2011, 00:13   #11
Thorin Hammer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
I was wrong when I said it was a limited user profile. Winamp is installed on the administrator account. However, I will check the permissions...
Thorin Hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2011, 01:30   #12
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
I misunderstood. I thought Winamp was installed in the admin account, but was being used in a user account. Regardless, I am still baffled. Anyone else?
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2011, 22:15   #13
Thorin Hammer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
I checked the permissions, the folder has full access.
Thorin Hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2011, 01:41   #14
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Maybe try an alternative ripping method.

Prefs > Media Library > CD Ripping > Ripping tab.
Uncheck 'Read using Sonic engine .. '

This will attempt to use SPTI instead.

Still no luck - unzip the attached file and put it in the same folder as your 'winamp.exe'.

This will attempt to use a 3rd party ASPI layer.

UJ
Attached Files
File Type: zip wnaspi32.zip (77.6 KB, 101 views)
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2011, 01:49   #15
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
D'oh! I did not think of that. Thanks UJ
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2011, 22:35   #16
Thorin Hammer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
I tried the the fixes and neither worked. I will try installing Winamp on another computer to see if the problem lies with the laptop or not. Thank you for the help so far.
Thorin Hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2011, 23:17   #17
Thorin Hammer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
I also tried using another ripper called CDex and it did not work either. The very same thing happened, it looked like it was ripping but then the mp3 did not show up.
Thorin Hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2011, 23:29   #18
Thorin Hammer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
Well, I feel dumb but I figured out what was wrong!

I had to run Winamp as an administrator. That is why I could rip after installing the program but not after restarting the computer. The need to right click the Winamp.exe and run it as admin was in spite of the fact that the user is set as administrator.

So, my next question is, where is this setting that was keeping me from ripping until I figured this out?
Thorin Hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump