Old 6th December 2004, 21:37   #1
dihelson
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Crato - Brazil
Posts: 57
Send a message via ICQ to dihelson
What's the command line to Winamp run specific M3U playlist ??

Hello, fellows,

I run 2 Shoutcast/Peercast stations on the same computer.
So, I use two instances of winamp 2.91 in order to play different playlists.

Now, I want to automate the process, when Win-XP starts.
I use a software called Automate.

But I need to know what's the Winamp command line (If there's one...) in order that I can open specific playlists with it. M3U is already associated with winamp.

I tried kind of:

C:\winamp\winamp.exe C:\playlists\playlist01.m3u

as the parameters, but didn't work...

In order to get 2 stations with 2 winamps, I need that each of them open diffferent playlists.

Thanks in advance,
Dihelson Mendonça
dihelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2004, 21:45   #2
djSpinnerCee
Forum King
 
djSpinnerCee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hollis, Queens/The Bronx, NYC
Posts: 3,555
If WinAMP is the default "open" app for m3u files in Windows, the load command would be start drive:\path\playlist001.m3u. This would cause WinAMP to open the m3u file -- if you run it a second time, with start drive:\path\playlist002.m3u, another instance of WinAMP should start the second playlist.

If that works for you, the next thing would be how to get each DSP to open a different stream -- WinAMP instances share the same config, so if you set each to connect automatically they will likely try to connect to the same DNAS.

All I can say is it's more diffiucult to automate two streams on the same PC.
djSpinnerCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2004, 21:51   #3
bingo
Major Dude
 
bingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 754
It should work : Try to create a shortcut and add this command line :
Quote:
"C:\Winamp\winamp.exe" "C:\playlists\playlist01.m3u"
bingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2004, 22:13   #4
dihelson
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Crato - Brazil
Posts: 57
Send a message via ICQ to dihelson
Quote:
Originally posted by bingo
It should work : Try to create a shortcut and add this command line :
IT WORKED!
Thank you so much, Bingooooo!!!

Perhaps the problem was due to I was not using " on the shortcuts.

Now, I only need to put these 2 different playlist/shortcuts on my automation software and ... voila!
Even after a power failure, the system can inicialize all different stations without me, I can even program certain times for Up and DOWN the stations...

Now, I have two different stations running on the same machine, different winamps, different DSPs, different folders...

Indeed, with this method of different folders, I solved many problems. For instance, I can use multiples instances of SAM encoders on the same machine, each one with it's own parameters tottally different without any conflict, even using OGG or MP3...

Using so, I can run unlimited stations, limited only by the machine processor and bandwidth.

Thank you so much for your help, bingo.

[]'s
Dihelson mendonça
dihelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2004, 22:23   #5
bingo
Major Dude
 
bingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 754
I am very happy. Even more, you are now able to use the Windows Tasks Scheduler to load different playlists, etc
bingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump