Old 10th October 2013, 18:14   #1
musicradiostatio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 5
Shoutcast 2 plays wrong playlist after transcoder restart

I am running my radio with shoutcast 2. I have organiszed a 24 hour schedule, every 2 hours a new music playlist with priority 2. Every 15 minutes i have several station jingles (abou 5 - 10 seconds) in seperate playlists (only one mp3 for one playlist). They come with a priority 6. There is no Intro file and no playlist set with time periode "128".

All works fine but if I restart the transcoder then there will be played first all jingles from the last 30-60 minutes before. The stream starts with 1, 2 or 3 Jingles first before the actual playlist will be played. Even if I deactivate these actual jingles from the last 60 minutes, then there will be played other jingles from any time periodes before.

I am very puzzeled about this. There is no visable mistake and if the radiostream is active all jingles and music playlists will be plpayed perfectly in a running order. I have this problem only after a restart of transcoder and radio stream.
musicradiostatio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2013, 18:19   #2
alfabravo14
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 70
.

Looks like you are using Centova ?
alfabravo14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2013, 21:57   #3
musicradiostatio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 5
No, it's not Centova. Do you have any idea why this is happening? Even if you have no solution it would be helpful to understand the problem, so I could do more research.
musicradiostatio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2013, 23:53   #4
alfabravo14
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 70
Ok

In Centova after i made changes (order,new additions) to playlists
while the stream is running ... it happens that
after i made the changes it starts to play from the top of the lists ...
even while it was halfway...or it starts with stationcalls and other playlist
that it thinks that have not been played while it should have been.
ie: its like it tries to make up for what it thinks that has not been played while it should.

Dont know if that is a bug or not a bug (in the vision of the developer)
and if that is caused by shoutcast or centova.

I´m not shure if your whole station only consists of "transcoder" only
if there´s more modules (auto-dj ?)...you could try to restart those also.

Thats all i know...not an expert.

.
alfabravo14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2013, 00:11   #5
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
the transcoder does not keep a track of where it was playing when it is then restarted. so if it's not set to shuffle, it's going to restart from the beginning.

musicradiostatio: are the jingles referenced in the 'main' playlist? as there are cases where that will be played before any timed events will be run when it starts which could be causing the issue you're seeing.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2013, 10:19   #6
musicradiostatio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by alfabravo14 View Post
Ok

In Centova after i made changes (order,new additions) to playlists
while the stream is running ... it happens that
after i made the changes it starts to play from the top of the lists ...
even while it was halfway...or it starts with stationcalls and other playlist
that it thinks that have not been played while it should have been.
ie: its like it tries to make up for what it thinks that has not been played while it should.

Dont know if that is a bug or not a bug (in the vision of the developer)
and if that is caused by shoutcast or centova.

I´m not shure if your whole station only consists of "transcoder" only
if there´s more modules (auto-dj ?)...you could try to restart those also.

Thats all i know...not an expert.

.
Thanks for the statement.

I have complete access to sc_serv.conf and sc_trans.conf (autoDJ) on own server. So there is no difference in restart complete radio stream or auto DJ. Both restarts are generating the problem.
musicradiostatio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2013, 10:23   #7
musicradiostatio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
the transcoder does not keep a track of where it was playing when it is then restarted. so if it's not set to shuffle, it's going to restart from the beginning.

musicradiostatio: are the jingles referenced in the 'main' playlist? as there are cases where that will be played before any timed events will be run when it starts which could be causing the issue you're seeing.
The jingles (stationcalls) arn't referenced in a main playlist. Every station call has its own playlist to a special time. The playlist (mainly in shuffle) doesn't cointain jingles and station calls.
musicradiostatio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2013, 14:45   #8
alfabravo14
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 70
.

The "shuffle" (called "random" in Centova)
sucks in at least Centova which controls/uses Shoutcast.

I no longer use that...cause it causes playlist set to "random"
to not play at all...tracks are simply skipped.

I have tested that extensively...by ripping back my own stream
continiously for many months...so i have a whole folder full with mp3´s that were played
the ripper adds a timestamp also....all the mp3´s that are in "random" playlists
dont appear in that folder...and i did not hear them being played.

Cant tell you if that is a bug in Shoutcast or Centova
i bet they (one or the other) know about it...but never mention it
Most stations are not serious and dont check it like i do...so they dont complain.

.
alfabravo14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2013, 18:50   #9
musicradiostatio
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by alfabravo14 View Post
.

The "shuffle" (called "random" in Centova)
sucks in at least Centova which controls/uses Shoutcast.

I no longer use that...cause it causes playlist set to "random"
to not play at all...tracks are simply skipped.

I have tested that extensively...by ripping back my own stream
continiously for many months...so i have a whole folder full with mp3´s that were played
the ripper adds a timestamp also....all the mp3´s that are in "random" playlists
dont appear in that folder...and i did not hear them being played.

Cant tell you if that is a bug in Shoutcast or Centova
i bet they (one or the other) know about it...but never mention it
Most stations are not serious and dont check it like i do...so they dont complain.

.
I don't use Centova. I use TekBase. I cannot confirm that my playlists will be played random. Only some playlists (not more than 3 in a row) with very short content (less than about 5 minutes down to some seconds and with only one mp3 file) will be played after a restart!
musicradiostatio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Tags
jingle, playlist, restart, shoutcast 2, transcoder

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump