Old 21st September 2022, 19:33   #1
Legendarion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 49
Winamp re-scans the music folder unnecessarily.

Winamp re-scans the music folder unnecessarily everytime after adding new songs/album(s) when starting Winamp.

Example: After ripping a CD, then putting it in the music folder and add to the playlist, Winamp will, for some reason, re-scan the music folder enterily in a later moment. A bit annoying to wait X amount of minutes to open the program.

In Preferences - Titles: I have it on "Read metadata when file(s) are loaded into Winamp (this can be slow if a large number of files are added at once)"

On earlier versions it never did this, but has been doing it since RC1.
Legendarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2022, 19:41   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,136
Hmm... is "Rescan folders at startup" checked in Prefs => ML => Local Library => Watch Folders?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2022, 19:50   #3
Legendarion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 49
It has been disabled since day 1. I never use it.
Legendarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2022, 19:59   #4
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,136
Hmm, strange. I've got ~150k entries in my playlist and am constantly adding new albums on a daily basis, but I don't see any rescanning at Winamp start...
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2022, 20:05   #5
Legendarion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 49
Well, it does to me.

I added a soundtrack album earlier today and I just wanted to start Winamp for about 45 minutes ago and by the time I clicked on Winamp, it started to scan the music folder enterily. Or it re-scans the playlist if that's the case.
Legendarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2022, 09:37   #6
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,136
Ok, so are you saying that the (undesired) behaviour only occurs when the "Read metadata when file(s) are loaded into Winamp" setting is enabled, but not with the default "Read metadata...in the background" setting?

And the behaviour has changed with that setting since 5.9?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2022, 05:26   #7
Legendarion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 49
Yes. However, I don't know for sure if it relates itself to the "Read metadata when file(s) are loaded into Winamp" as I haven't used one of the other settings because I have had that on everytime I have used Winamp for many years otherwise without that issue.

It has happened 3 or 4 times now. And I believe it seems to cause it. When I installed version RC1, it was on "Read metadata in the background when file(s)..." for about a week or something until I noticed it and then switched back to "Read metadata when file(s) are loaded into Winamp".

Last edited by Legendarion; 23rd September 2022 at 06:27.
Legendarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2022, 21:13   #8
Legendarion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 49
I just found what's causing it.

Right after finishing a CD-rip, closing Winamp and then start it up again, the HDD-lamp is working constantly.
Legendarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th September 2022, 21:57   #9
Legendarion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 49
Update: Winamp have problems to start correctly after ripping a CD.

The issue happens when "Read metadata when file(s) are loaded into Winamp (this can be slow if a large number of files are added at once)" is chosen. So Winamp have problems to start normally when ripping a CD, then closing Winamp right after and then start it up again. The HDD-lamp is working constantly and uses several minutes to be finished.

But the issue doesn't occur if I choose "Read metadata in the background when file(s) are loaded into Winamp or are played or viewed in the playlist editor (default)".
Legendarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2022, 15:52   #10
Legendarion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 49
Would be nice if someone could check this issue as explained on my last reply if it is an actual problem or not. This problem also happens on my reserve-desktop computer with the same composition.
Legendarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2022, 10:14   #11
Legendarion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 49
............. never mind.
Legendarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2022, 10:55   #12
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,886
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
u fixed it?

try using EAC to rip files, its much better.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2022, 11:10   #13
Legendarion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 49
I downloaded the last version for a moment ago and tried it. Seems to be somewhat fixed. The problem is not so harsh as last time.
So I can kind of live with that.

But I do notice that when I start Winamp it'll use around 2 seconds more than it should, but I don't see that as a big deal.
Legendarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2022, 13:53   #14
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,886
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
how many tracks in your scratch playlist? what computer specs?

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2022, 19:45   #15
Legendarion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 49
Playlist: around 23795

Windows 10 Pro. 22H2 x64
AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition (AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core Processor 4.00 GHz)
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0, Socket-AM3+
ASUS GeForce GTX 1650 TUF Gaming DDR6
Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz 16GB CL9
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Corsair TX 750W PSU
Samsung 870 QVO 2.5'' SSD 1TB (Primary/OS)
2x ASUS DVD Writer, DRW-24D5MT
3x Seagate HDD.
Legendarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2022, 08:55   #16
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,886
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legendarion View Post
Playlist: around 23795

Windows 10 Pro. 22H2 x64
AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition (AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core Processor 4.00 GHz)
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0, Socket-AM3+
ASUS GeForce GTX 1650 TUF Gaming DDR6
Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz 16GB CL9
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Corsair TX 750W PSU
Samsung 870 QVO 2.5'' SSD 1TB (Primary/OS)
2x ASUS DVD Writer, DRW-24D5MT
3x Seagate HDD.
this is interesting to me...

can u create a smartview and make a folder root with 4 branches so all your music is there duplicated 4 times off the one root in the smartview, and then when all ~92k some tracks show in the bottom ML tracks pane, double click one so all the tracks load into the scratch playlist area, and see if your lag gets much worse when trying to switch songs quickly in the ML tracks pane?

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2022, 09:02   #17
Legendarion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 49
Uuumm... I'm not that technical. And I have never done what you are asking for.
Legendarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2022, 09:17   #18
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,886
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legendarion View Post
Uuumm... I'm not that technical. And I have never done what you are asking for.
its very, very easy to do.

create a folder off of a drive that has the HD GB space to contain your music files four time over.

e.g. USB Drive M:\test\

then copy all your music files and existing folder structure into it 4 times.

M:\test\a\
M:\test\b\
M:\test\c\
M:\test\d\

so u now have 23k music files separately but duplicated in: a b c & d folders for a total of ~92k music files.

add a smartview in the ML on the left side by right click, and edit it to tell it to point to the "test" folder as our root folder.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2022, 09:39   #19
Legendarion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 49
But the problem isn't that Winamp re-scans the music folder itself as I thought to begin with. The bug happens (or happened) by the time I click on the DVD-Drive in Media Library where the CD is inserted on.

So to avoid that Winamp refreshes the playlist entirely, I had to clean out the playlist and then reload it back.
Legendarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2022, 09:43   #20
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,886
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legendarion View Post
But the problem isn't that Winamp re-scans the music folder itself as I thought to begin with. The bug happens (or happened) by the time I click on the DVD-Drive in Media Library where the CD is inserted on.
i understand... i believe there is a lag / delay issue bug, and what we are seeing might be interrelated. so what i described is a way to test that hypothesis.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2022, 12:16   #21
Legendarion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 49
Ok, it is not fixed at all. The bug is still there. For some reason it worked somewhat well until now.

It's on its worst when "Read metadata when file(s) are loaded into Winamp (this can be slow if a large number of files are added at once)" is enabled.
What happens is by the time I close Winamp and then re-launch it, the HDD-lamp is working constantly and have to wait several minutes to Winamp appears.

It is less worse when "Read metadata in the background when file(s) are loaded into Winamp or are played or viewed in the playlist editor (default)" is enabled.
The only thing that happens is that the display is blinking on the bottom of the playlist and I can see the numbers in the playlist is being displayed downwards.

I can give a video on it later so you can see what actually happens.

Last edited by Legendarion; 25th December 2022 at 14:46.
Legendarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2022, 19:16   #22
Legendarion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 49
Here's a video about the error I have been talking about.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nZalo9IgcAc
Legendarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2022, 14:54   #23
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,886
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legendarion View Post
Here's a video about the error I have been talking about.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nZalo9IgcAc
so tell me if i restate this properly:

when winamp is open, and a CD is inserted, and you switch to the CD view in ML, and then you close winamp, when you go to open winamp again, it either does not open, or it eventually does after a very long time. is that correct?

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2022, 18:31   #24
Legendarion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 49
Correct.

Winamp will at the end show up, but it uses (more or less) 6-7 minutes to be done with the refreshing or whatever it does.
When the HDD-lamp on my cabinet is lighting constantly and Winamp doesn't start correctly, it means of course that something is wrong.

And like I said: It's on its worse when the mode "Read metadata when file(s) are loaded into Winamp (this can be slow if a large number of files are added at once)" is in use.

But when the mode "Read metadata in the background when file(s) are loaded into Winamp or are played or viewed in the playlist editor (default)" is used, I can close Winamp and start it up again as normal, but it'll work in the background with this refreshing-problem or whatever it is doing.

It has been doing this ever since winamp59_9999_rc1_full_en-us was launched.
Legendarion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump