Old 8th May 2014, 23:54   #1
JGrobe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Switching Streams

Hey folks,

Our college radio station has two streams/broadcasting terminals to use (in case of Basketball games disrupting programming). Is there a way to switch the stream (output) between two computers running Winamp/SHOUTcast without downtime in between? Or do we just need to have two people (one at each computer) clicking "disconnect" on one computer and "connect" on the other computer as quickly as possible?

Thanks so much,
JGrobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2014, 13:03   #2
dopelabs
Major Dude
 
dopelabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 534
Send a message via AIM to dopelabs
it depends.. if your broadcaster supports relaying another stream, or streams in the playlist then yes.

have them each broadcast to their own local/private instance of shoutcast

populate the 2 different streams in an empty playlist and all you have to do is command it to switch to the next track. if they are the only 2 items in the playlist, and loop is turned on, it will effectively just make a switch between the two streams.

there are also many other ways to handle this. many shoutcast providers have support for an auto dj / live event scenerio. so does sc_transv2 as well.
dopelabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Tags
output switching, stream switching, switching

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump