Old 26th August 2018, 23:33   #1
vikasaldana
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 1
Any good EQ for HD650's?

Just can't seem to get the EQ right, either too much treble or just doesn't sound right.

I want an EQ that will bring out detail in music while preserving bass and treble and not sounding terrible.

I listen to all sorts of music so its annoying, Help.
vikasaldana is offline  
Old 29th August 2018, 19:44   #2
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,658
I suggest you don't use the EQ and DSP plug-in that comes with Winamp and use the Winamp/DSP plug-in version of "Stereo Tool" instead (https://www.stereotool.com/download/). This plug-in contains many free features that will let you adjust the way your music sounds. It comes with various presets you can use to get you started. After you become familiar with what this plug-in can do, you can try making your own adjustments.

The Stereo Tool website contains documentation and FAQ sections and a very active user forum. Look for links at the top or bottom of the download page.

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen v1.0 by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v1809 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline  
Old 29th August 2018, 21:21   #3
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
Generally, detail means mids*. Especially since HD650s have them a bit scooped, which does sound pleasant and powerful, but not particularly detailed. The high end isn't too strong in general as it is, so I'd start by taking the upper bass (125 or 170hz depending on whether you're using the ISO or "Winamp" bands (can be switched in preferences) down a bit and see if it helps. If that's not enough try increasing the 1k band, and maybe the adjacent ones too, but make sure to reduce the preamp accordingly to avoid clipping. Of course the winamp eq isn't fine enough for surgical work, but high quality phones shouldn't need it.

*Or overtones in general. Perceived lack of detail can also be caused by narrow dips in the frequency response, or distortion, but neither of those should be a problem here.
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 14th October 2018, 16:08   #4
Tommyanks
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 1
I utilize redline equalizer to help the lower range at 100hz by 6 db with a high Q that broadens well into 20khz with an increase in around 2 db. I additionally utilize redline preamp to reproduce a tube amp and utilize some extremely forceful settings that give a considerable measure of pleasent twists (incredible for AC/DC). Lastly I utilize redline screen to give it a touch of crossfeed feel. Hardwarewise I utilize odac+o2. I can turn it up to 11 with the O2 and achieve some high stable weight levels while it doesnt sound brutal by any stretch of the imagination.
Tommyanks is offline  
Old 16th October 2018, 14:31   #5
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
You mean low q. High q would be a narrow boost like the ever popular 9khz spike (popular among mastering engineers and headphone manufacturers alike as it does make things sound more "clear and detailed" without sounding bright, at least initially because some things will still sound muddy whereas others become overly sharp, but it's an easy trick, so...).

But boosting the bass generally won't improve the impression of detail and clarity, rather the opposite.
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 16th April 2019, 16:04   #6
smithclarkson01
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 1
I never EQ because I feel like it's cheating or something. I know that's an idiotic point of view but I just want to hear my gear in it's purest form. Also, I don't think those setting are too extreme if they're what sound good to you, because that's all that matters!
smithclarkson01 is offline  
Old 17th April 2019, 00:20   #7
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
I like to use the EQ on live recordings and esp jam band stuff... otherwise I avoid altering the signal. I always turn off the limiter however and Winamp shouldn't enable it by default.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline  
Old 17th April 2019, 15:37   #8
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
If you turn off the limiter you just replace eventual limiting with clipping. To avoid both you have to use negative preamp or only adjust bands down.
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 17th April 2019, 17:38   #9
NJK
The Frisian Spamfighter
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 14,953
Guys
you know that you are more than likely replying to a bot.
The IP adres comes from a range that is known to us as a botnet.

(hint , check usernames. we recently got a wave of users with 01 /66/etc )

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline  
Old 17th April 2019, 21:14   #10
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaekwad2 View Post
If you turn off the limiter you just replace eventual limiting with clipping. To avoid both you have to use negative preamp or only adjust bands down.
Not if u use RG on everything, as I do.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline  
Old 17th April 2019, 22:35   #11
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
Not if u use RG on everything, as I do.
Then the first part still applies (meaning the limiter won't do any harm).

Also, while in most cases (except some classical or experimental music) RG uses enough negative gain, its peak-based clipping prevention only works if you don't boost the signal down the line.

@NJK can we still argue among each other?
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 17th April 2019, 23:41   #12
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Not sure what u mean by 'the first part,' but possible clipping, which I never experience, is preferable to me over limiting.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline  
Old 18th April 2019, 02:57   #13
ryerman
Major Dude
 
ryerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 659
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJK View Post
Guys
you know that you are more than likely replying to a bot.
The IP adres comes from a range that is known to us as a botnet.

(hint , check usernames. we recently got a wave of users with 01 /66/etc )
Maybe your "bot detector" is too sensitive.
The forum members in this thread seem to be communicating without problems.

Windows 10 Home, 64 bit, Winamp 5.666, Bento Skin
ryerman is offline  
Old 18th April 2019, 12:33   #14
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,424
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
Not sure what u mean by 'the first part,' but possible clipping, which I never experience, is preferable to me over limiting.
If you never experience clipping you wouldn't experience any limiting either.

Or to put it another way, all digital formats are peak limited. The limiter just replaces one form (chopping off the peaks) with another (temporarily lowering gain) in order to minimize distortion. And since most people prefer a slightly compressed sound over a distorted one or spurious clicks whenever a short peak got clipped, it's enabled by default.
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 18th April 2019, 13:44   #15
NJK
The Frisian Spamfighter
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 14,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaekwad2 View Post

@NJK can we still argue among each other?
Sure , have fun

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline  
Old 18th April 2019, 13:46   #16
NJK
The Frisian Spamfighter
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 14,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryerman View Post
Maybe your "bot detector" is too sensitive.
The forum members in this thread seem to be communicating without problems.
They even tell us how sorry they are and are very polite but they remain bots.
In the time between your post and my reply i have banned about 15 "new " users
all of them from India from a certain IP range.

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline  
Old 30th April 2019, 18:30   #17
NJK
The Frisian Spamfighter
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 14,953
after banning serveral users , threadstarter included. it's locking time

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump