Old 19th April 2007, 16:56   #1
Atmo
The Freak
(Forum King)
 
Atmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 9,399
Ubuntu 7.04

7.04 has been released, you can get it here: http://releases.ubuntu.com/releases/7.04/

The ubuntu servers are being hammered at the moment, but i managed to download it from some of the mirrors.

Anyone using it yet? Thoughts/opinions?
Atmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2007, 17:28   #2
Omega X
Forum King
 
Omega X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: A Parallel Dimension
Posts: 2,253
Send a message via AIM to Omega X Send a message via Yahoo to Omega X
Finally...

Downloading as I type this.
Omega X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2007, 00:39   #3
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
I don't know how this works in the rest of the country, but both the open source lab at the University of Oregon and at Portland State University here in Oregon have got a BIG pipe to the internet.

Enough to flood even my 15 megabit fios connection.

Look for those mirrors, at least on the West Coast.

I got Ubuntu in 9 minutes.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2007, 02:11   #4
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
Yea. I might do that. The main ubuntu.com repositories were flooded big time.

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2007, 02:59   #5
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
Maybe one of you guys could help me out. When you install Ubuntu would you see if the repository build will encode flash video?.

On Fedora Core, it won't. I had to compile it.

If Ubuntu is "good to go" then I'll install that, if it isn't, I'm gonna stick with FC6.

I've got a machine I built out of old parts, and I want to bring it up as an encoding machine for my web.

Thanks.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2007, 12:24   #6
zootm
Forum King
 
zootm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the nether reaches of bonnie scotland
Posts: 13,375
I've been using the testing version of Feisty so this essentially just means I'll stop getting so many updates

Oh, and although I use Beryl, I implore anyone with a non-ATI video card (or using the OSS drivers for ATI cards) to have fun with the built in Compiz support; find it under System/Preferences/Desktop Effects. WOBBLY WINDOWS FOR ALL.

And for people wanting to do audio editing, video editing, or graphics, check out the Ubuntu Studio packages. I think that at present they've not got their (cool looking) theme finished, but the base packages are there; if you're running normal Ubuntu, grabbing these packages through Synaptic can transform your system into a (admittedly not quite finished) studio for varying types of media:

ubuntustudio-audio
ubuntustudio-video
ubuntustudio-graphics

RoH: I'm assuming you mean FLV video? I'm not finding anything in the repositories for a search on FLV, I'm afraid.

According to documentation, though, ffmpeg supports FLV encoding, and ffmpeg is available by default. I'm afraid I'm not familiar with the software so I'm not sure how to check?

Edit: Worked it out. "ffmpeg -formats" lists both the FLV file type and codec as supported.


Last edited by zootm; 20th April 2007 at 12:43.
zootm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2007, 04:06   #7
Omega X
Forum King
 
Omega X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: A Parallel Dimension
Posts: 2,253
Send a message via AIM to Omega X Send a message via Yahoo to Omega X
Posting this from Feisty.

I absolutely DREAD that installer when it gets to the partition part. That guided partition crap is going to hurt a lot of people trying to dual boot if they don't know what they are doing. It took me a few minutes to figure it out myself in the manual settings.

- From my experience, SuSE is still #1 in the installing department. (Partition handling and all)

- To date, no Linux distro can correctly detect my Monitor's resolution and skimps on the refresh rate.(I hate 60hz) And Ubuntu is no exception. (nvidia-settings fixed it though)

- The 64bit version is pretty fast.

- The "Desktop Effects" thing was pretty straight forward. (even downloading the nvidia drivers was a breeze)

- Works with my unusual multimedia keyboard. That is a first.


So far so good. Synaptic is a little better than Yast, though still trying to find packages is a pain. (I despise the repository BS some times)
Omega X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2007, 12:18   #8
zootm
Forum King
 
zootm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the nether reaches of bonnie scotland
Posts: 13,375
Quote:
Originally posted by Omega X
- From my experience, SuSE is still #1 in the installing department. (Partition handling and all)
I think that Ubuntu's install experience is better, but you're right that the SuSE installer probably has better options.

Quote:
Originally posted by Omega X
- To date, no Linux distro can correctly detect my Monitor's resolution and skimps on the refresh rate.(I hate 60hz) And Ubuntu is no exception. (nvidia-settings fixed it though)
I had the same problem with my NVidia card. It's a complete pain.

Quote:
Originally posted by Omega X
- The 64bit version is pretty fast.
I wouldn't recommend running the 64bit version, though. It's not significantly faster, and it is significantly less compatible with some things. I can't see a good reason to use it.

Quote:
Originally posted by Omega X
- The "Desktop Effects" thing was pretty straight forward. (even downloading the nvidia drivers was a breeze)
They can be installed through add/remove programs now, yeah. I've had a couple of faults with desktop-effects though, I lost window borders for some reason on some system.

Quote:
Originally posted by Omega X
So far so good. Synaptic is a little better than Yast, though still trying to find packages is a pain. (I despise the repository BS some times)
Unless you really need something unusual (or you're a developer, of course), the Add/Remove system is more than ample. It's excellent.

zootm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2007, 13:32   #9
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
Repository BS is sure a lot better than going to find all of those obscure libraries yourself

So far, I do like Feisty. The upgrade was absolutely painless and since I did it yesterday, the servers were back on their feet and it was all finished in about an hour. Not too bad at all.

The desktop effects are nice, but I'm looking forward to beryl by default. However, I don't really have a need for desktop effects and they still don't really work over vnc. That is hardly a big deal, though.

I didn't have any problems with the refresh rate, because I had already set it correctly in my install of edgy.

So far, I'm really liking ubuntu. Gentoo is my favorite distro, but there was no way in hell that I had the time to tie up this machine while it compiled. I needed a stable system - fast. Ubuntu did the trick and works great.

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd April 2007, 13:53   #10
zootm
Forum King
 
zootm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the nether reaches of bonnie scotland
Posts: 13,375
Quote:
Originally posted by k_rock923
The desktop effects are nice, but I'm looking forward to beryl by default.
Isn't going to happen; the two branches are marging back together. The bonus of this, though, is that the flashy Beryl effects should start appearing in Compiz, hopefully with its much better stability.

zootm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2007, 06:46   #11
Edterjoenceten1
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5
I like to be fisted!
Edterjoenceten1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2007, 17:53   #12
Omega X
Forum King
 
Omega X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: A Parallel Dimension
Posts: 2,253
Send a message via AIM to Omega X Send a message via Yahoo to Omega X
Quote:
Originally posted by k_rock923
Repository BS is sure a lot better than going to find all of those obscure libraries yourself
I personally think that they should bundle all of those most used libraries into one package so that you don't have to chase them down all the time.
Omega X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2007, 21:02   #13
mikm
Major Dude
 
mikm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: somewhere else
Posts: 1,287
All the most-used libraries should come by default .

powered by C₈H₁₀N₄O₂
mikm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2007, 22:54   #14
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
They do. I meant the kind of issues that rpm ran into. You'd get a dependency, it would need a library and that library would have its own dependencies etc etc until you forgot what it was that you were trying to install in the first place.

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2007, 03:18   #15
Omega X
Forum King
 
Omega X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: A Parallel Dimension
Posts: 2,253
Send a message via AIM to Omega X Send a message via Yahoo to Omega X
As far as I know, its still like that. But it all comes from different repositories instead through a script linked to the main program you want to install. It is really one step ahead as far as dependencies go, but it still doesn't beat the ease of a Windows Installer for most typical programs.
Omega X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2007, 10:21   #16
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
Quote:
Originally posted by zootm
Edit: Worked it out. "ffmpeg -formats" lists both the FLV file type and codec as supported. :)
mencoder is what I was interested in. ffmpeg will encode flash video, but the results are very inferior to what mencoder will do.

mencoder infile.avi -lavfopts i_certify_that_my_video_stream_does_not_use_b_frames -ovc lavc -oac lavc -of lavf -ssf ls=75 -srate 22050 -channels 1 -vf scale=320:240 -af volnorm=1 -lavcopts vcodec=flv:vbitrate=468:keyint=25:acodec=mp3:abitrate=32:aspect=4/3:mbd=2:mv0:trell:v4mv:cbp:last_pred=3:predia=3:dia=3:vmax_b_frames=0:vb_strategy=1:precmp=2:cmp=2:subcmp=2:preme=2:qns=2 -ofps 17 -o outfile.flv

This would be a typical command line for making a high quality flash video (at much less than real time). With fedora, it doesn't work with any of the repo builds. I was wondering about Ubuntu.

Last edited by rockouthippie; 24th April 2007 at 10:37.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2007, 18:07   #17
Omega X
Forum King
 
Omega X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: A Parallel Dimension
Posts: 2,253
Send a message via AIM to Omega X Send a message via Yahoo to Omega X
That is another thing about Linux distros that I don't like. I just wish that one of them could become their own individual OS. Right now, they are all about the same with just a couple of custom apps between them.

Its a pipe dream, yes. But I just wish that someone would create a whole new experience with just the kernel and create all new systems around it. Kind of like what Apple did with BSD.
Omega X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2007, 18:34   #18
Sawg
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,456
Send a message via ICQ to Sawg Send a message via AIM to Sawg Send a message via Yahoo to Sawg

http://xkcd.com/c178.html

| Brought to you by ^V ^C | The one... the original... no seriously!
Sawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2007, 03:54   #19
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
I just installed x86_64 Fiesty Fart. I'd have to say it didn't suck. You have to screw around to get the ugly libs to work and the X server was all botched up, but not bad. That's more of a universal problem with the latest gnome stuff than a problem with this specific distro.

Hell, it's linux. It took me less than an hour to install and everything works, so I'd call it good linux. My main beef is that there isn't any intuitive raid support.... That's really my only beef other than the sound scheme blasting compressed audio at me and the Nelson Mandela video.

World peace... love.... bla bla bla... it's enough that it's linux and it works.

I was actually thinking of making my own linux distro un-buntu for people that don't pretend to give a shit .

This did go well enough that I will probably quit using Fedora Core......

Last edited by rockouthippie; 2nd May 2007 at 04:17.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2007, 12:02   #20
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
It took me less than an hour to install ...

True enough.

... and everything works.

Not a hope, so far it only recognizes 3 out of 5 mouse buttons and prints blank pages on the laser, I dread to think what will happen if I plug the scanner in. These are all standard products so should work with something promoting itself as a mainstream Desktop OS.
OTOH, maybe this distro will give things the push they need to get better hardware support.

I've kept it to play around with, but any serious work to be done and it's straight back to one of the Windows boxes.

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2007, 00:12   #21
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
The printer didn't automatically detect and install like FC, but system--->administration--->printing ---> add printer did the trick. You also have to set it as the default printer. Funny you should mention a blank sheet print. It did that the first time I printed something, but never again. After the first job, it just started working. Xsane detected both my scanners and just worked.

I did find one other problem, vmware is a basket case under Ubuntu and getting 32 bit firefox to work was a lot more of a pain than Fedora, but some stuff was easier... I'd call it a wash. Getting all the "ugly" and "bad" libs was a lot easier. Wine isn't built for x86_64, but I found a debian package that worked.

No linux is perfect, I'm just saying this wasn't any more of a bitch to install than anything else. I haven't said that about Ubuntu before. The vmware problem may be a deal breaker though. Vmware is a basket case in Ubuntu, but for most people that wouldn't matter.

Your mouse problem.

That just needs a snip or two to your /etc/xorg.conf

http://www.cs.cornell.edu/~djm/ubunt...-5button-mouse

Unless your laser is a Canon, it probably has a driver that works. That's because only Canon won't tell people what they need to know to write a driver

Last edited by rockouthippie; 3rd May 2007 at 01:03.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2007, 00:51   #22
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Thanks for the mouse tip RoH, I've already found the same thing on a different site. It works OK for Firefox, but operates the horizontal scroll buttons in anything else.
I'll give the printer another try sometime, there's no driver for it and the suggested alternatives don't seem to work.

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2007, 22:21   #23
blickenstruck
Junior Member
 
blickenstruck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Even the LIVE CD version is well done. I am running it now. Since I can't run winamp I am using XMMS since it has winamp skin support! Awesome.
blickenstruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2007, 00:29   #24
rockouthippie
Banned
 
rockouthippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 11,002
Quote:
Originally posted by ujay
It works OK for Firefox, but operates the horizontal scroll buttons in anything else.
UJ
It might work right if you used kde instead of gnome. That sounds for more like a problem with gnome, than a problem with linux.

Winamp sorta mostly works with wine, if you wanted it.... but what you really want to use for your linux music player is amarok.

If anyone has gotten the transkode script to work with Feisty x86_64 and amarok, I'd like to hear about it.
rockouthippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > Breaking News

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump