Old 13th October 2007, 09:02   #1
andyg_uk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Darlington, UK
Posts: 8
'on air' or 'live' indication?

Hey guys, I was just wondering if there was something that I could add to my website which indicated whether I was streaming live, or whether I was off-line altogether.

I'm thinking that whatever I add would check my stream link to see if I was live, and if I was show a 'on air' message on my website.

I'm sure I've seen something like this before but can't remember where. I'm after something like the ICQ green and red (on and offline) indicators.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Andy
andyg_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2007, 09:04   #2
Sawg
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,456
Send a message via ICQ to Sawg Send a message via AIM to Sawg Send a message via Yahoo to Sawg
http://www.streamsolutions.co.uk/index.php?page=scripts

| Brought to you by ^V ^C | The one... the original... no seriously!
Sawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2007, 09:08   #3
andyg_uk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Darlington, UK
Posts: 8
hey that's great, how fast was that thanks very much
andyg_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2007, 15:18   #4
andyg_uk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Darlington, UK
Posts: 8
I'm back again hehe

how would I go about inserting one of those php scripts into my index.html ? or inserting a command in the index.html to load the php script wherever I want it to show on my website?
andyg_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2007, 15:23   #5
Nick@ss
Moderator
 
Nick@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Streamsolutions Headquarters
Posts: 11,953
you need to add it into an Iframe on your site
Nick@ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2007, 15:27   #6
andyg_uk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Darlington, UK
Posts: 8
ok I made an iframe and tried that earlier and all I got was the text from the script in the iframe.

Do I point the iframe to load the php file? (as I did above) or is there some kind of command that loads the php from a html file?
andyg_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2007, 15:29   #7
Nick@ss
Moderator
 
Nick@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Streamsolutions Headquarters
Posts: 11,953
Do I point the iframe to load the php file?

correct.. once the iframe calls the php it will display the script.
Nick@ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2007, 15:32   #8
andyg_uk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Darlington, UK
Posts: 8
hmmm I must be doing something wrong as I did that and the iframe just displayed some gobbledygook haha.

I'll try again and see what happens. Thanks for the help
andyg_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2007, 15:33   #9
Nick@ss
Moderator
 
Nick@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Streamsolutions Headquarters
Posts: 11,953
was it gobbledegook that had the words Fsock in it?
Nick@ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2007, 15:36   #10
andyg_uk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Darlington, UK
Posts: 8
oh yes I definitely remember seeing that
andyg_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2007, 15:37   #11
Nick@ss
Moderator
 
Nick@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Streamsolutions Headquarters
Posts: 11,953
That means the script will not work with your web host and you need to contact them for support as they do not allow them to run.
Nick@ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2007, 15:49   #12
andyg_uk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Darlington, UK
Posts: 8
boooooooooooooooooo nasty host!!

ok thanks for the help, I've just chatted to my host support and they say that port 8020 (my shoutcast server port) is not open by default. I have to plead with Host HQ to open the port for me.....

he said the port being closed would create the fsock error
andyg_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump