Old 17th November 2007, 20:50   #1
wharfrat1490
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to wharfrat1490 Send a message via Yahoo to wharfrat1490
ShnAmp broken by Vista

Shns won't play ever since I got a Vista machine. I have ShnAmp, and even tried re-installing it, but to no avail. Any help?
wharfrat1490 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2007, 21:07   #2
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,590
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Re: ShnAmp broken by Vista

Quote:
Originally posted by wharfrat1490
Any help?
Yup... contact the ShnAmp author/developer and ask him to update his plugin to work reliably with Winamp 5.5 while running on Vista.

That's really your only option, since it's up to 3rd-party plugin authors to update their plugin(s) to work with Winamp (and not the other way around).
__________________________________________________

Can a moderator please move this to the Winamp Discussion forum since this is not a Winamp Tech Support question? Thanks.

Don't email or PM me concerning Winamp. Instead, either start a NEW TOPIC or post a REPLY in the appropriate thread in these forums. This will also benefit others who may have a similar question or problem. But before posting, please first Search the forums and read all FAQs and all Sticky threads.

ORB Remote Broadcast

[ Automated Jukebox | Nunzio's Home | Wacky Videos | Solve the Prunella Puzzle! ]
[ LINE RIDER! | My Resume | Virtual Chess | Composite Sketch | My Niece's Band ]
[ Plugins by Joonas | DrO's Winamp Plugins and Extras | K-Jöfol ]
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2007, 21:50   #3
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
Which version do you have? There was an update just about a year ago to fix compatibility issues with newer versions of Winamp. The current version is 2.04 and is available at the link Nunzio provided.

@Nunzio
Moved as requested. I remember when I would ask you to do that.

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2007, 21:55   #4
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,590
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Quote:
Originally posted by JonnyMac
@Nunzio
Moved as requested. I remember when I would ask you to do that.
Yep JM... in days gone by
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2007, 22:05   #5
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,060
You need MODifying again my friend, IMHO.....
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2007, 22:10   #6
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
I second that motion.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2007, 22:38   #7
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,590
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Thanks guys, and I appreciate the offer (especially from you, Jonesy, who approached me first way back when ) but I can not really devote the time needed. I'd be more of an "absentee" mod.
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2007, 23:20   #8
wharfrat1490
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to wharfrat1490 Send a message via Yahoo to wharfrat1490
Thanks.

I did contact the developer before I posted, as well as posted on etree's forum.

Quote:
Originally posted by JonnyMac
Which version do you have? There was an update just about a year ago to fix compatibility issues with newer versions of Winamp.
Latest versions of both, I'm afraid.

Sorry about posting in the wrong topic...
wharfrat1490 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2007, 06:36   #9
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,908
convert all your shn files to flac(you just can't use winamp to do this)

but you'll loose NO sound quality
your files might be smaller
you get the seek function back(old shn files don't seek)
works with everything

i'd use foobar2000 for such a task overnight.
Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2007, 14:22   #10
wharfrat1490
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to wharfrat1490 Send a message via Yahoo to wharfrat1490
Solved

Problem solved by Germaine over at etree's forum. Seems that although the link I dl'd the plugin from said 2.04, it was still pointing at 2.02. I don't know what the developer's game is, but it's fixed now. Thanks everyone for all your help!

Oh, here's the fix, for others.
wharfrat1490 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2007, 14:53   #11
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
Thanks wharfrat1490...


However a more recent version of 2.04 is this one

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?postid=2083434#post2083434

Could you make reference to that at your eTree thread. Thanks again

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2007, 14:58   #12
Nunzio390
Nugatory Aluminator
Look it up

 
Nunzio390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tharsis Ridge (Martian lowlands)
Posts: 8,590
Send a message via AIM to Nunzio390 Send a message via Yahoo to Nunzio390
Yeah. What JM said
And maybe even hint in your thread there that the site webmaster needs to update the link here too, since it does state there that it's "the official distribution site for ShnAmp2".
Nunzio390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2007, 16:59   #13
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
people have been complaining about that link not being updated ever since the 2.04 version of the dll was released *shrugs*

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2007, 17:55   #14
wharfrat1490
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to wharfrat1490 Send a message via Yahoo to wharfrat1490
Jeez! I wish I'd known that before hand; I could've avoided the whole mess.

Oh well, hopefully someone else will learn from my mistake and subsequent thread.
wharfrat1490 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2007, 23:19   #15
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
Quote:
By wharfrat1490 at eTree Forums...

Edit 2:According to the good folks at Winamp Forum, there's an even more recent version here.
Thanks, we appreciate the comment

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump