Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th July 2010, 18:29   #1
Dreamweaver0815
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 2
HowTo: How to use multiple output devices with Winamp 5.58+

Hi there,

I use Winamp on my HTPC to play music. On my balcony I have a wireless speaker set which I connect to the second Soundcard device on my htpc. The Main Output is for my Home Theater Receiver.

The bad thing is that I had to switch the windows output options in the system control panel "sound" - I had to set the primary output device to the other soundcard...

This was very annoying so I spend some time today to solve this:

First of all you need to copy the dll that outputs your sound: In my case the DirectSound Output Device under c:\program files\Winamp\Plugins: out_ds.dll ---> copy it in the same directory and rename it to out_ds2.dll (as you want...).

Now you need a multiple output plugin, I found this one and it works great:
http://ioannis.mpsounds.net/blog/pro...tput-plugin/4/

I also enclose it in this forum!

just install it and start winamp, go to the output options and highlight the multiple output plugin, close the options. Then click options in the menu and select "output", 2nd last entry. There you can choose the both direct sound devices and voila it works fine for me - simoutaneous
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Unbenannt.jpg
Views:	1762
Size:	144.3 KB
ID:	47312  
Attached Files
File Type: zip out_multi.zip (50.4 KB, 1780 views)
Dreamweaver0815 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2010, 14:01   #2
Dreamweaver0815
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 2
I forgot to mention that you have to setup the two Direct Sound devices... one has to be "Primary Sound Device" and the second has to be the other Soundcard. Then highlight Multi Output and close the window... and you can select both devices...
Dreamweaver0815 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2011, 04:34   #3
kevo548
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Been looking for a solution to this for a week now. Worked great. Danke
kevo548 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2013, 19:04   #4
foxmajik
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to foxmajik Send a message via AIM to foxmajik Send a message via Yahoo to foxmajik
Thanks! I've been looking for a way to do multiple outputs because I got this LED spectrum analyzer that has a pass-through audio connection requires a really high volume output to trigger the display.

Now I can listen to music at normal volume and still trigger the spectrum analyzer.
foxmajik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Tags
direct sound device, multiple output, two devices

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump