Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

View Poll Results: Should winamp have video controls (brightness/contrast/gamma and whatnot)?
yeah. I can't see my porn! 3 75.00%
no. my monitor doesn't suck like yours! 1 25.00%
what's a video? 0 0%
who cares? 0 0%
Voters: 4. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th May 2005, 23:58   #1
j_funk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to j_funk
phantom playlist window! wooooo! (<---scary noise)

okay, lemme get one thing straight.
winamp rocks ass except for two things:
ONE: you can't adjust brightness/contrast in the videos, but I can't do anything about that. That's up to lazy developers.

TWO: Sometimes, okay, most of the time, when winamp's open, in windowshade mode and "always on top" i have my main window and my playlist window up. When I have something else up, that would normally cover up winamp (but doesn't because of "always on top") the play list hides behind whatever i have up!

MY main window stays, but my playlist window hides until I click on winamp again, then it reappears. I just upgraded to 5.09, and it's been doing this for the last couple of versions.

any suggestions??
j_funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2005, 00:18   #2
dc2_lsvtec
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chi-Town, IL
Posts: 1
Send a message via AIM to dc2_lsvtec Send a message via Yahoo to dc2_lsvtec
you computer just sucks and you know it! haha. i set it up just like you said, and everything works fine for me. idk. its time for you to upgrade!!

does anyone else have any problems besides my good friend?
dc2_lsvtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2005, 07:45   #3
[TGF]Seth
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Yes, me. Second problem.
[TGF]Seth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2005, 12:26   #4
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
dc2_lsvtec, everything ok there?
This is the tech support forum, which means people post here when they have a problem. That doesn't mean anyone else should have the same problem as well

@j_funk & [TGF]Seth:

Are you using the modern or the classic skin?
If modern, do you have the windowshade main window in docked mode?

Do you have any dekstop enhancing utilities? (like WindowsBlinds, Samurize, LiteStep, etc.)

Do you get different behaviour when this option is (un)checked?
Prefs (Ctrl+P) > General Preferences > 'Disable always on top while fullscreen applications are focused'

Did you install any 3rd-party plugins?

Please provide system specs, including a HijackThis log.

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2005, 12:54   #5
[TGF]Seth
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Thanks for your reply!

It's kind of embarrassing, but I have to admit, that the problem, that I posted was just in my memory. IT REALLY WAS THERE!!
However, as I tried it, everything worked...
Please don't be mad at me... Maybe I solved the problem and just don't remember it.

Thank you, siebe83!
Good luck, j_funk!

Seth
[TGF]Seth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2005, 13:53   #6
j_funk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to j_funk
well, the only plugin ihave is vid4wa, and It has been doing this since I haven't had any plugins. I have no desktop enhancements, got rid of them after they started to fu|c up windows. It's docked and always on top. Besides, why would just the main window stay and the playlist window go away??
j_funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2005, 13:57   #7
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
There are two Always on Top functions in Winamp:

The first one only relates to the part you apply it to and is only possible to apply to a docked window:
right-click Winamp > Window Settings > Docked Toolbar > Always on Top

The other one works for all Winamp windows, except for docked ones. This is the 'normal' Always on Top feature:
right-click Winamp > Options > Always on Top


Does that explain anything?

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump