Old 2nd May 2007, 08:53   #1
bow9487
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
**can any one give a newbe a little help!!

hi all iv only started using nsis about two days ago, i no nothing, or should i say very little about programing and shuch, but i have been trying to tech myself, wich isnt going that well, i found a tutorial on making a portable application, it seems to be a big thing at the moment, and i would love to have a go,

in the file i downloaded was templates and instructions
on how to make a portable app, well i didnt like the app that i was suppost to do it on, so i chose one of my own,

i followed the instructions as carfully as i could, but when i go to compile it it has errors. i have got it to compile once but it didnt run, i spent 16 hours on it lastnight, got up first thing couldnt wait to have a go,but at half 12 last night and nothing working i got a little downheartend, i no rome wasnt built over night but i realy cant understand what im doing wrong.
i have attached what i have done could somone have a little look please.

ps sorry this post is long,

pss. i forgot to put the regclean.reg file in the portable folder it is ment to be :

REGEDIT4

[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Runtime Software\GetDataBack\License]
bow9487 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2007, 15:15   #2
demiller9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dallas
Posts: 462
I recommend that you download and try out this handy program:
Quick Setup Script Generator. It was developed by a frequent poster here, Red Wine, and he often provides lots of good help to newbies.

Since your problem script didn't get attached to your post, we can't provide specific advice about compile errors (or anything else either). I will give you two tips 1) if you have any logic at all in your script, use the logiclib header. And 2) NSIS scripts are processed by a 'one-pass' compiler and the order of items (functions, sections, pages) in the script is critical. The NSIS QSSG will create a good template (or finished installer) that you can edit to do exactly what you want it to do.

Don
demiller9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2007, 17:54   #3
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
Or ZIP you nsi file and upload it here


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2007, 21:33   #4
helix400
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 51
Re: **can any one give a newbe a little help!!

Quote:
Originally posted by bow9487
i have got it to compile once but it didnt run, i spent 16 hours on it lastnight, got up first thing couldnt wait to have a go,but at half 12 last night and nothing working i got a little downheartend,
Hey, I'm just proud that you worked that hard on a problem.
helix400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2007, 14:33   #5
bow9487
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
thanks guys for posting back ill upload my work to a rapidshare folder in a bit ask is to big to post on here. if you could have a look id be graitfull.

i have put every thing in a rar file as i dont no what you mite need, its only 3mb

link

http://rapidshare.com/files/29266944/help.rar.html

thanks all
bow9487 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2007, 15:16   #6
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
err....nsi file, not all your project files :\


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2007, 10:56   #7
bow9487
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
hey joel like i said im new to all this and like i said in my last post, i have put every thing in a rar file AS I DONT NO what you mite need

just so its clear im new to all this in my first post i did say iv never done this befor so i wouldnt no what was needed for you to help me, thats why i uploaded it all, as its very small i didnt think it would be a problem
bow9487 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2007, 18:02   #8
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
Quote:
Originally posted by bow9487
hey joel like i said im new to all this and like i said in my last post, i have put every thing in a rar file AS I DONT NO what you mite need
As i said to you, WE ONLY NEED NSI FILE..
Quote:
just so its clear im new to all this in my first post i did say iv never done this befor so i wouldnt no what was needed for you to help me, thats why i uploaded it all, as its very small i didnt think it would be a problem [/B]
Again, we only need the NSI File to see what's wrong.. Does my microphone doesn't work?


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2007, 11:07   #9
Afrow UK
Moderator
 
Afrow UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Surrey, England
Posts: 8,434
Maybe you don't have file extensions on. Go to Tools > Folder Options > View in Windows Explorer (My Computer) and un-check 'Hide file extensions for known file types'. This is checked as default and is extremely stupid as it requires that less computer literate users identify files by their sometimes non-unique icons.

The file in question will now have a .nsi appended to the end.

Stu
Afrow UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2007, 11:17   #10
kichik
M.I.A.
[NSIS Dev, Mod]
 
kichik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Israel
Posts: 11,343
You are using functions of the Registry plug-in in your script, but you don't include its header and you don't seem to have the plug-in itself somewhere available. It may be in the Plugins directory of your NSIS installation, but I can't see that from the file you attached.

Your script compiles when I add !include "Registry.nsh" on the top, after installing the Registry plug-in. I don't know if it works though...

NSIS FAQ | NSIS Home Page | Donate $
"I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand." -- Confucius
kichik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2007, 13:10   #11
bow9487
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
thank kichik ill have a look,
bow9487 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Developer Center > NSIS Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump