Old 29th October 2003, 11:48   #41
[Ishan]
Major Dude
 
[Ishan]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: India
Posts: 1,156
Send a message via Yahoo to [Ishan]
way cool UCD! thanx.


Amateur AVS'er. All over again.

Last AVS Pack :
Resurgence

[Ishan] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2003, 12:18   #42
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,423
Another bug:
Resizing cuts off border pixels.
Try the attached BMPs
Attached Files
File Type: zip 2bitmaps.zip (309 Bytes, 80 views)
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2003, 13:26   #43
UnConeD
Whacked Moderator
 
UnConeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,104
Actually that's not a 'bug' per se, it's 'by design'.

The texels on the edge of the texture-image are placed on the border of the rectangle of the particle. So 'the area of influence' of those texels is smaller. If I didn't do this, then the texels on the edge would have to blend with non-existant ones outside the image, which would require me to check the bounds of every single pixel (slow) or add a border around the image which duplicates the outer texels.

If you want to show your border texels, you need to manually add a border around your image. I chose this approach because it's the most flexible one. For example in additive mode, you'll want a black border around your image. With replace mode you'll want a 'duplicate pixels' border. With subtractive 2, you'll want a white border. Etc.

Bilinear filtering is messy on the inside because of this.

I did just change the code around a bit to be extra greedy with texels (causes a difference of half a texel or so), so as much border area as possible is covered, so perhaps it's better now. But if you want your border texels to be blended to the outside of the particle as well, you need to manually add a border.

UnConeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2003, 15:41   #44
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,423
OK, thanks for the explanation!
Maybe you should write something about this in Help to prevent similar complaints in the future.
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2003, 16:21   #45
shreyas_potnis
Major Dude
 
shreyas_potnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 787
here you go: a simple shockwva example
Attached Files
File Type: zip shreyas - texer 2 example.zip (908 Bytes, 84 views)
shreyas_potnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2003, 18:10   #46
UnConeD
Whacked Moderator
 
UnConeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,104
By the way, I've been experimenting with the 'large images crash Texer 2' and the results are weird.

Sometimes it works perfectly (I tried with both an 800x600 and a 4096x4096 picture) and sometimes it crashes in DDRAW.DLL (DirectDraw). The problem is that the error is caught by some internal handler (either Winamp or DDraw's) so I can't debug it easily.

In any case, my code was written to go up to 32767x32767 pictures without problems. Above that, integer overflow occurs (I use signed 16.16 fixed point for the bilinear filtering).

I'll try and see what's causing it, but to be honest I have no idea. The only thing I can think of is that a large image causes a certain process to take longer than it should, and a crash occurs during a normally instantaneous process.
I put my image loader inside a so called 'critical section' that is exclusive with the rendering code, so that no race conditions can happen.

Also, the particles will get clipped to the AVS window, so a huge image shouldn't offer any more problems than one as a big as the window.

UnConeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2003, 21:24   #47
horse-fly
Account Closed
 
horse-fly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,360
interesting.... i will create a preset using a 32767*32767 bitmap, and we'll see how long it takes to download.. hahahahah bwah haha
horse-fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2003, 22:47   #48
UnConeD
Whacked Moderator
 
UnConeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,104
Heh well I didn't write it on purpose *just* so you could go up to that size, it's more a side effect of using fixed-point math.

UnConeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2003, 06:01   #49
horse-fly
Account Closed
 
horse-fly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,360
but still think of the size of the file...

over a billion bmp pixels... it would be enornmus
horse-fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2003, 06:53   #50
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
Any date set for the final version?´
Oh and btw. have you planned what will happen to Texer 1 ? Is it still okay to use it? i think there could be some effects that can't be done with texer II... Take Example the worm-o-rama arcade mix

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2003, 06:55   #51
Magic.X
Major Dude
 
Magic.X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Leipzig / Germany
Posts: 859
@Horsefly: If all pixels are of the same color, they should be easily zipped down to floppy size

@UCD: Ff everything fails just make sure that large pictures won't be loaded or even better, are excluded from the load-image combobox. Maybe add a checkbox "use images above xxx*xxx too" so we could still use em on our own risk. This is the best solution imho as long as the error cannot be traced back.


-=[The Ultimate VJ-Tool for AVS]=-

Hotlist 2.3 developement thread (old)
Magic.X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2003, 10:43   #52
UnConeD
Whacked Moderator
 
UnConeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,104
The problem is that I have no idea what the limit is, and I think it's even CPU dependant.

UnConeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2003, 11:02   #53
Magic.X
Major Dude
 
Magic.X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Leipzig / Germany
Posts: 859
If i'ts caused by a thread-delay, noone can tell. You'd have to limit it to a reasonable size (eg 100*100) which should work on most pc's (we'd have to test it on some really od and crappy machines).

But how comes that this bug does only exist since texer2? The old version should work the same way.


-=[The Ultimate VJ-Tool for AVS]=-

Hotlist 2.3 developement thread (old)
Magic.X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2003, 13:11   #54
shreyas_potnis
Major Dude
 
shreyas_potnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 787
My PC is perfectly suited for the test

http://home.iitb.ac*****~shreyaspotnis
shreyas_potnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2003, 13:36   #55
Magic.X
Major Dude
 
Magic.X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Leipzig / Germany
Posts: 859
Go ahead please


-=[The Ultimate VJ-Tool for AVS]=-

Hotlist 2.3 developement thread (old)
Magic.X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2003, 13:49   #56
UnConeD
Whacked Moderator
 
UnConeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,104
Magic: I have no idea, which is why it's so darn hard to debug. The fact that it crashes in DDRAW.DLL makes it even weirder, because Texer2 gets nowhere near DirectX.
On top of that, if it were a problem with not having the image loaded properly, it would crash in TEXER2.APE. The code only reads from the image data, so heap/stack corruption is out of the question.
For now, I'm going to leave it like this.
What is an 800x600 BMP doing in your AVS dir anyway?

UnConeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2003, 12:04   #57
[Ishan]
Major Dude
 
[Ishan]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: India
Posts: 1,156
Send a message via Yahoo to [Ishan]
hehe something i just made up.
Attached Files
File Type: zip t2exm.zip (567 Bytes, 87 views)
[Ishan] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2003, 14:40   #58
UnConeD
Whacked Moderator
 
UnConeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,104
Sorry atero, I can't help it. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGH.

y=y1/(2+z1)*w/h;

Fix the aspect ratio please. It makes all those 3D scopes horribly squished. Like shreyas' avatar.


Nice preset though, reminds me of Tripex. Speaking of which, it had a couple of really nice particle scenes that should be easy to recreate in Texer II.

UnConeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2003, 15:20   #59
sidd
Major Dude
 
sidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,353
ahh. very true.. i must have another good look at tripex now.

im starting to see many nice presets from here and ff using t2. The resizablenessness is yet another breakthough. 'Tis a great time to be an avser.
sidd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2003, 22:04   #60
Deamon
Major Dude
 
Deamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Arnhem, the Netherlands
Posts: 927
as it was always, sidd . Though yes, some tripex stuff comes in view again now indeedy. Still, some of it is normal scopable as well. Though you would need a killer-computer for that.

.:HyperNation @ winamp:. .:DeviantArt:.
Thermal is now available for download at DeviantArt.
Deamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2003, 09:41   #61
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,423
A wise man once said:
Quote:
originally posted by killahbite
very original to do something that already exists.. using inferior technics like avs
gaekwad2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2003, 21:12   #62
jheriko
Forum King
 
jheriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: a twist in the fabric of space
Posts: 2,150
Send a message via ICQ to jheriko
Nice. I see point sprite models in the future.

-- Jheriko

'Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers'
jheriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd November 2003, 05:21   #63
[Ishan]
Major Dude
 
[Ishan]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: India
Posts: 1,156
Send a message via Yahoo to [Ishan]
ooohhh! there's so much fun with T2.


Amateur AVS'er. All over again.

Last AVS Pack :
Resurgence

[Ishan] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2003, 06:22   #64
horse-fly
Account Closed
 
horse-fly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,360
any idea when the final is coming out?
horse-fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2003, 10:25   #65
UnConeD
Whacked Moderator
 
UnConeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,104
When justin adds the help API.

In the meantime I've sped up the Texer 2 a bit, and added a Wrap-around function, which wraps particles around the border of the screen (handy for tilable patterns).

Haven't uploaded it yet though, but it's such a minor update that it really doesn't matter much.

UnConeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2003, 16:19   #66
Deamon
Major Dude
 
Deamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Arnhem, the Netherlands
Posts: 927
so you're not going to let them put it standard with avs?

.:HyperNation @ winamp:. .:DeviantArt:.
Thermal is now available for download at DeviantArt.
Deamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2003, 21:02   #67
MrGabberPants
Junior Member
 
MrGabberPants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hell
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to MrGabberPants
Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooo, It maded my winamp crash, ne1 know y???

Help me pleeeeeeeez, I wana play wif it too.
MrGabberPants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2003, 21:04   #68
horse-fly
Account Closed
 
horse-fly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,360
texer 2 is in alpha stages... you use the program at your own risk
horse-fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2003, 04:45   #69
[Ishan]
Major Dude
 
[Ishan]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: India
Posts: 1,156
Send a message via Yahoo to [Ishan]
Mrgrabber.....are you drunk??


Amateur AVS'er. All over again.

Last AVS Pack :
Resurgence

[Ishan] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2003, 05:22   #70
sidd
Major Dude
 
sidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,353
small bugsy

If you choose one of the examples, and then change the texer image, and then change to another example, the image goes back to the default image.

This is fine, but the image listbox doesnt update. It still says whichever one you selected before, even though the default one is being used.

Also, i got a crash once when i mouse scrolled very quickely thought the list of texer images. But it hasnt happened since.
sidd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2003, 10:29   #71
Deamon
Major Dude
 
Deamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Arnhem, the Netherlands
Posts: 927
I haven't had any crashes, though the first mentioned 'problem' occurs over here as well.

.:HyperNation @ winamp:. .:DeviantArt:.
Thermal is now available for download at DeviantArt.
Deamon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2003, 11:21   #72
Pixelcraft
Wildly Confused
(Major Dude)
 
Pixelcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,204
Hmm, yes, very nice

"It's like saying give a man a Les Paul guitar and he becomes Eric Clapton, and of course that's not true, give a man an amplifier and a synthesizer and he doesn't become...whoever; he doesn't become us." - Roger Waters
Pixelcraft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2003, 22:46   #73
UnConeD
Whacked Moderator
 
UnConeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,104
Fixed that XOR bug and the imagelist bug. Latest at:

http://acko.net/dump/texer2.zip

Help won't work on currently available AVS pre's, you need the (unreleased) pre9 for this.

UnConeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2003, 00:48   #74
sidd
Major Dude
 
sidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,353


did you say pre9????
sidd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2003, 01:54   #75
Nic01
Major Dude
 
Nic01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: The Biggest Little City
Posts: 508
Send a message via AIM to Nic01
Yes, he did say pre9, now wake up
Don't bother with the amazement, let's just say for now that pre9 allows kinda individual help files.

As for pre10, that'd be v1.0, that'd be 3 days from now, 20/11/03.

[soon to leave, sirs]
Nic01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2003, 02:18   #76
UnConeD
Whacked Moderator
 
UnConeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,104
Basically the help button opens up the same help dialog as the help button in the standard AVS components (superscope/dm/...) with a Texer 2 specific tab along side the others. In case you didn't know, this is one of the new things in AVS 2.7.

Justin simply didn't implement any way for APEs to use this dialog until pre9.

Here's the text in the texer 2 tab:
Quote:
Texer II is a rendering component that draws what is commonly known as particles.
At specified positions on screen, a copy of the source image is placed and blended in various ways.


The usage is similar to that of a dot-superscope.
The following variables are available:

* n: Contains the amount of particles to draw. Usually set in the init code or the frame code.

* w,h: Contain the width and height of the window in pixels.

* i: Contains the percentage of progress of particles drawn. Varies from 0 (first particle) to 1 (last particle).

* x,y: Specify the position of the center of the particle. Range -1 to 1.

* v: Contains the i'th sample of the oscilloscope waveform. Use getspec(...) or getosc(...) for other data (check the function reference for their usage).

* b: Contains 1 if a beat is occuring, 0 otherwise.

* sizex, sizey: Contain the relative horizontal and vertical size of the current particle. Use 1.0 for original size. Only works if resizing is on.

* red, green, blue: Set the color of the current particle in terms of its red, green and blue component. Only works if color filtering is on.

* skip: Default is 0. If set to 1, indicates that the current particle should not be drawn.



The options available are:

* Color filtering: blends the image multiplicatively with the color specified by the red, green and blue variables.

* Resizing: resizes the image according to the variables sizex and sizey.

* Wrap around: wraps any image data that falls off the border of the screen around to the other side. Useful for making tiled patterns.



Texer II supports the standard AVS blend modes. Just place a Misc / Set Render Mode before the Texer 2 and choose the appropriate setting. You will most likely use Additive or Maximum blend.

Texer II was written by Steven Wittens. Thanks to everyone at the Winamp.com forums for feedback, especially Deamon and gaekwad2 for providing the examples and Tuggummi for providing the default image.

UnConeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2003, 07:59   #77
horse-fly
Account Closed
 
horse-fly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,360
Quote:
Originally posted by UnConeD
Fixed that XOR bug and the imagelist bug.
would this be the "no green in XOR mode" bug?
horse-fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2003, 10:09   #78
Magic.X
Major Dude
 
Magic.X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Leipzig / Germany
Posts: 859
@UCD

I recently installed the new DX9b and all of a sudden i could use large images! Crashes still happen now and then but basically it works now even with those f**king huge bitmaps.

As you pointed out before, tex2 does'nt use DX, but check this yourselfes. Maybe you should add the advice to upgrade DX to your help.


-=[The Ultimate VJ-Tool for AVS]=-

Hotlist 2.3 developement thread (old)
Magic.X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2003, 15:57   #79
QuadHeliX
Major Dude
 
QuadHeliX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Washington State
Posts: 1,133
Are PNG's supported in winamp 5 AVS UCD?
QuadHeliX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2003, 21:45   #80
UnConeD
Whacked Moderator
 
UnConeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,104
no.

UnConeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > AVS

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump