Old 8th July 2014, 23:03   #1
aespinal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 45
Send a message via Skype™ to aespinal
New and Old Shoutcast integration

Hello. I have a Windows Server running ten radio customers with the old 1.x Shoucast.

How do I to start the new Shoutcast 2.x and move those customers?
aespinal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2014, 23:20   #2
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
assuming it's all going to be on the same machine and effective IP address...

you stop the DNAS, replace the DNAS program file, start the new DNAS and then make any config changes as needed (i.e. making an authhash if auto-generation does not work).

and where possible you should set destip in the config to a DNS value so you're not IP bound for the listings (so you can move things more easily as needed in future).


if that's not acceptable, you need to provide more details on what you intend to do...
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2014, 12:05   #3
aespinal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 45
Send a message via Skype™ to aespinal
1.x Shoutcast: It is an Windows Server.
Inside "Program Files," I have every customer in a separate folder named with a port, like 8012.
Inside there is another sub-folder named Shoutcast with about six files, including
sc_serv, uninst_dnas (applications)
sc_serv (configuration settings)
aespinal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2014, 12:07   #4
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
then i have to assume you want to keep the same setup, so you then just need to replace the sc_serv.exe program file and run things with that (subject to the notes i've made above about config additions).
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2014, 12:22   #5
aespinal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 45
Send a message via Skype™ to aespinal
So, I just install the new shoucast in a new folder inside Program Files?
aespinal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2014, 12:40   #6
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
all you need is the new sc_serv.exe. you can install things wherever you like, but as i keep having to assume things of what you're wanting to do (as you're not giving much in your responses), you just have to replace the existing sc_serv.exe with the new one.

whether you install it into a specific folder and get sc_serv.exe that way or just use 7-zip to extract it from the installer without installing it and then copying it to where it's needed is your choice.

whatever you end up doing, you have to replace the existing sc_serv.exe with the new one if you're wanting to keep the same configuration of the streams. if you don't want to then you can install / setup things however you like, but as i suspect that is not the case, replace the exe file and follow the config suggestions and that's about all that you need to do.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2014, 14:57   #7
aespinal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 45
Send a message via Skype™ to aespinal
I
replaced sc_serv.exe
replaced/edited CONF file
and when restarted, I can not get it working in http://serverIPort
aespinal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2014, 15:00   #8
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
i've got an itch on my leg but i'm not going to tell you which one it is.

details! details! details!

without knowing what error is being reported by the DNAS, i cannot help you.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2014, 15:29   #9
aespinal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 45
Send a message via Skype™ to aespinal
First, I installed the new Shoucast 2.x
Then copied/replaced the sc_serv.exe to the customer with old Shoucast 1.8
Copied also and edited the CONF file (using the basic config)
Restarted the service.

I don't see it working using http://208.70.184.33:8060
aespinal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2014, 15:34   #10
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
copied what conf file? i never said to copy _any_ conf files. all i said was if you have a DNS value for things to set that via destip in the existing config files.

have you checked the DNAS logs for errors? are you sure the service has even started correctly? (this is like pulling teeth)
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2014, 15:44   #11
aespinal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 45
Send a message via Skype™ to aespinal
OK, I left intact the old config file.
Restarted the service but not working...
aespinal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2014, 15:52   #12
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
have you checked the DNAS logs for errors? are you sure the service has even started correctly?
are these questions not making sense?
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2014, 16:09   #13
aespinal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 45
Send a message via Skype™ to aespinal
The logs:
<07/09/14@03:26:54> [SHOUTcast] DNAS/win32 v1.9.8 (Feb 28 2007) starting up...
<07/09/14@03:26:54> [main] loaded config from C:\Program Files\8060-radioktv.org-CT\SHOUTcast\sc_serv.ini
<07/09/14@03:26:54> [main] initializing (usermax:100 portbase:8060)...
<07/09/14@03:26:54> [main] No ban file found (sc_serv.ban)
<07/09/14@03:26:54> [main] No rip file found (sc_serv.rip)
<07/09/14@03:26:54> [main] opening source socket
<07/09/14@03:26:54> [main] source thread starting
<07/09/14@03:26:54> [main] opening client socket
<07/09/14@03:26:54> [source] listening for connection on port 8061
<07/09/14@03:26:54> [main] Client Stream thread [0] starting
<07/09/14@03:26:54> [main] client main thread starting
<07/09/14@03:33:57> [dest: 207.244.72.46] server unavailable, disconnecting
<07/09/14@03:51:59> [dest: 207.244.72.45] server unavailable, disconnecting
<07/09/14@04:13:31> [dest: 207.244.72.38] server unavailable, disconnecting
<07/09/14@04:32:26> [dest: 207.244.72.33] server unavailable, disconnecting
<07/09/14@04:52:02> [dest: 207.244.72.39] server unavailable, disconnecting
<07/09/14@05:12:59> [dest: 207.244.72.47] server unavailable, disconnecting
<07/09/14@05:32:26> [dest: 207.244.72.40] server unavailable, disconnecting
<07/09/14@05:52:01> [dest: 207.244.72.40] server unavailable, disconnecting
<07/09/14@06:13:00> [dest: 207.244.72.45] server unavailable, disconnecting
<07/09/14@06:31:56> [dest: 207.244.72.38] server unavailable, disconnecting
<07/09/14@06:51:59> [dest: 207.244.72.41] server unavailable, disconnecting
<07/09/14@07:14:26> [dest: 207.244.72.42] server unavailable, disconnecting
<07/09/14@07:31:33> [dest: 207.244.72.53] server unavailable, disconnecting
<07/09/14@07:54:58> [dest: 207.244.72.43] server unavailable, disconnecting
<07/09/14@08:12:57> [dest: 207.244.72.43] server unavailable, disconnecting
<07/09/14@08:32:27> [dest: 207.244.72.44] server unavailable, disconnecting
<07/09/14@08:52:38> [dest: 207.244.72.52] server unavailable, disconnecting
<07/09/14@09:19:30> [dest: 207.244.72.52] server unavailable, disconnecting
aespinal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2014, 16:18   #14
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
that is a v1.x log output.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2014, 18:36   #15
aespinal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 45
Send a message via Skype™ to aespinal
I create another port and it does not work.

Is it possible that using the same server, I install the new shoutcast 2.x for multiple streams (customers) and add every customer one by one, then, when finish, eliminate the 1.x ?

Could I do that without stopping the 1.x instances?
aespinal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump