Old 20th March 2002, 18:09   #1
rDn A r0k
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 4
In_wave.dll

Winamp keeps causing errors in IN_WAVE.DLL. I've tried reinstalling it but that hasn't corrected the problem. This just started after I formatted my hard drive a few days ago. After the program closes and I restart it any changes I made aren't saved and I have to do everything all over again, the windows aren't even the same size as they were before ther error. Whats the deal?

I'm using Winamp 2.78c
rDn A r0k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2002, 18:25   #2
c2R
Stereotype?
(Forum King)
 
c2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ware, England
Posts: 3,511
From tech support greatest hits
Quote:
WA2.78 users, install this official update patch: Winamp 2.78 Update
(Updates both out_wave & out_ds plugins to peter's (PP) new versions, also updates in_midi.dll & in_wave.dll to new pre v2.79 versions)
Further details: (READ THIS FIRST)
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=68811
If that doesn't work some actual system specs (such as OS etc.) would be useful
c2R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2002, 19:16   #3
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,089
Yes, you should install the wa2update patch, though you can get a newer version of the Waveforn Decoder here: http://www.blorp.com/~peter/zips/in_wave.zip
However, an even newer version is included with wa2update.
(Peter stopped updating the individual zip files)

I've got a sneaky feeling that the problem might be being caused by your Winamp folder being set as Read-Only. It could be the main Winamp dir, or some of the files within, particularly winamp.ini

Rt click the folder, select "properties" & make sure "Read Only" is NOT checked.
Then open the folder, Ctr+A to select all files, File Menu -> Properties,
again make sure Read Only is not checked (or partially checked).
Repeat for all subfolders.

It might also be wise to check that the C:\Program Files folder isn't Read Only.
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2002, 23:53   #4
rDn A r0k
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 4
Nothing is read-only. As for system specs:

AMD Athlon 1.2 GHz
128 MB SDRAM
30 GB HD
SoundMAX Integrated Digital Audio
PCTel v.90 56k modem
S3 ProSavage video card

Winamp was workin fine before, then after I formatted my hard drive it started glitching.

Oh and by the way, where's the update?
rDn A r0k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd March 2002, 00:08   #5
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 36,089
Winamp 2 Update
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump