Old 28th July 2004, 17:51   #1
varun_mark
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: men are from mars,or so they say
Posts: 22
Cool 1st preset

Hey guys!.
This is my 1st preset.
Basically i know neither head or tail of how 2 make a superscope.this is the best i could manage.Pls post ur opinions.
Attached Files
File Type: zip ligtening does strike 4 times.zip (408 Bytes, 129 views)
varun_mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2004, 18:03   #2
varun_mark
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: men are from mars,or so they say
Posts: 22
ok.my 1st one was very bad.
but i have still not given up.
i believe this one is better.
hope all of you agree!
Attached Files
File Type: zip varun-1.zip (389 Bytes, 123 views)
varun_mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th August 2004, 20:44   #3
Raz
Forum King
 
Raz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Manchester
Posts: 6,470
Not bad for first presets. Try to learn what the code does in default code, but don't use it in finished presets. It's meant as a beginners guide. It's better than a lot of first presets i've seen though, keep at it.

Raz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2004, 07:36   #4
varun_mark
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: men are from mars,or so they say
Posts: 22
thanks.i've been through most of the threads that explain coding,but most of the stuff bounced right over my head.i know basics of trigonometry,though.
wish i could get some more help.
varun_mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2004, 07:48   #5
blaz
Member
 
blaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Slovenia [EU]
Posts: 69
well, the second AVs is nice
blaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2004, 15:47   #6
Raz
Forum King
 
Raz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Manchester
Posts: 6,470
Just don't expect to know it all straight away. Work at your own pace and just keep making stuff as you go.

Raz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2004, 06:31   #7
varun_mark
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: men are from mars,or so they say
Posts: 22
Thanks.
Raz you said that i should not use default codes in my presets.would it be fine if i use the render/simple option?
i have tried it and i think it looks ok
Attached Files
File Type: zip preset.zip (534 Bytes, 104 views)
varun_mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2004, 15:53   #8
S-uper_T-oast
Forum King
 
S-uper_T-oast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Fnord?!
Posts: 2,657
See, one of the main problems we AVSers have with the built in effects is that theu are not very configurable and are the staple of everybody's first presets, 'cause they don't know better. Now while it may be possible to make "cool" looking things with the built in things, all the effects made by them can be reproduced using things like the superscope and the dynamic movmement, once you learn how to code.
S-uper_T-oast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2004, 08:57   #9
varun_mark
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: men are from mars,or so they say
Posts: 22
Another thing;
whenever my preset uses too many effects,it tends to become really slow and looks pretty clumsy.
What can one do to make them faster?
varun_mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2004, 11:59   #10
Mr_Nudge
Major Dude
 
Mr_Nudge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: melbourne, australia
Posts: 655
make sure you only have what you actually need in your presets, i know it sounds a little silly, but thats sometimes the case with slow presets. Just see how many things you can delete before it stops looking like it should. Also, coded effects are much faster than pre-built effects and offer much more flexibility, so learn to code, it's not that hard once you know what everything does, just experiment!

Life's a game, break the rules
Click here
Mr_Nudge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2004, 16:01   #11
varun_mark
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: men are from mars,or so they say
Posts: 22
Someone please have a look at this one.
i can't control it's speed of rotation
Attached Files
File Type: zip preset.zip (412 Bytes, 106 views)
varun_mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2004, 16:28   #12
Digital Chaos
Member
 
Digital Chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Amohalko-Aslut
Posts: 91
Do you want to slow it down, speed it up, change directions on beat, all of the above ? Be more specific on how you want to control it.
The main variable that is controlling your rotation is 'dr' in the trans / dynamic movement. The rotation comes from the fact that you are adding +0.002 to 'dr' every frame.
If you just want to slow it down, in the Pixel text box replace the code with:
code:
Per Pixel:
d=cos(d/pow(dr, 2)) ; r=abs(r - 0.5*dr);



And in the beat text box:
code:
Per Beat:
dr = dr - 0.8



And for each frame:
code:
Per Frame:
dr = dr + 0.02



Umm... I hope I helped out, man.
Digital Chaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2004, 17:39   #13
varun_mark
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: men are from mars,or so they say
Posts: 22
Thanks.
I used the stuff in these. hope they're ok.
Can't bet on what those things are first 15 seconds or so .



(((<<<I luv Surround.>>>)))
Attached Files
File Type: zip 111.zip (1.1 KB, 117 views)
varun_mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2004, 23:40   #14
MaTTFURY
Major Dude
 
MaTTFURY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia,
Posts: 1,356
Exclamation what do u think?

what do you think of this?
Attached Files
File Type: zip mattfury-new.zip (1.0 KB, 124 views)

i am not normal, no really.
MaTTFURY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2004, 00:34   #15
Fletchface02
Junior Member
 
Fletchface02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: everywhere
Posts: 29
Send a message via AIM to Fletchface02
while the interactive superscope was slightly interesting it doesn't make up for the lack of creativity. try doing a little more experimenting
Fletchface02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2004, 04:17   #16
MaTTFURY
Major Dude
 
MaTTFURY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia,
Posts: 1,356
anyone else?

i am not normal, no really.
MaTTFURY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2004, 04:47   #17
varun_mark
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: men are from mars,or so they say
Posts: 22
Hey matt.
though your presets are nice,pls try posting them somewhere else.
Anyway,how did you find my preset(111)?
varun_mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2004, 09:46   #18
MaTTFURY
Major Dude
 
MaTTFURY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia,
Posts: 1,356
I'm so selfish sorry the 1st one is better than the other... but i #1... it's good :P i like what you've done with ddm [its getting ancient though] im looking for new renders [anyone anyone at all?!] lol yeah good preset work more on something else thats complete...!

i am not normal, no really.
MaTTFURY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2004, 12:20   #19
MaTTFURY
Major Dude
 
MaTTFURY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia,
Posts: 1,356
what do you think of this?
Attached Files
File Type: zip take a shoot.zip (546 Bytes, 93 views)

i am not normal, no really.
MaTTFURY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2004, 12:09   #20
varun_mark
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: men are from mars,or so they say
Posts: 22
Ah!
my pestering friend here has inspired me into trying this interactive preset.
What do you think?
varun_mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2004, 12:13   #21
varun_mark
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: men are from mars,or so they say
Posts: 22
Sh*t.I knew I'd forgotten something,darn it!
Attached Files
File Type: zip preset1.zip (338 Bytes, 112 views)
varun_mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2004, 04:10   #22
MaTTFURY
Major Dude
 
MaTTFURY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia,
Posts: 1,356
although i've done this, good effort... needs something to tell you that it wants to be touched, it blanks out "wtf?", look @ code... [ put something in plz?]

i am not normal, no really.
MaTTFURY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2004, 05:10   #23
varun_mark
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: men are from mars,or so they say
Posts: 22
Big thanks to pak-9 for the avs programming guide. I could say that i didn't know most of the stuff.
varun_mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > AVS > AVS Presets

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump