Old 25th January 2019, 13:56   #41
fjhaynes
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 13
I installed WinAmp 5.8 to see if it would solve my freeze-up problem that started suddenly the other day with the old 5.66 version. It was good for a bit, but then did the same thing.

1) Has anybody else seen WinAmp freeze such that the ?

2) BIGGER PROBLEM: What magic incantation makes WinAmp stream online feeds again?

This is my primary use for WinAmp because it excels at playing Internet streams, but I just can't seem to convince it to play streams on any of these installation attempts. It has worked great for years until this upgrade.

I'm running Win7 for now, but will probably be installing Win10 on a new machine that I am building soon.

I tried installing 5.8 over top of the old 5.66 that started this whole mess. No change.
I uninstalled WinAmp and installed 5.8 with very limited options, still no change.
I uninstalled WinAmp AND preferences after backing up the directory, then installed 5.8 with the "full" selection and it still won't play Internet streams of any kind. It just skips right over them to the local sound files in the playlist.

Any suggestions? Is this a result of them removing a bunch of components to divorce them from AOL? Thanks in advance.
fjhaynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2019, 14:00   #42
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,569
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
U appear to have 3rd party plugins, remove them. Also try the safe mode inside winamp prefs.

Also post some example stream links.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2019, 14:13   #43
fjhaynes
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 13
It looks like I can't post links because the last half of my question #1 above was a link to a screen grab of the frozen WinAmp. I guess a Junior Member can't do much.

It freezes even with that plug-in removed and won't play streams either.

In Safe Mode it won't play anything at all including local sound files on disk that it plays in full mode. It just drops all the way to the last file at the bottom of the playlist.

Is 5.8 supposed to play Internet streams?
fjhaynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2019, 14:19   #44
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,569
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Yes.

Uninstall everything and run ccleaner. Then install 5.666 to c:\winamp\

(Custom folder, not the default)

Then try local files and streams. If they work, then install 5.8 to that same directory.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2019, 14:30   #45
fjhaynes
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 13
That's a good idea. I've never liked storing data files that can be written to in the Program Files tree anyway. Thanks.
fjhaynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2019, 14:31   #46
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,569
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Let us know what happens.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2019, 16:50   #47
fjhaynes
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 13
OK, I installed 5.8 under my /users/ tree so I have full permissions and it works (so far). First, I also cleaned out every reference to WinAmp in the registry just in case.

The best part is that after all these re-installs I finally got the "whips the llama's ass" recording for the first time. I wondered if that had been deleted along with the other changes since I didn't hear it yesterday when this debacle started. I feel whole again :-)

Thanks for your help!
fjhaynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2019, 16:55   #48
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,569
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Np, glad it's working. Did u install 5.666 first? I recommend that for a variety of reasons I mention earlier in the thread but it's not absolutely necessary.

Also, I personally wouldn't install direct to the users folders but np if it's working for u.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2019, 19:03   #49
fjhaynes
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 13
I didn't install it in MyDocuments, I put it a level above that in c:/users/johndoe/WinAmp so I'm certain to avoid write permission problems that I'd get under Program Files (x86). I avoid installing stuff off the root directory.

This working installation started life as version 5.8 cleanly since I'm not doing any fancy stuff with AAC or encoding or any of that. I just use it mainly to listen to online streaming scanner feeds since it's the only player that doesn't make it painful to see the alpha tags that tell you what channel you're hearing.

Plus, the happy fact that WinAmp doesn't search every local drive, every NAS folder, every networked everything scouring for files to add to its library and report back to the mother ship like so many of the Brand X players that really just behave like spyware. WinAmp is indispensable.
fjhaynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2019, 17:57   #50
Der_Scanner
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 7
I first install winamp on my system with v5.8.

Use modern skin.

The preference-setting "skins-modern set size to 250%) won´t be saved.

Clean deinstalling (registry and all folders) are done. Newly installed.

Didnt add any plugins.

In save mod will be change nothing, it always start in small size.

I use 4k-setting as desktop-setting but it seems, winamp are not be able to save it.
Running in administrator-mode didn´t help anything.

What´s wrong?

I did everything here is called. Didn´t find any solution for me.
Der_Scanner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2019, 20:04   #51
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,569
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
As u know from here:

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=453790

The modern skin has some problems.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2019, 10:40   #52
Nick555
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaekwad2 View Post

We don't need no stinking intuitive interface.
Lol!
Nick555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Tags
.old, 3660, 5.8, install, plugins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump