Old 25th June 2015, 12:51   #1
bdartey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5
Shoutcast Server not Running!!!! HELP

I installed the shoutcast server on a windows 8.1 machine and the server flashes when I run it.

The setup brought a setup page via firefox which has been setup already but when I click on the sc_serv it flashes

Kindly help
bdartey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2015, 13:27   #2
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
you need to look for a 'sc_serv.log' file and provide a copy of it.

also you need to confirm if there is a sc_serv.conf file in the same folder as the sc_serv.exe program file.

also do you have write permissions for the folder where the DNAS has been installed and / or are you running it as an administrator or a standard user ?

and did you follow the setup instructions to install the DNAS into a folder that has write permissions and not just click through and install it into the program files folder ? (which doesn't have write permissions by default).
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2015, 14:16   #3
bdartey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5
Am actually am beginner,where exactly will I find the log file plus I havent created the .conf file and yes I do have rights permission to the folder

[merged]

I have done all the instructions said , looks like the challenge am facing is from creating the .conf file
bdartey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2015, 14:30   #4
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
the file will likely be in the temp folder i.e. %temp%\sc_serv.log which if you enter that into an explorer window should try to open it. but if there's no config file being created then that would explain the reason as the DNAS will not run without a basic config file (as it needs to have passwords defined).

so when you run 'setup', are you informed of any errors in trying to save the config file ? and just to confirm, you're trying to do this with v2.4.7 ?
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2015, 14:45   #5
bdartey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5
2015-06-25 11:24:27 INFO *********************************************************************
2015-06-25 11:24:27 INFO ** SHOUTcast Distributed Network Audio Server (DNAS) **
2015-06-25 11:24:27 INFO ** Copyright (C) 2014-2015 Radionomy SA, All Rights Reserved **
2015-06-25 11:24:27 INFO ** Use "sc_serv filename.conf" to specify a config file **
2015-06-25 11:24:27 INFO *********************************************************************
2015-06-25 11:24:27 INFO [MAIN] SHOUTcast DNAS/win64 v2.4.7.256 (Mar 31 2015)
2015-06-25 11:24:27 INFO [MAIN] PID: 1820
2015-06-25 11:24:27 ERROR [MAIN] Aborting as no valid config files could be found.
2015-06-25 11:24:27 ERROR [MAIN] Try running setup mode to create a valid config file.
2015-06-25 11:24:27 INFO [MAIN] Terminating listeners...
2015-06-25 11:24:27 ERROR [BAN] Could not open global ban file `sc_serv.ban' for writing
2015-06-25 11:24:27 ERROR [RIP] Could not open global rip file `sc_serv.rip' for writing
2015-06-25 11:24:27 ERROR [AGENT] Could not open global agent file `sc_serv.agent' for writing
2015-06-25 11:24:27 INFO [MAIN] Shutdown

The setup works fine because am able to fill the details in the web browser but when I run server is doesnt ? Question is where will the conf file be saved ??
bdartey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2015, 14:50   #6
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
if you run setup mode, maybe make sure that you run it as an administrator (should be able to right-click the setup batch file and do it that way). and it's meant to be creating the setup file in the same folder as the sc_serv.exe program file, but you should be getting some sort of error message if that is not able to be done.

as the errors for writing the files seems to imply that you're in a write-restricted folder which would explain the lack of sc_serv.conf being able to be written.


if that still doesn't work, you'll need to manually create a config file (named 'sc_serv.conf' in the same folder sc_serv.exe) with 'password' and 'adminpassword' values which is the minimum needed to allow it to run and get a source connected to it.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2015, 15:12   #7
bdartey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5
Thanks it is running now but the challenge am facing is , when I put the 127.0.0.1:8000 into the url and it opens and I try accesssing it the username and password doesnt work
bdartey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2015, 15:15   #8
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
user is 'admin', the password is what was set for 'adminpassword'.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2015, 15:27   #9
bdartey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 5
Thanks !! Works now appreciated
bdartey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump