Old 23rd October 2001, 11:15   #1
Ch33zels
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 502
what u think?

is this worth finishing?


i'll probably finish it anywayz.... but..... does anyone like it?¿

probably not... anywayz.... tell me what u think....

oh and IT NEEDZ A NAME! any suggestions?



the playlist will be different when its done...
Ch33zels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2001, 11:26   #2
Ch33zels
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 502


thats a better pic
Ch33zels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2001, 11:48   #3
Nini
skin domptrice
(Major Dudette)
 
Nini's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Tatooine
Posts: 2,270
Send a message via ICQ to Nini Send a message via AIM to Nini
Re: what u think?

Quote:
Originally posted by Ch33zels
is this worth finishing?
I think yes
a name??! I'm not good in thinking up names...



The skin love webring
Nini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2001, 12:50   #4
Forevever
Major Dude
 
Forevever's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: 3rd floor front bedroom by the window :D
Posts: 1,899
Send a message via AIM to Forevever Send a message via Yahoo to Forevever
What program are you using to skin this?
I personally think this could be a great skin. But I also think its just a wee bit choppy for my tastes. You might want to rethink the borders that seem to be around just about everything (or make them all black like around the buttons). And maybe try and smooth out some of the edges. Looking forward to seeing what you've done on the playlist.
P.S. No one would ever tell any skinner who is so obviously making an effort "not" to finish a skin.
Keep going!!

If anyone can find any of the skins I made please email them to Forevever@aol.com
I can't remember all the names but specifically hunting for Lascivious, and DEVOUR (compilation with Jax) and any in the Impulse series which had 6 total. Auriferous, Gilt, Impulse, Nadir, and 2 others I can't remember but you dig.
Forevever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2001, 13:04   #5
SuPeYDuUeY
Senior Member
 
SuPeYDuUeY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Country Club Ghetto
Posts: 127
Send a message via ICQ to SuPeYDuUeY Send a message via AIM to SuPeYDuUeY Send a message via Yahoo to SuPeYDuUeY
every skin that isn't done with a skinner is worth finishing...but with a skinner they don't have time to stop and ask whether or not it's worth finishing cuz right after they open the prgram the skin is finished...

now back on topic...I think you could have more of a 3D effect with the red in the main window - give it something like what's on the buttons maybe?. Also, it looks like the red part is suposed to be above the black. If this is the case, you should try adding something that makes it look more like an overhang...
SuPeYDuUeY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2001, 05:47   #6
Ch33zels
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 502
thanx for the support & stuff



Quote:
You might want to rethink the borders that seem to be around just about everything
u mean the blue border around the numbers and stuff?
i like that border, but thats just me....

what does other pplz think about the borders?

Quote:
What program are you using to skin this?
i started it using corel photo-paint 7 and then when i got photoshop 6 for free (dont tell anyone ) i used photoshop....



how would i make it look like more of an overhang?¿ im still learning to use photoshop


btw... dont expect this to be done any time soon coz i work really slow..... especially since im still learning how to use photoshop



for some reason like these smilies
Ch33zels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2001, 09:59   #7
ripe
Major Dude
 
ripe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Can't See Me
Posts: 726
if you're new to photoshop the best advice i can give is make use of layers, ie a backgroud layer, a buttons layer, display layer, etc.
i find it easier to move and edit parts of the skin when they are on a separate layer.
so if you had that large red area on a layer, you could apply an emboss to it easily. (maybe you know all this as i think corel photo-paint has floating objects instead of layers)

as for an overhang, i think it would need a shadow underneath it, but since the background is black a shadow wouldn't show up.
i would probably soften the borders on your cbuttons. they are a bit too bold for me.

keep going with photoshop though, cos its the mutts nuts.

ripe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2001, 10:35   #8
skinme!
Forum King
 
skinme!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: 127.0.0.1 Website: skinme.net
Posts: 3,352
Photoshop for free? How? Did you use KaZaA or Morpheus or something similar?

[cop voice] Tell me, or I'll bust your ass[/cop voice]

Not that that'd help, I'm only allowed 6 hours a day on my new AnyTime account. grrrrr. "More than 6 hours is business use"

He had decided to live forever, or die in the attempt
In America - a must see film
skinme! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2001, 10:55   #9
ripe
Major Dude
 
ripe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Can't See Me
Posts: 726
Morphues > photoshop 6 (114MB)
maybe you can get 114 MB in 6 hours?
if not, morpheus would let you resume the next day.

ripe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2001, 07:44   #10
Ch33zels
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 502
[scared voice] i used gnucleus to get it... its like a gnutella clone or something...

i never heard of morpheus.. i guess its similar?

it took me like 13 hours to get it.... but ive got a shitty connection and a shitty isp (AOL)

please dont bust my ass [/scared voice]
Ch33zels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2001, 07:50   #11
KiwiFreak
Major Dude
 
KiwiFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 505
PIRACY IS WRONG...But what the hell...we all do it to some extent...don't we.
KiwiFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2001, 08:07   #12
Ch33zels
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 502
yep




errm... it wasn't me it was the one armed man!!!





i would have paid for it but......... im poor and i cant afford it
Ch33zels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2001, 11:25   #13
skinme!
Forum King
 
skinme!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: 127.0.0.1 Website: skinme.net
Posts: 3,352
or I could just ask one of my friends with ADSL, and a CD burner. That'd be quicker. Believe me, 'm having trouble at the moment with a 10mb file!

But it's worth a try.

He had decided to live forever, or die in the attempt
In America - a must see film
skinme! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2001, 17:57   #14
caz
Major Dude
 
caz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: in my house.
Posts: 745
Send a message via ICQ to caz
hehe

Well, I got paint shop pro 7 for free plus about 25 plug-ins, but i got them off of a friends twilight disk :P

I was jus wonderin, how do you know whether or not a skin is made using a skinner?
caz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2001, 18:02   #15
skinme!
Forum King
 
skinme!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: 127.0.0.1 Website: skinme.net
Posts: 3,352
There are many tell-tale signs.

Often components (MB usually) are missing.

The default seethru buttons, the choppiness of the PL sides.

The general crappyness.

He had decided to live forever, or die in the attempt
In America - a must see film
skinme! is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Classic Skins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump