Old 4th August 2010, 15:02   #1
nikudza
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Hover mouse over winamp to adjust volume

Hello!
Tell me somebody, is it possible to control winamp volume just hovering the mouse over inactive window and moving mouse wheel?
nikudza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2010, 15:15   #2
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Do a forum search using 'Katmouse' as keyword.

I use it for exactly that reason.
The inactive window will need to be Main, Album Art or Video of course.

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2010, 17:39   #3
nikudza
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Thank you so much, but it didn't work for me. Maybe there are any settings I should have changed first? I added winamp.exe to the "Applications" tab in Katmouse properties and dragged the icon from the "Classes" tab to the Winamp window, it still did not help. Any thoughts?
Oh, BTW, its laptop and I use touchpad.
nikudza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2010, 18:15   #4
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Check for latest version here :

http://ehiti.de/katmouse/

though I don't think it's been updated lately.

Did you try a reboot yet?
And do you have it in your start up programs?

The settings I use

General > Show tray ... checked

Wheel Button > None of the buttons ... in drop down

Applications > nothing set.

Classes > Drop gadget on all Winamp windows

BaseWindow_RootWind - Default ........ Main and Album Art
SysListView32 - Default .................... ML RHS
SysTreetView32 - Default ................. ML LHS
Winamp PE - Default ........................ Playlist Editor
WinampVideoChild - Default ............... Video

Using Modern skin and win7

I don't think I changed anything from default in XP

Never tried it in conjuction with a touchpad, I'll take a look later if I get time

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2010, 18:51   #5
nikudza
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Thanks again, but... Tried everything in your post, still doesn't work. It's weird that there is no such built-in feature in winamp. I'm looking for how to ask winamp developer to make this option...
nikudza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2010, 23:23   #6
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Had a look on the laptop and Katmouse works fine if you use a mouse.
The touchpad will probably depend on model/software, mine implements it's own scrolling routine that works as you want it, but not on the Main window volume.

Mouse over support is due in next release, but doesn't work on inactive windows from what I've seen.
It's been mentioned internally, but I don't think this was ever planned, so may not be implemented.
Again, the touchpad appears to be independent of the mouse behaviour.

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2010, 13:08   #7
nikudza
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Oh, I see, probably it's just software incompatibility. OK, I will wait for the next release, if it is planned as a supported feature, then maybe it will work. I just wonder why there is still no such a simple thing in winamp, how many years it exists... OK, thanks a lot! Good luck
nikudza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2010, 16:38   #8
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Not sure that the new release will give you any more luck. Whist it will give you what you want provided you are using a mouse and one of the Winamp windows is active, the touchpad scrolling still has no effect on the volume control regardless of winamp support or not.
Whatever Winamp is using to scroll volume just doesn't seem to be compatible with the touchpad scrolling I have installed.

Take Care

UJ
ujay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Tags
mouse, volume

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump