Old 19th September 2020, 00:00   #1
CaptainDave
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to CaptainDave
When will we see the new WinAmp

Me and the Lamha have been kicking butt since winamp came out! When will we see the new WinAmp
CaptainDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2020, 17:23   #2
The1_Freeman
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 53
at this point, never, but you can always give WACUP a try
it's in active development and ways better than what Winamp 6 might turn out to be... IF it does come out
The1_Freeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2020, 12:11   #3
d3athstardisco
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 4
Just curious what people need a new winamp for? I use winamp to listen to music on my desktop and it has never failed.
d3athstardisco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2020, 06:30   #4
Fishermanmax
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 10
It's more a matter of RAM consumption and interface responsiveness. If it is fast, then it has a chance, and if it starts for more than 3 seconds and slows down, then it makes no sense.
Fishermanmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2020, 16:58   #5
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,766
It's 2020, CPU and RAM resources are meant to be used (in other words, what good is it having them sit idle). If the computer has a multi-core CPU running at 3 GHz or more and at least 6 GB of RAM then it should have no problems running Winamp or WACUP, with or without other apps running.

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Quinto Black CT v3.1 skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v20H2 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2020, 09:58   #6
Class316
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 33
Just curious what's wrong with Winamp 5.8? It works very well on Windows 10.
Class316 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2020, 14:43   #7
NJK
FRYSK BLOED TSJOCH OP- FRISIAN
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 15,440
Quote:
Originally Posted by Class316 View Post
Just curious what's wrong with Winamp 5.8? It works very well on Windows 10.

it all depends on plugins. With certain plugins it won't work on Windows 10.
Just a clean install of Winamp itself will work without any worry.

But since the majority of users all use plugins from a 3th party it will mess up settings and it makes Winamp itself unstable.

got 5.8 here working without any problems on 1 Windows 10 system but on other computers i still use 5.666

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.

Nope, it's not a radiostation just a non stop darkwave music stream

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2020, 00:47   #8
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,766
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJK View Post
it all depends on plugins. With certain plugins it won't work on Windows 10.
...
It's usually plug-ins that want to read and write data to the Windows registry. Beginning with Windows 7, Microsoft started blocking apps installed in sub-folders of the "Programs Files" and "Program Files (x86)" folders from writing to the registry on their own.

The weird thing is that apps installed in sub-folders of a drive's root folder do not have this restriction. Try installing Winamp in a root folder sub-folder instead of it's default location and you may find that most of the plug-ins that had issues don't anymore.

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Quinto Black CT v3.1 skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v20H2 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2020, 07:41   #9
Class316
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJK View Post
it all depends on plugins. With certain plugins it won't work on Windows 10.
Just a clean install of Winamp itself will work without any worry.

But since the majority of users all use plugins from a 3th party it will mess up settings and it makes Winamp itself unstable.

got 5.8 here working without any problems on 1 Windows 10 system but on other computers i still use 5.666
Like which plug ins have issues?
Class316 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2020, 08:34   #10
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,766
Quote:
Originally Posted by Class316 View Post
Like which plug ins have issues?
For me it was some DSP, output and visualizer plug-ins released before Windows 7 was released that still didn't work after changing where Winamp was installed. I was lucky in getting their developers to make updates for some or found replacements for the features that were provided by others.

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Quinto Black CT v3.1 skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v20H2 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2020, 22:12   #11
Class316
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminifu View Post
For me it was some DSP, output and visualizer plug-ins released before Windows 7 was released that still didn't work after changing where Winamp was installed. I was lucky in getting their developers to make updates for some or found replacements for the features that were provided by others.
My main reason to use Winamp is playing sound formats already supported or putting in plugins of other formats and playing those. So I guess it would have no affect on me.

Though let's face it, 95% of the reason we use Winamp today is nostalgia and homage to what it once represented. VLC is really an awesome all round media player that plays most any format (movie or audio). It is what I primarily use to play movies. People under 35 today have no idea what Winamp is.

Heartbreaking to say it but it has gone the way of the fax machine in terms of relevancy.
Class316 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2020, 06:14   #12
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,766
I used DOS machines at work, so I waited for Windows before buying my 1st PC. It came without a math co-processor (which I was wrong to think I didn't need) and a hard drive too small to contain the OS (Windows 3.0) and all the programs that came in the software bundled with it. The software bundle was a big selling point for me. It pissed me off that I couldn't use it all until I got a larger hard drive.

Winamp Pro v5.666.3516 fully-patched - Quinto Black CT v3.1 skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit v20H2 desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2020, 20:12   #13
ivancito
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 26
It is true although with the one I have, it is perfect for everything
ivancito is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump