Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Old 15th July 2006, 05:08   #1
AndrewWinamp

How to copy the mp3 files in a Playlist to a folder on your drive.

Hello,

Sorry, I guess I'm a bit of a newb with this stuff, so I didn't even know what to look for when trying to search past posts to get the answer I need to my issue, so here it is.

I'll use iTunes as an example because I know how to do this operation there, and now need to know how to do a similar operation in Winamp, because I have certain Playlists set up in Winamp that I need to do this with. In iTunes, if I have a Playlist open, and I want to copy all the songs in that Playlist to a folder on my drive, which is to say, make a copy of each file, wherever it is on the drive, and then put a copy of those files in a new folder I create, purely for organizational purposes, I just have to select all the songs in that Playlist in iTunes and drag and drop those files directly into the folder in Windows explorer that I created, and that's it, a copy of all those files is put into that folder.

I need to do that now with my Winamp Playlist. Let's say I select 50 songs in a Playlist. What do I do to copy the actual files those songs are attached to, into a folder I create?

I probably explained a simple operation in a confusing way, so please let me know if I need to clarify anything. Thanks a lot.
Andrew
AndrewWinamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2006, 07:29   #2
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.

Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
try drag 'n drop (click joonas plugins in my sig below) if not that, then google gen_yar.dll or playlist copier they all do the same thing in a different way.
billyvnilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2006, 09:11   #3
AndrewWinamp

Thank you, billy, I appreciate your help a lot. In case this can help anyone else in addition to myself, the one that worked for me was the Playlist Copier: