Old 8th April 2012, 06:33   #1
ongbenghui
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
directory not correct when syncing to android

Hi,

I am trying to sync song that has been ripped bia dBpoweramp into android.

But I noticed that the directory is always "<artist>/<album>" instead of "<album artist>/<album>".

How can I set it up correctly to use "<album artist>/<album>" ?
ongbenghui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2012, 12:14   #2
Batter Pudding
Major Dude
 
Batter Pudding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,665
Connect your android. Then check the preferences. Locate the Android under Media Library \ Portables \ Android E: (or something similar)

The Advanced Tab then lets you mess with the path as you need. As well as the other pages let you fine tune all kinds of settings
Batter Pudding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2012, 13:08   #3
ongbenghui
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
Hi,

Already done that. See attached "capture2.png", this is the only tab I can find.
Which is already set to "Album Artist".

And see attached "capture3.png" which show the content in the main Music Library.

But finally, when it is copied in the Android phone, it appear to have use Artist instead.

Is this a bug ?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	capture2.png
Views:	128
Size:	47.7 KB
ID:	49576   Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture3.PNG
Views:	136
Size:	27.6 KB
ID:	49577   Click image for larger version

Name:	capture4.png
Views:	152
Size:	86.6 KB
ID:	49578  
ongbenghui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2012, 13:10   #4
ongbenghui
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
Apologies, in this case here, the artist name is in Chinese. Album artist is set to "孙燕姿 - 张惠妹" and the individial artist were "孙燕姿" and "张惠妹".

The tag were edited with mp3tag.
ongbenghui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2012, 14:32   #5
Batter Pudding
Major Dude
 
Batter Pudding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,665
I don't have an Android phone to plug in, but when I use a Flash Drive I get an extra tab on that set of pages called "Advanced" which then lets me control the folder names. (I see the same when I use a Generic MP3 player)

Are you using the latest Winamp release? The only other relevant plug-in I have is the Essentials pack. Don't think that added the tab. Maybe worth doing a forum search on your Galaxy or wait for another Android user to drop by.
Batter Pudding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2012, 15:14   #6
ongbenghui
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
Okie, I tried to plug in a Flash Drive and did see the "Advanced" page. Unfortunately, this tab is not available when I plug in my Android phone.

And yeah, I am on the lastest Winamp release 5.623
ongbenghui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2012, 15:25   #7
Batter Pudding
Major Dude
 
Batter Pudding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,665
Okay - here is a random suggestion while waiting for a better answer.

Use the flash drive to organise the music in the "correct" manner with your "<album artist>/<album>" layout. Then drag and drop in one lump to your android.
Batter Pudding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2012, 15:36   #8
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
You're connected via wi-fi instead of usb.

The actual device/model name (Samsung Galaxy, in your case) only appears in wi-fi mode, and there's no Advanced tab in wi-fi mode.

When connected via usb instead, the device will be listed as eg. Android Drive X:
and there'll be an Advanced tab in Prefs where you can specify the File Name Format as eg.
X:\Music\<Albumartist>\<Album>\## - <Title>
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2012, 15:07   #9
ongbenghui
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
Hi,

To be sure that I am not connected via wi-fi mode, I delete the winamp client on the android phone. Then, connect the android phone again. See attached pic "Capture5.png", the name appear and still no advanced tab.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture5.PNG
Views:	148
Size:	22.4 KB
ID:	49585  
ongbenghui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2012, 16:33   #10
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,878
Right... the Samsung Galaxy Nexus doesn't do mass usb storage mode and therefore doesn't mount as a drive.
Sorry, but as far as Winamp goes, there's currently nothing you can do about it :-(
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th April 2012, 10:34   #11
ongbenghui
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
Yeah. Nexus is a MTP or PTP device only.

Oh well, it is what is it.
ongbenghui is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump