Old 25th December 2002, 14:22   #1
Flipper
Member
 
Flipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 84
Need help!

Me and my partner Roberto are making a winAMPskin, the Digipod.
Unfortunetly, the font I used was bold and italic.
Roberto said that we can only use the orginal font.. which looks really bad and it's hard to see. If anyone knows how we can get the bold font on there, thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: png bad_font.png (43.5 KB, 169 views)
Flipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2002, 15:24   #2
hammerhead
The Shark
(Forum King)
 
hammerhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,537
Send a message via AIM to hammerhead
Add bold="1" (I think) of course to the XML tag.
hammerhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2002, 15:58   #3
Da_Pipe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Home
Posts: 317
Send a message via ICQ to Da_Pipe Send a message via Yahoo to Da_Pipe
if the font you used is a TTF, you can include it in the elements like:
code:

<truetypefont id="player.font.lcd" file="player/lcd.TTF"/>


then when whatever you need the font for just call it like this:
code:

<text
id="timer"
display="time"
x="2" y="19"
w="60" h="19"
font="player.font.lcd" fontsize="22" color="0,0,0" align="right"
timecolonwidth="6"
/>


make sure you adjust the h="" and fontsize="" or else it will look funny. if you still can't get it let me know, i'll see if i can help.

Blah!
Da_Pipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2002, 16:18   #4
hammerhead
The Shark
(Forum King)
 
hammerhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,537
Send a message via AIM to hammerhead
//hmm me has misunderstood what you were saying.
Da pipe is completely right, only the height wont make it wierd, it'll just cut off. Its the fontsize.
hammerhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2002, 17:11   #5
Roberto Cuellar
Senior Member
 
Roberto Cuellar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Posts: 243
the issue is that the font is formed by 4 ttfs one normal, one italic, one bold and one bold italic and except for the normal one, wa3 refuses the 3 others if they are bigger than 6 in size so i can only use the normal
Roberto Cuellar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2002, 18:10   #6
iPlayTheSpoons
Major Dude
 
iPlayTheSpoons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SJSU
Posts: 1,030
Send a message via AIM to iPlayTheSpoons
you could make a bitmap font of it just how you want,. adding 'antialias="1"' might make it look better too
iPlayTheSpoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2002, 22:57   #7
Flipper
Member
 
Flipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 84
Hmm... maybe we could take the Bold and italic font, and make a new TTF file out of it, then use that one? Is that even possible?
But oh well I do know of some cool pixel fonts that'd look good
Flipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2002, 23:03   #8
iPlayTheSpoons
Major Dude
 
iPlayTheSpoons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SJSU
Posts: 1,030
Send a message via AIM to iPlayTheSpoons
you dont need to make a new TTF....thats crazy talk. bitmaps fonts arent too hard to make, and you can have it with whatever stlyes on it you want...or you could just use another font ::, thats my mentality
iPlayTheSpoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2002, 23:18   #9
Roberto Cuellar
Senior Member
 
Roberto Cuellar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Posts: 243
how do i do a bitmap font???
any default size etc?
Roberto Cuellar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2002, 23:37   #10
hammerhead
The Shark
(Forum King)
 
hammerhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,537
Send a message via AIM to hammerhead
No, no default size. Only drawback is each letter must have the same width/height as it uses a 'tile' system, rather like the anim layers.
hammerhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2002, 00:59   #11
Flipper
Member
 
Flipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 84
Hmm... how do you think Robouk made the type on his DMP?? It looks bold and italic to me..
Flipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2002, 05:22   #12
Digitalhigh
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
That's probably just the font. To make the bitmap font, just open word or something, and then type out the characters in the size and bold/italics as you need them. Take a screenshot, and then crop it to just show the letters. If they're spaced correctly, that should work.
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2002, 05:42   #13
Flipper
Member
 
Flipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 84
If we're gonna go through all of the rouble to make a new bitmap font... then why not just do this:

Take a screenshot of each letter (while it's bold and italic) and put them all into a font file, and use that!!
Flipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2002, 06:22   #14
iPlayTheSpoons
Major Dude
 
iPlayTheSpoons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SJSU
Posts: 1,030
Send a message via AIM to iPlayTheSpoons
cuz it doesnt work like that
iPlayTheSpoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2002, 09:15   #15
J_Bloggs
Major Dude
 
J_Bloggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,778
lots of graphics programs let you type stuff in, you could just open your graphics program, click the little 'A' and type 'abcd' e.t.c.

If you go with the screenshot idea, some programs have the ability to make a font monospace, so every character is the same size.

Ether way your in for some precise measuring.

[edit]If you want, I can make it for you, just PM me.[/edit]

¯¯¯¯Joe Bloggs____
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
J_Bloggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2002, 10:15   #16
J_Bloggs
Major Dude
 
J_Bloggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,778
Ok, I had a go at ds-digital, but it's not anti-alised and it's a bit crap. Please tell me if it works.
Attached Images
File Type: png ds-digital_font.png (1.2 KB, 118 views)

¯¯¯¯Joe Bloggs____
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
J_Bloggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2002, 12:45   #17
PJay Tycy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 252
could be me, but all I see is a black bar
PJay Tycy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2002, 14:59   #18
hammerhead
The Shark
(Forum King)
 
hammerhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,537
Send a message via AIM to hammerhead
Quote:
Originally posted by PJay Tycy
could be me, but all I see is a black bar
Open it in Photoshop.
hammerhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2002, 16:41   #19
Roberto Cuellar
Senior Member
 
Roberto Cuellar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Posts: 243
i put this in the player-elemens.xml
<bitmpap id="player.fontlcd" file="player/font.png"/> and then
<Text id="Songticker" ticker="1" display="songname" default="" showlen="1" x="145" y="56" w="150" h="22" font="player.fontlcd" fontsize="14" align="center" color="50,50,50" bold="1">
but all i get is the efault font, is that a code error or bitmap font error?
Roberto Cuellar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2002, 16:50   #20
hammerhead
The Shark
(Forum King)
 
hammerhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,537
Send a message via AIM to hammerhead
Quote:
<bitmpap id="player.fontlcd" file="player/font.png"/>
The highlighted text should be 'bitmapfont'. d/w, its an easy mistake to make.

It should be something like this:

code:

<bitmapfont id="player.BIGNUM" file="player/numfont.png" charwidth="9" charheight="13" hspacing="3" vspacing="1" gammagroup="Fonts"/>



-hh
hammerhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2002, 17:31   #21
Roberto Cuellar
Senior Member
 
Roberto Cuellar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Posts: 243
it worked, but the fontsize tag is not working the size doesn't change
Roberto Cuellar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2002, 17:48   #22
hammerhead
The Shark
(Forum King)
 
hammerhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,537
Send a message via AIM to hammerhead
The fontsize tag only works with ttf fonts.
hammerhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2002, 17:54   #23
Roberto Cuellar
Senior Member
 
Roberto Cuellar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Posts: 243
so, if need to sizes(on for the ticker and one for the timer) i need two pngs???
Roberto Cuellar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2002, 18:00   #24
hammerhead
The Shark
(Forum King)
 
hammerhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,537
Send a message via AIM to hammerhead
Yep.
hh
hammerhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2002, 19:00   #25
Flipper
Member
 
Flipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 84
Hey J_Bloggs, can you make us another png for the timer?
Flipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2002, 07:45   #26
J_Bloggs
Major Dude
 
J_Bloggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,778
I sure can.
Attached Images
File Type: png ds-digital_font_large_anti-alised_(alpha blended).png (7.4 KB, 102 views)

¯¯¯¯Joe Bloggs____
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
J_Bloggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2002, 14:44   #27
Roberto Cuellar
Senior Member
 
Roberto Cuellar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Cruz, Bolivia
Posts: 243
thanks, i remember i told you the size was 24 , right?? It was 24 with the normal font but B and I it's 18 so it was too big but using that as a model i kinda did one by myself in ps but i have to make some adjustments to it. Thanks j_bloggs i think now i can make a bitmap font. If you still want to make us a 18 size PM me. Thanx again
Roberto Cuellar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2002, 18:07   #28
Flipper
Member
 
Flipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 84
Thanks J_bloggs...

I took your alpha blended font and resized it to fit the ticker.
See if this font works for the ticker Roberto
Attached Images
File Type: png ticker_font_antialiased.png (5.9 KB, 101 views)
Flipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2002, 20:05   #29
hammerhead
The Shark
(Forum King)
 
hammerhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,537
Send a message via AIM to hammerhead
I think that'll work, but its a bit blurry. Why not just make one?
-HH
hammerhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2002, 20:48   #30
J_Bloggs
Major Dude
 
J_Bloggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,778
Do you still want alpine7558m?

¯¯¯¯Joe Bloggs____
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
J_Bloggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2002, 21:01   #31
Flipper
Member
 
Flipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 84
nope... we tried that font DS-digital is better.

But can you help us with one thing, when I resize your timer font and used it as the ticker font, Roberto said that it got mixed up.
Flipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2002, 22:09   #32
Flipper
Member
 
Flipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 84
Roberto Try this one:
Attached Images
File Type: png font.png (3.3 KB, 87 views)
Flipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2002, 22:26   #33
hammerhead
The Shark
(Forum King)
 
hammerhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,537
Send a message via AIM to hammerhead
Improvement. Only some letters are a bit distorted (ie b looks like q).
-hh
hammerhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2002, 06:57   #34
J_Bloggs
Major Dude
 
J_Bloggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,778
? 2 w's, 2 @'s, wtf?

¯¯¯¯Joe Bloggs____
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
J_Bloggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2002, 07:04   #35
Flipper
Member
 
Flipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 84
CRAP!!
Flipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2002, 07:05   #36
Flipper
Member
 
Flipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 84
sorry!! I'm stupid!!
Attached Images
File Type: png font.png (3.2 KB, 93 views)
Flipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2002, 07:23   #37
J_Bloggs
Major Dude
 
J_Bloggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,778
was there problem with carecters coming up as other charecters?

¯¯¯¯Joe Bloggs____
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
J_Bloggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2002, 07:43   #38
Flipper
Member
 
Flipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 84
nope just stupid me not knowing the alphabet
Flipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2002, 07:49   #39
J_Bloggs
Major Dude
 
J_Bloggs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,778
no not that, the letters are in different places to where they were.

¯¯¯¯Joe Bloggs____
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
J_Bloggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2002, 08:47   #40
Flipper
Member
 
Flipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 84
Oh I dunno ask Roberto
Flipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Modern Skins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump