Old 20th December 2004, 00:33   #1
Keithamus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 37
Send a message via ICQ to Keithamus Send a message via Yahoo to Keithamus
Need help with fonts and drawers please.

Hi, I am working on a skin, but I am a bit of a coding n00b, and so I am asking for help.

1. Is it possible to change the colour of the font with ColourThemes?? Please say it is!

2. I also cant get my head around these MAKI scripts, basically i want to add an animated draw ether side of my skin, but I don't know how.

Thanks in advance for your helpful repllies
Keithamus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2004, 03:32   #2
kgraphik
Senior Member
 
kgraphik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to kgraphik
1. No, it's not possible! *
2. Take a look at Frisbeemonkey's website. He has pre-made Maki scripts that you can include in your skin. Just follow the directions that come with the scripts. Click this link to get there quick.






* Lame attempt at a joke. It is possible.
kgraphik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2004, 10:29   #3
Keithamus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 37
Send a message via ICQ to Keithamus Send a message via Yahoo to Keithamus
thankyou for your hasty reply, very helpful indeed.

How is colouring fonts possible? I tried adding the text items i have on my player to a gammagroup and tried it that way, i had no luck. Then I went on to try adding the font itself to a gammagroup, still no luck.... Any ideas??
Keithamus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2004, 11:33   #4
SLoB
Major Dude
 
SLoB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,316
the modern skin can be used as a reference, best you look ther
SLoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2004, 11:40   #5
matt_69
Sunshine
(Major Dude)
 
matt_69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brisvegas, Australia
Posts: 1,248
ok, there are 2 ways to do this. one for either a bitmap font or for a ttf font.

ttf way
you have to gammagroup a colour id and then use that colour as the colour for that text item.

eg.
code:
make the colour id
<color id="default" value="255,255,255" gammagroup="texts" />

add it to the text
<text id="songticker" display="songname" ticker="1" showlen="1" font="Gill Sans MT" fontsize="18" bold="1" color="default" x="44" y="73" w="158" h="20" />

skin it with gammagroups
<gammaset id="Snow|Icy">
<gammagroup id="texts" value="800, 800, 800" gray="1" boost="0" />
</gammaset>




bitmap way
this one is prolly simpler than the ttf way. all you do is make the font u want basically an image file and then sub that image in as the font file to use.

code:
create the bitmap image
<bitmap id="Gill Sans MT BM base" file="fonts/Gill Sans MT BM.png" gammagroup="texts" />

sub it into the font definition
<bitmapfont id="Gill Sans MT BM" file="Gill Sans MT BM base" charwidth="8" charheight="11" vspacing="0" hspacing="0" />

skin it with gammagroups
<gammaset id="Snow|Icy">
<gammagroup id="texts" value="800, 800, 800" gray="1" boost="0" />
</gammaset>




if you need any more help or me to explain it better just reply.

-matt

matt_69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2004, 16:04   #6
Keithamus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 37
Send a message via ICQ to Keithamus Send a message via Yahoo to Keithamus
aaah i see, the TTF one is the one I was looking for. Thank you so much for your help. This is perfect.
Keithamus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2004, 23:23   #7
Keithamus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 37
Send a message via ICQ to Keithamus Send a message via Yahoo to Keithamus
hi! I am back again asking for more help!

3 more things I am stuck on.

1. How is it possible to apply colourthemes to the oscilliscope/spec analyser? I tried just replacing the colours with the "default" color id, and it has just turned pink...

2. How can I make my player go into shade mode with a double click? I have the shade mode, and a button working successfully, but I would like to get rid of the button and have a double click instead.

3. What is the GUID for the ColorThemes menu in the preferences please?

Thanks for all previous help, and thanks in advance for all the new help I hope to be getting
Keithamus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2004, 01:00   #8
axialix
Senior Member
 
axialix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 209
I can answer number 3:
param="{53DE6284-7E88-4c62-9F93-22ED68E6A024}"

Number 1 I'll try to guess: check the gammagroup of your oscillators in your player.xml and reference that with what's in your gammasets.xml

Number 3 I'm not too sure on, but here's maybe a start: you need to define a layer like this: <layer id="player.mousetrap" x="0" y="0" w="50" h="10" dblClickAction="SWITCH;shade" ghost="0" move="1" /> in your player-normal.xml that will "catch" your double-click and switch the mode to shade. Make sure you have a line something like the following at the end of your player-shade.xml: <layout id="shade" w="500" h="30" minimum_w="300" minimum_h="27" maximum_h="27" > <group id="player.main" x="0" y="0" w="0" h="27" relatw="1" ghost="1" />
</layout>
The important part of that is the layout id="shade" part.

Well, hope that helps a little. Someone please correct me if I've sent him in the wrong direction.

PS - Check out the Winamp Modern skin, or for a simpler one to learn from, try SpoonAmpModern. It doesn't have near the code of WAM, so it's harder to get lost.
axialix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2004, 06:36   #9
UUL
Winamp Addict
(Major Dude)
 
UUL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Winamp Modern Skinning Forum!
Posts: 868
Send a message via ICQ to UUL Send a message via AIM to UUL Send a message via Yahoo to UUL
1. that's the same as you did with the ttf font
UUL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2004, 12:44   #10
vamitul
Senior Member
 
vamitul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Romania!! - don't know whwrw that is?
Posts: 164
about 2: all you need to do is ad to te layer you want this: dblClickAction="SWITCH;shade"
vamitul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2004, 12:49   #11
matt_69
Sunshine
(Major Dude)
 
matt_69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brisvegas, Australia
Posts: 1,248
i haven't used dblclickaction b4 but even so shouldn't it b dblClickAction="SWITCH" param="shade" ?? or can u do it the other way aswell?

-matt

matt_69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2004, 13:34   #12
Keithamus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 37
Send a message via ICQ to Keithamus Send a message via Yahoo to Keithamus
here is the low down on my progress for each of these features:


1. I have put the vis' colours to the same ID as the font (namely "deftext"), when loading up any colortheme the text will be white by defualt, unless ofcourse I have changed it for a particular colour theme. The vis (osci/sa) however, remains pink, no matter what colour theme.

2.I tried adding the dblClickAction="SWITCH;shade" code to the base layer of the skin, loaded it, doubleclicked and no luck... i tried changin the base layer from a layer to a button, still no luck.

3. The colorthemes button seems not to work, i have included the GUID into the param function, i dunno, maybe i have declared the action function incorrectly "action="GUID""

Thanks for all of the input, it is much appreciated, but still no luck
Keithamus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2004, 21:49   #13
axialix
Senior Member
 
axialix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 209
For the colorthemes button, try:
action="TOGGLE"
axialix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2004, 23:38   #14
Keithamus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 37
Send a message via ICQ to Keithamus Send a message via Yahoo to Keithamus
Thanks very much for that, that is another one out the park.

Upon closer inspection of the shade on double click, it seems to be the "dblClickAction" paremiter that isnt registering, if i change it to "Action" for example, shading it works fine. Am I spelling it wrong, or do i need a MAKI script somewhere to make it work? Any ideas.

edit: scratch what i just said, i just this minute sorted the doubleclick problem.

now just to sort out this blasted pink oscilliscope....
Keithamus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2004, 12:49   #15
vamitul
Senior Member
 
vamitul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Romania!! - don't know whwrw that is?
Posts: 164
what was with the dblclick ?
about the osciloscope, how is the color defined?
vamitul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2004, 13:36   #16
Keithamus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 37
Send a message via ICQ to Keithamus Send a message via Yahoo to Keithamus
For the doubleclick I used axialix's solution, which wasnt working when I tried it before.

The oscilloscopes colour is defined by a colour ID named "deftext", this is the same colour ID used for the font, so I presumed it would have the same colour, save my workload.
Keithamus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2004, 04:56   #17
puma dorado
Junior Member
 
puma dorado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 14
BITMAPS

What are the attributes of the fonts on a bitmap?

size, large, etc.
puma dorado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2004, 07:32   #18
matt_69
Sunshine
(Major Dude)
 
matt_69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Brisvegas, Australia
Posts: 1,248
there are none, those are only used for ttf fonts im pretty sure.

-matt

matt_69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2004, 16:58   #19
Michgelsen
Major Dude
 
Michgelsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,416
Ok, about your analyzer, don't use "colorBand="color.vis", but just use a real color, like "128,128,128" and include "gammagroup="..."" in the vis tag.

PHP Code:
<vis
id
="vis"
x="10" y="10" w="72" h="30"
mode="1"
gammagroup="Vis"
colorBand1="128,128,128"
colorBand2="etc..." 
Michgelsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2004, 00:10   #20
Keithamus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 37
Send a message via ICQ to Keithamus Send a message via Yahoo to Keithamus
That sounds like it could work, but unfortunatley didnt... my vis isnt pink anymore, but it doesnt follow suit with the ColorThemes (i put the vis' gammagroup as deftext (same as text in the skin), and the colorbandX as 210,210,210 (same as text in the skin), however, like i say, vis doesnt change when color theme does
Keithamus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2004, 18:55   #21
Michgelsen
Major Dude
 
Michgelsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,416
It sure works with me. For now I put the vis in gammagroup "Fonts" and it's the same color as my fonts now, no matter which colortheme I use. This is what I use:

PHP Code:
<vis
id
="vis"
x="11" y="30" w="90" h="41"
mode="1"
gammagroup="Fonts"
colorBand1="128,128,128"
colorBand2="128,128,128"
colorBand3="128,128,128"
colorBand4="128,128,128"
colorBand5="128,128,128"
colorBand6="128,128,128"
colorBand7="128,128,128"
colorBand8="128,128,128"
colorBand9="128,128,128"
colorBand10="128,128,128"
colorBand11="128,128,128"
colorBand12="128,128,128"
colorBand13="128,128,128"
colorBand14="128,128,128"
colorBand15="128,128,128"
colorBand16="128,128,128"
colorOsc1="128,128,128"
colorOsc2="128,128,128"
colorOsc3="128,128,128"
colorOsc4="128,128,128"
colorOsc5="128,128,128"
colorBandPeak="128,128,128"
tooltip="Spectrum Analyzer"
/>

...

<
gammaset id="Sand">
<
gammagroup id="Backgrounds" value="2624,2368,1536"/>
<
gammagroup id="Layers" value="3200,3100,3000"/>
<
gammagroup id="Buttons" value="640,-128,-128"/>
<
gammagroup id="Fonts" value="0,-4096,-4096"/>
<
gammagroup id="Playing" value="-4096,-4096,0"/>
<
gammagroup id="Column Header Text" value="0,-4096,-4096"/>
<
gammagroup id="Selection" value="0,0,0"/>
<
gammagroup id="Leds" value="0,0,0"/>
<
gammagroup id="Tooltips Background" value="2624,2368,1536" gray="1"/>
<
gammagroup id="Tooltips Text" value="0,-4096,-4096" gray="1" boost="1"/>
</
gammaset
My ttf fonts' default color is 128,128,128 too, as defined in my "system-colors.xml".

This should work. I tried with 200,200,200 too and it still worked: my vis was a little lighter than the fonts.

I hope this will do it.
Michgelsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Modern Skins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump