Old 26th July 2007, 07:55   #1
EYEWON
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
HP Multimedia Controls and Winamp

I have a HP Pavilion a1250n desktop PC. My multimedia controls do not work with Winamp. The standard media streaming keys (Play/Pause, Stop, Previous, Next) do not initialize any course of action to Winamp. However, they do work with Windows Media Player just fine. I do have four exe files that initiate the Winamp standard streaming functions (as mentioned earlier). If there is someway to be able to execute the four files with the multimedia keys on my HP Keyboard, that would be an alternative. I greatly appreciate your assistance.
EYEWON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2007, 08:00   #2
Sawg
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,456
Send a message via ICQ to Sawg Send a message via AIM to Sawg Send a message via Yahoo to Sawg
Unless HP is using some nonstandard keys...
Preferences > Global Hotkeys
Make sure Enabled is checked, and hit Restore Defaults for good measure.

| Brought to you by ^V ^C | The one... the original... no seriously!
Sawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2007, 10:39   #3
Hoobastank
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
I have exactly the same problem, I have global hotkeys enabled; And Global Hotkeys mentions my hotkeys as well (Play, Stop etc.)

They work in WMP but they dont seem to work in Winamp, anyone knows how to let them work?

I have a HP pavilion t490 and a HP multimedia keyboard as well
Hoobastank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2007, 17:29   #4
EYEWON
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Sawg that doesn't make it work I've tried so many things! Like I said about that alternative about the 4 exe files..?
EYEWON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2007, 18:06   #5
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,910
have you tried getting rid of the HP drivers/software?

maybe they are "fixed" for windows media player.

My asus notebook will NOT work with global hotkeys aswell purely because of the drivers. in linux I can program the keys to do whatever I want.

without the windows drivers the buttons do nothing though.

so I can't say global hotkeys will work for everyone. but it should work for the vast majority.
Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2007, 18:25   #6
EYEWON
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Your saying I should uninstall the HP Driver and going to global hot keys and then they should be configurable??? How do I uninstall the HP Multimedia Driver?
EYEWON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2007, 18:36   #7
EYEWON
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
DIDNT WORK!
EYEWON is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump