Old 9th December 2000, 19:01   #1
Joe Schmo
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Is there a plug in I can use to convert a .wav file to a .mp3 file? If so what is it and how do I ues it?
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2000, 19:31   #2
Zorro
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
the plugin: http://www.winamp.com/customize/deta...omponentId=177
At first you have to load the files you want to encode into your playlist.
After that make sure that 'repeat' and the EQ are off and that no dsp plug-in is active (assuming you don't want to use one, e.g. a normalizer).
Now hit Ctrl+P and choose in the Output folder 'Nullsoft MP3 Output...'. Click 'Configure' to choose the destination directory (where your MP3s will be) and make some configurations (choose MPEG Layer-3, 128 kBit/s, 44,100 Hz, Stereo, 16 KB/s if you aren't sure what to do).
Now hit the play button and wait until Winamp has converted all files (you don't hear any sound while it's writing the MP3 files).
Now swith the Output back to 'Nullsoft waveOut...'.
That's it.

If can't choose 128 kBit/s you need a codec to be installed. Try this one: http://www.ojmstirling.free-online.co.uk/codec.zip
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2000, 16:56   #3
coops160
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 13
help! ERROR...

When trying to convert mp3s to wav I am having problems. First, my output folder does not contain the "Nullsoft MP3 Output". My output folder contains: Nullsoft waveOut plug-in v2.3. Is that it? Also when trying to decode to wav format I get an error: "Error creating Writer". HELP me please...
Email:
coops160@yahoo.com

[Edited by coops160 on 12-18-2000 at 01:01 PM]
coops160 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th December 2000, 18:03   #4
DEckaRD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 324
This topic is describes how to convert WAV to MP3 . Please search the forum for a topic that is about convertig MP3 to WAV.

I am Zorro!
DEckaRD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2000, 14:02   #5
papa_tom
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 3
mp3 plugin

I have a problem the mp3 scanning rate set higher than 22khz, or this possibility appears here not at all. I already procured myself several decoders DLL files, but into which path I have to put it? in the Winamp and in the Winamp\Plugin I already tried it. On the system directory of WINNT I do not have rights of access
TOM



ich habe probleme die mp3 Abtastrate höherals 22khz einzustellen, bzw. diese Möglichkeit erscheint hier überhaupt nicht. Ich habe mir bereits mehrere Decoder dll Dateien besorgt, doch in welches verzeiochnis soll ich die speichern? im Winamp und im Winamp\Plugin habe ich es schon probiert.
Auf das Systemverzeichnis von WINNT habe ich keine Zugriffsrechte
TOM
papa_tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2000, 14:09   #6
Twilightseer
Frenchoderator
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Lavabo, fond du couloir, 3è porte à droite
Posts: 6,311
A much simpler way

To create mp3, use CDEX. Free and efficient.
http://www.cdex.n3.net
Twilightseer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2000, 15:08   #7
DEckaRD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 324
The link in my post is a codec that replaces the Windows ACM codec.

If you want to use external codecs (Bladeenc or LAME), download PP's 'MP3 encoder Winamp plug-in' from the 'misc files' section here: http://pp666.cjb.net/

The best way indeed is to use CDex.

I am Zorro!
DEckaRD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2000, 04:19   #8
coops160
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 13
codec installd, can't choose 128kBit/s

Quote:
Originally posted by Zorro
the plugin: http://www.winamp.com/customize/deta...omponentId=177
At first you have to load the files you want to encode into your playlist.
Now hit Ctrl+P and choose in the Output folder 'Nullsoft MP3 Output...'. Click 'Configure' to choose the destination directory (where your MP3s will be) and make some configurations (choose MPEG Layer-3, 128 kBit/s, 44,100 Hz, Stereo, 16 KB/s if you aren't sure what to do).

If can't choose 128 kBit/s you need a codec to be installed. Try this one: http://www.ojmstirling.free-online.co.uk/codec.zip
-I STILL CAN'T CHOOSE 128 kBit/s!!!-
coops160 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2000, 06:05   #9
papa_tom
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 3
mp3_out from justin

in the plugin details Justin wrote: This plug-in requires the proper MP3 ACM codec to be installed on your system.
Great, I have no acess on Win/System path.
the link that replaces the Windows ACM codec http://pp666.cjb.net/
MP3 encoder Winamp plugin (v1.2) (137k) http://members.fortunecity.com/pp666/zips/enc.zip
does not work, there is a massage >We're sorry, but we can't supply the file you requested.
In order for us to continue to provide our members with the first-class service they expect, we don't allow people to link files from sites hosted with other providers. <

I think i would use the CDex, or is there any other encoder plugin that allows to chose the encoder i.e. the lame_enc.dll (I already have the LAME) ? How could i get it?
Why can't i find it at http://www.winamp.com/
Please upload it!!!
Thanks Tom

papa_tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2000, 06:14   #10
DEckaRD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 324
Tom, you can't download the plug-in? It works fine for me.
The direct link in your message doesn't work, but if I go to the website I can download it.
This is an alternate MP3 output plug-in. It replaces Justin's one and uses LAME instead of the ACM codec.

coops, try this:
goto Multimedia Control Panel; Advanced tab
Under: Audio Compression Codecs; Fraunhofer MP3 Codec; Properties
Make sure "Use this codec" is checkmarked

If so try this:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=32798

last chance: try this codec

[edit]the last chance link doesn't seem to work...[/edit]

[Edited by DEckaRD on 12-21-2000 at 01:35 AM]

I am Zorro!
DEckaRD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2000, 07:02   #11
cb7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Saint Louis Park, MN USA
Posts: 3
LAME MP3 encoder plugin for Winamp

Coops, go to http://pp666.cjb.net and click on the Misc Files link in the left frame. This will take you to a list of stuff that PP666 has developed for PC audio. In that list is a link for the 'MP3 encoder Winamp plugin'. Click that link and the download should start. It's a LAME-based encoder, and it's much more accurate than the MP3 Output plugin developed by Nullsoft, in my opinion.
cb7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2001, 06:07   #12
papa_tom
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 3
MP3 out - now it works - but realyl sow - normal??

Thanks to DEckaRD, the alternate Plugin works fine.
Thanks to cb7, the other codec works with justins Plugin(ohooh), but not on this machine i used at work (problem solved).

Now my last question (today), is it normal encoding to mp3 needs a waste of time, nearly realtime(with 200Mhz Pentium).
whats the best (fast and high quality)way and codec to get mp3
papa_tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2001, 03:48   #13
neurot
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 3
.wav to .mp3

I use the Fraunhaufer 11S Proffessional codec through Windows ACM converter routinely in my sound editor with no problems at all. I also use it with Audiograbber. I like the idea of Justin's plugin but it isn't working. Actually my output settings seem to revert back to default as soon as I exit the dialog.

Any feedback would be apreciated. Running batch scripts with my editor is a bit more clumsy than doing it from the winamp playlist--if I could.
neurot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2001, 08:33   #14
Lion King
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,668
It's Fraunhofer IIS - Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen (Institute for Integrated Circuits)!
Lion King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2001, 18:23   #15
neurot
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 3
.wav to .mp3

Wow, Now that I know how to spell it Winamp encodes it so much better! Thanks Lion King!

Seriously I repeat the question with more better spelling:


I use the Fraunhofer IIS Proffessional codec through Windows ACM converter routinely in my sound editor with no problems at all. I also use it with Audiograbber. I like the idea of Justin's plugin but it isn't working. Actually my output settings seem to revert back to default as soon as I exit the dialog.

Any feedback would be apreciated. Running batch scripts with my editor is a bit more clumsy than doing it from the winamp playlist--if I could.

neurot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2001, 09:11   #16
Lion King
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,668
Professional (I couldn't resist)

You have to highlight the output plug-in you want to use. Or doesn't it write the MP3 Output plug-in's settings to Winamp.ini? Make sure that it isn't read-only.

I don't see your problem here... choose in it's Configuration the output directory, hit OK, Name:[untitled], Format:MPEG Layer-3, and the other settings like you want to, OK. It works for me.

Remember to highlight WaveOut again to play the files.
Lion King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2001, 17:02   #17
neurot
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 3
.mp3 to .wav

The problem was I was doing what I was supposed to do and it didn't work for whatever reason.

Then I got the latest Winamp version and everything works fine.

Thanks for the spelling lessin
neurot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2001, 17:00   #18
JadeElaine
Junior Member
 
JadeElaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: The Lair
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally posted by Zorro
the plugin: http://www.winamp.com/customize/deta...omponentId=177
I've downloaded this plug-in for Winamp to be used as an 'encoder'. When I go to install this plug-in, I get this error message:

Rogsoft cannot open Notepad.

Anyone else experience this problem??

Thanks
JadeElaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2001, 21:37   #19
Lion King
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,668
After the installation the setup shows a readme file. There seems to be something wrong with your Windows notepad. Start a text editor or word processor and open c:\program files\winamp\plugins\out_mp3.txt (default path).
Lion King is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump