Old 12th March 2011, 15:55   #1
kishor108
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 18
SHOUTcast 1 client connection rejected. Stream not available.

I've downloaded and configured the latest release beta drop 19 of SHOUTcast DNAS 2.0 along with SHOUTcast Transcoder (SC_TRANS 2 - Beta Drop 40) on EC2, but when I access the stream at

http://ec2-79-125-42-56.eu-west-1.co...naws.com:8000/

it says

Quote:
ICY 401 Service Unavailable
icy-notice1:<BR>SHOUTcast Distributed Network Audio Server/posix(linux x86) vFeb 25 2011<BR>
icy-notice2:The resource requested is currently unavailable<BR>
The log outputs this information in the moment of accessing above URL

Quote:
2011-03-12 16:48:38 E msg:[DST 88.67.50.26:62915 sid=1] SHOUTcast 1 client connection rejected. Stream not available. Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; Intel Mac OS X 10.6; en-US; rv:1.9.2.15) Gecko/20110303 Firefox/3.6.15
2011-03-12 16:48:38 I msg:[DST 88.67.50.26:62915 sid=1] SHOUTcast 1 client connection closed (0 seconds) [Bytes: 0] Agent: `Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; Intel Mac OS X 10.6; en-US; rv:1.9.2.15) Gecko/20110303 Firefox/3.6.15'
This is part of the sc_trans log with all debug options enabled.

What I'm trying to do is an example 3 type setup as indicated in the SHOUTcast System Overview.

This is my sc_serv_basic.conf and this is my sc_trans_basic.conf.

Any pointers as to what I might be missing here would be very much appreciated
kishor108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2011, 16:05   #2
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: No longer on the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by http://ec2-79-125-42-56.eu-west-1.compute.amazonaws.com:8000/index.html?sid=1
Server Status: Server is currently up and public (no YP connection)
When you see "(no YP connection)" it means that the DNAS is going to reject all client connection requests until it detects that it's queued for listing on the YP.

The Transcoder log won't do much good since it won't show what's happening with the DNAS2. A YP2 debug enabled log of the DNAS2 would be required to help diagnose what's causing your current issue.
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2011, 16:26   #3
kishor108
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 18
Thanks for the fast reply!

I set yp2debug=1 in sc_trans_basic.conf and get this additional information

Quote:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<yp version="2"><resp seq="1"><error><code>470</code><message>Invalid authorization hash</message></error></resp></yp>

]
2011-03-12 17:21:39 E msg:[YP2] /yp/resp/updatefreq missing
2011-03-12 17:21:39 E msg:[YP2] Connection attempt failed. YP2 error code is 470 (Invalid authorization hash)
2011-03-12 17:21:39 D msg:[YP2] pvt_update add still pending for key=2 [3] [7]
Is it actually possible to avoid YP authorization during testing?
kishor108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2011, 16:57   #4
kishor108
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 18
I have set public=0 in my sc_trans_basic.conf, so I assumed that it will not try to register/authhorize with SHOUTcast YP?
kishor108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2011, 17:09   #5
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: No longer on the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,138
Yup, as long as there are no other overriding options elsewhere in the chain of included files then as long as it doesn't try to list on the YP (private server) it should allow clients to connect (i.e. the DNAS2 option "publicserver" isn't set to "always" and the Transcoder option "public" isn't set to "1" if the DNAS option "publicserver" is set to "default".)

If you do ultimately want to list in the YP using the new YP2 protocols after you're done testing you'll need to specify a valid registered authhash for your stream(s) in the DNAS2 configuration before the YP2 will allow you to list.
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2011, 17:14   #6
kishor108
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 18
Thanks, I just set

publicserver=always

to

publicserver=never

for testing and now the stream is working like a charm!

Thanks again!
kishor108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2011, 16:50   #7
kishor108
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 18
DNAS Groundhog Day

I have the same error message after weeks without any problems and without changing any config setting what so ever. DNAS starts like so

Quote:
2011-12-04 18:42:54 I msg:<***> Logger startup
2011-12-04 18:42:54 I msg:<***> version 2.0.0.29
2011-12-04 18:42:54 D msg:<***>
2011-12-04 18:42:54 I msg:***************************************************************
2011-12-04 18:42:54 I msg:** SHOUTcast Distributed Network Audio Server (DNAS)
2011-12-04 18:42:54 I msg:** Copyright (C) 1999-2011 Nullsoft, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
2011-12-04 18:42:54 I msg:** Use "sc_serv filename.conf" to specify a config file.
2011-12-04 18:42:54 I msg:***************************************************************
2011-12-04 18:42:54 I msg:[SHOUTcast] DNAS/posix(linux x86) v2.0.0.29 (Jul 31 2011) starting up...
2011-12-04 18:42:54 I msg:[MAIN] PID: 8063
2011-12-04 18:42:54 I msg:[MAIN] Loaded config from sc_serv_basic.conf
2011-12-04 18:42:54 I msg:[MAIN] Calculated CPU count is 4
2011-12-04 18:42:54 I msg:[MAIN] Starting 4 network threads
2011-12-04 18:42:54 I msg:[MICROSERVER] Listening for connection on port 8000
2011-12-04 18:42:54 I msg:[MICROSERVER] Listening for connection on port 8001
and then goes on like this

Quote:
$ 2011-12-04 18:42:56 E msg:[DST 93.209.159.52:58588 sid=1] SHOUTcast 1 client connection rejected. Stream not available. Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10_7_2) AppleWebKit/535.2 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/15.0.874.121 Safari/535.2
2011-12-04 18:42:56 I msg:[DST 93.209.159.52:58588 sid=1] SHOUTcast 1 client connection closed (0 seconds) [Bytes: 0] Agent: `Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10_7_2) AppleWebKit/535.2 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/15.0.874.121 Safari/535.2'
I remember having that output in the past, but then after a couple of seconds it somehow stopped throwing this error.

Any ideas why this is happening all of a sudden? I changed publicserver=never, but this makes no difference.
kishor108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2011, 19:30   #8
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
is the source connected? can be checked by going to <server_address>:<serverort>/admin.cgi and seeing if any streams are shown.

otherwise i would make sure that there are valid authhash present in the config file (along with streamid_x=x lines where x is the stream #) if it's been set as public (i know you set it to private beforehand though no idea if that's changed since march).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2011, 10:54   #9
sgolemanski
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
Thanks from me too. I had the same problem with Shoutcast 2 but when I changed the setting:

publicserver=never

It is now solved.

kishor108, please keep us updated with your new problem with the error message.
sgolemanski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2011, 11:14   #10
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
sgolemanski: that's not a real solution, that's just not following the instructions for a v2 setup which needs an authhash if you want the server to be publically listed in the Directory - if not wanted then that is how to do it, all of which is covered by http://wiki.winamp.com/wiki/SHOUTcas...ash_Management (which is mentioned a number of times in the official documentation).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2011, 11:19   #11
sgolemanski
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
Sorry for not digging too much in it but I am starting to do it. And yes, the purpose in my case is NOT to be listed anywhere. Just a Shoutcast server which is listened by people who see the URL posted on a small music site or if someone recommends it to them.

This is a not-enough-bandwidth situation
sgolemanski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2011, 11:23   #12
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
k, then you've done the right thing just didn't come across as that was what you're aiming for with the initial post.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2011, 22:03   #13
kishor108
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 18
I had publicserver=always during the last couple of months and the stream was correctly listed on YP. When I had problems after restarting the DNAS server I set publicserver=never, so no authhash is required if I understood correctly, but still no stream shows up on the admin page.

I've tried to enable additional logging, but there's no hint in the log what might be wrong:

Quote:
2011-12-05 23:43:35 I msg:<***> Logger startup
2011-12-05 23:43:35 I msg:<***> version 2.0.0.29
2011-12-05 23:43:35 D msg:<***>
2011-12-05 23:43:35 I msg:***************************************************************
2011-12-05 23:43:35 I msg:** SHOUTcast Distributed Network Audio Server (DNAS)
2011-12-05 23:43:35 I msg:** Copyright (C) 1999-2011 Nullsoft, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
2011-12-05 23:43:35 I msg:** Use "sc_serv filename.conf" to specify a config file.
2011-12-05 23:43:35 I msg:***************************************************************
2011-12-05 23:43:35 I msg:[SHOUTcast] DNAS/posix(linux x86) v2.0.0.29 (Jul 31 2011) starting up...
2011-12-05 23:43:35 I msg:[MAIN] PID: 17181
2011-12-05 23:43:35 I msg:[MAIN] Loaded config from sc_serv_basic.conf
2011-12-05 23:43:35 I msg:[MAIN] Calculated CPU count is 4
2011-12-05 23:43:35 I msg:[MAIN] Starting 4 network threads
2011-12-05 23:43:35 I msg:[MICROSERVER] Listening for connection on port 8000
2011-12-05 23:43:35 I msg:[MICROSERVER] Listening for connection on port 8001
2011-12-05 23:43:36 D msg:[MICROSERVER] Connection received from 82.208.57.182:59101
2011-12-05 23:43:36 E msg:[DST 82.208.57.182:59101 sid=1] SHOUTcast 1 client connection rejected. Stream not available. Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64) AppleWebKit/535.2 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/15.0.874.121 Safari/535.2
2011-12-05 23:43:36 I msg:[DST 82.208.57.182:59101 sid=1] SHOUTcast 1 client connection closed (0 seconds) [Bytes: 0] Agent: `Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64) AppleWebKit/535.2 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/15.0.874.121 Safari/535.2'
Right now I'm only starting the DNAS server without the transcoder, but even if I start the server first followed by the transcoder, it does not work. The transcoder log does not show any errors either.

Any additional logging or tracing I could do? As always, your help is very much appreciated!
kishor108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2011, 22:15   #14
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
well the log snippet indicates no source is connected which would cause what's being seen as clients are not allowed without a source.

if you're having issues with the Transcoder seeing the DNAS, have you changed anything in the system recently like the version of the Transcoder? also have you made sure that any IP addresses in any config files haven't become invalid (not sure where you've got the Transcoder running from).

posting the Transcoder log file may be useful especially if that seems to be running ok but not connecting.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2011, 22:41   #15
kishor108
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 18
I'm running both the DNAS and the Transcoder from the same machine as a non-daemon. I don't remember specifying an IP address in either of the 2 config files and I don't see any other config files being included.

Here's the transcoder log:

Quote:
2011-12-06 00:27:25 I msg:<***> Logger startup
2011-12-06 00:27:25 I msg:<***> version 2.0.0.51
2011-12-06 00:27:25 D msg:<***>
2011-12-06 00:27:25 W msg:[CONFIG] Invalid statement on line 1
2011-12-06 00:27:25 W msg:[CONFIG] Invalid item on line 51
2011-12-06 00:27:25 I msg:***************************************************************
2011-12-06 00:27:25 I msg:** TRANScast Distributed Network Audio Content Provider
2011-12-06 00:27:25 I msg:** Copyright (C) 2000-2011 Nullsoft, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
2011-12-06 00:27:25 I msg:** Use "sc_trans filename.conf" to specify a config file.
2011-12-06 00:27:25 I msg:***************************************************************
2011-12-06 00:27:25 I msg:[TRANSCast] DNAS/posix(linux x86) v2.0.0.51 (Jul 29 2011) starting up...
2011-12-06 00:27:25 I msg:[MAIN] PID: 23877
2011-12-06 00:27:25 I msg:[MAIN] Loaded config from sc_trans_basic.conf
2011-12-06 00:27:25 I msg:[MAIN] TimeMultiplier = 1, TimeShift = 0
2011-12-06 00:27:25 I msg:[VUPUSH] 101 VU images loaded for left channel
2011-12-06 00:27:25 I msg:[VUPUSH] 101 VU images loaded for right channel
2011-12-06 00:27:25 D msg:[PLAYLISTMGR] Registering playlist main:./playlists/main.lst : 0
2011-12-06 00:27:25 D msg:[PLAYLISTMGR] Playlist registry: name:main path:./playlists/main.lst
2011-12-06 00:27:25 D msg:[PLAYLISTMGR] Activating playlist=main id=-1 loop=1 prior=0 shuffle=1 dur=0 curt=0
2011-12-06 00:27:25 I msg:[PLAYLISTMGR] Playlist load from file ./playlists/main.lst
2011-12-06 00:27:25 D msg:[PLAYLISTMGR] Root path is ./playlists/
2011-12-06 00:27:25 D msg:[PLAYLISTMGR] Relative path expanded to ./playlists/./music/shoutcast.mp3
2011-12-06 00:27:25 W msg:[PLAYLISTMGR] The playlist entry ./playlists/./music/shoutcast.mp3 generated no entries
2011-12-06 00:27:25 D msg:[PLAYLISTMGR] Relative path expanded to ./playlists/../music/shoutcast.mp3
2011-12-06 00:27:25 D msg:[PLAYLISTMGR] New entry ./playlists/../music/shoutcast.mp3
2011-12-06 00:27:25 I msg:[PLAYLISTMGR] Caching playlist ./playlists/main.lst
2011-12-06 00:27:25 I msg:[PLAYLISTMGR] Load complete
2011-12-06 00:27:25 D msg:[PLAYLISTMGR] Playlist queue: name:main priority:0 loop:1 shuffle:1 id:-1 stop:0
2011-12-06 00:27:25 I msg:[MAIN] Streaming thread starting
2011-12-06 00:27:25 I msg:[SOURCERELAY] Thread starting
2011-12-06 00:27:25 I msg:[MAIN] Playlist decoder thread starting
2011-12-06 00:27:25 I msg:[RGCALC] Thread running
2011-12-06 00:27:25 I msg:[DECODE] Giving replay gain calculator a head start
2011-12-06 00:27:25 I msg:[DECODE] Begin decoding
2011-12-06 00:27:25 D msg:[PLAYLISTMGR] Playlist Directory (priority/) does not exist
2011-12-06 00:27:25 I msg:[DECODE] Next file is ./playlists/../music/shoutcast.mp3
kishor108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2011, 22:53   #16
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
first thing, i would check what is on the two lines being flagged up from the transcoder config file. second thing is that build 51 is not the current version (currently is build 54 at the time of reply) so you may want to upgrade to use that.

otherwise i'm seeing 'SOURCERELAY' in there... is the source relay you're using up and running? (as that's one area of the transcoder i've still not properly tried out over the last year).

if it isn't then i'd try to resolve that, though if that's not what you're running the transcoder with as the input, then something funky seems to be going on and might need to see the config file.

though like you've said, if nothing has been changed with the config, then it shouldn't have just stopped working (which makes me suspicious about the 'SOURCERELAY' line from the log, as there is none of the normal source connection messages, unless there was more from the log which wasn't posted).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th December 2011, 21:32   #17
kishor108
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 18
I was not able to figure out what was wrong with my 2 config files based on this debug output

Quote:
2011-12-06 00:27:25 W msg:[CONFIG] Invalid statement on line 1
2011-12-06 00:27:25 W msg:[CONFIG] Invalid item on line 51
so I finally decided to start from scratch and was back up and running within 2 hours.

It would be great if there was some sort of config file checker script to see if it is valid and has all the required fields.

Anyway, thanks for your fast response all of the time. You are doing great work here!
kishor108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th December 2011, 21:05   #18
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
most likely it was options which are no longer supported (when using a v1 config under v2) or a mis-typed entry.

the loading checks which are thrown into the log as well as a number of other checks made are the config checker - the DNAS will generally not allow itself to run unless most things are valid.

also as the DNAS at it's minimum needs only 2 options (password and adminpassword) to be set in the config file for the DNAS to run (since the source could be set as private which would allow client connections), there's generally not much which needs to be done to get it running.

as long as it's running ok now then that's the main thing but you really need to make a backup of all config files just incase something happens to the machine, etc.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump