Old 19th July 2014, 00:03   #1
ElectricFox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 47
No 2 Modern skins in a row

Hello !

I'm not really a newbie, as I've been using Winamp for over 10 years !! However, I used only those beautiful Classic Skins such as the Wolf tribe, etc... Now, I've decided to try the Modern Skins. No problems with the cPro's which look great although cumbersome if you want to use them only to decorate your screen. However, many - non cPro- are "fancy" but difficult to use, & many are "fancy" & impossible to use !!

I never have any problems with the .wal skins that have the square shape of a Classic Skin, but when I try "fancy" .wal skins, then the problems begin. I am unable to "play" 2 Modern skins in a row, I have to switch to a Classic Skin then play my second Modern Skin, etc...
An example is with those fancy ZDL skins. It also happens with many skins such as Invicta followed with GrayZ, WOO HOO FER followed with "Resurgence", etc... If I include a plain Classic Skin between these 2 ferocious beasts, all will be fine. But if I click one directly after the other, I get this window:"Microsoft Visual Runtime Error Library Runtime Error ! Program: c\Program Files\Winam\Winamp. exe R 6025 -pure virtual function call ok"
(Which forces me to close Winamp & sometimes reboot my computer as closing down Winamp & playing some music won't work, Winamp will not "come on" & there will be no sound, so I have to reboot.

What a pain in the neck !! I must say that I have high- speed broadband connection, my computers are regularly maintained, etc...

I run the latest Winamp (but with an older Winamp 6 months ago, it was the same thing), I have 2 laptops & the same problem happens on both, I have anti virus suite BitDefender + Malwarebytes anti-malwares, I just don't know what else to do.

Can anyone help??
Thanks.
Stephen.

P.S. I wrote about this some month ago and some Mr. O. or something like that wrote me two rude lines suggesting I was either crazy or my computers should be thrown away.
I expect more courtesy, more decency & better suggestions this time!!
We don't come here to be mocked a made fools of !!
ElectricFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2014, 00:18   #2
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
without the info tool report which has been asked for numerous times (and which i still do not see in any of your posting history), there is little any one is going to be able to suggest in addition to what has previously been made.


and i'm assuming you're referring to my comments in http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=375933 which i do not see how they were rude and i never said you had to throw your computer away - i only said "probably time to just re-build the OS install..." which is not at all the same as "my computers should be thrown away." as all of the error messages you have mentioned are not normal and is likely indicative of larger issues than just what is not working correctly in your Winamp setup.


and i have not intended to mock or disrespect anyone, but we ask for things like info tool reports for specific reasons (especially when repeatedly asking for specific information we do not get responses back). but clearly something is being lost in translation of my replies so i'll leave you in peace to avoid any further distress i have been causing you.

and as i leave, http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=375757 has been implemented internally (though i doubt i'll be believed).
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2014, 01:50   #3
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
..and i'm assuming you're referring to my comments in http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=375933 which i do not see how they were rude..
Those answers doesn't seem like rude on this side either.. at least not for a DrO standard haha. I'm kidding, not rude, at all, seriously. Anyway, seems like it's time to add another text to the signature... "info tool report link and how to proceed when in trouble" .

Good to know about the new option being implemented!! (can't 'till new betas to try out.. that will be a tough work to do..)

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2014, 23:07   #4
ElectricFox
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 47
Winamp Modern Skins ...the following

Okay, Dr.O & Victhor, I agree that the word "rude" was a little harsh, but I honestly don't understand what you mean when you say I didn't supply the info tool report that you have asked many times. What report?? I told you I use Winamp 5.666..., I gave you informations about my computer...I'm not joking and I'm not cynical. I don't understand what you expect of me in order to beeing able to help.
Please don't use too much U.S. English humor and too much technical language. I get lost.
My computer works fine as when I'm writing now I'm streaming Flying Dreams mixed by Cosmic Waves on di.fm (Digitally Imported) Space Dreams Channel !!
Take care.
St.
ElectricFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2014, 23:20   #5
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,624
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=328932

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2014, 23:47   #6
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,550
First, there is no need to create another thread for the same issue (in fact, you have more chances to get DrO or me in a thread where we already posted..).
Second, there goes the proper explanation on what you need to do:
The link from Aminifu lets you download the Info Tool Report. Do it. Once installed, Create an extended report. Then, post a new comment in your original thread about this problem attaching the ".zip" generated report. With that, and only with that, DrO can get closer to what your problem is.

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2014, 22:48   #7
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElectricFox View Post
but I honestly don't understand what you mean when you say I didn't supply the info tool report that you have asked many times. What report??
the link Aminifu has posted and i've posted a number of times in the threads you've made and where i've replied. i have been as clear as possible with requesting the information by posting the link to how to do what is being asked (which is in the sticky threads) and as has been included in replies by other Winamp users. i don't know how else anyone could have made things more obvious in the information that is required.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElectricFox View Post
I told you I use Winamp 5.666..., I gave you informations about my computer...
the information has been piecemeal and incomplete and as there were 3 v5.666 builds and also 2 required plug-in updates, without the info tool report there is no way for us to know _exactly_ what version of the v5.666 build you are using. hence the critical importance of us seeing an info tool report.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElectricFox View Post
Please don't use too much U.S. English humor and too much technical language. I get lost.
i'm actually offended and being said to be using US English humor - i only do British English humour as that's all i know. we've not gone technical - download the tool, run it and then attach the generated zip file to a post is not all that technical at all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElectricFox View Post
My computer works fine as when I'm writing now I'm streaming Flying Dreams mixed by Cosmic Waves on di.fm (Digitally Imported) Space Dreams Channel !!
that might be so but there is something wrong with your Winamp install and if you want us to help you, you need to provide us with the information which is required to try to even start to determine what is wrong with it.


if not, follow the clean re-install instructions using the details from http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....d=161361#clean (and ensuring you re-install the version and 2 plug-in updates from my signature) and see if that helps (following the caveats of backing up your Winamp install as needed as per the clean re-install instructions - if you don't and lose any data then we are not responsible for that).
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Tags
di.fm, errors, info, microsoft, modern, report, runtime, skins, tool

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump