Old 5th August 2001, 19:54   #1
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
First, get this: http://www.1014.org/~peter/in_mod.zip . This thing should work somewhat better than in_mod v2.2.8 (fixed XM problems, added decompression support, etc); some S3M/IT files will behave differently than they used to. Report here _ANY_ files that sound messed up compared to ModPlug (URLs plz). Note that some files will get fixed after loading/saving them in ModPlug Tracker (I'm now researching them).
peter is offline  
Old 5th August 2001, 23:42   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
I'm still getting the dreaded "corrupt file or unsupported module type" error on half of my modules. The other half play just fine.
All modules, whether compressed as mdz / itz / xmz or not, play perfectly ok in both ModPlug Player and Winamp with your in_modplug.dll

I prefer to keep them compressed, but as I say, if I use the "save as" feature in Modplug and uncompress them to the original mod / it / xm / s3m format, I still get that error message with in_mod.dll

So, it's back to in_modplug.dll for me.
If only it supported File Info & seeking bar, I'd be fully happy with this plugin and would never want to use in_mod.dll again . . . unless it got fixed 100%

All trax were originally downloaded from traxinspace.com
I'd give you the url's, but TiS seems to be down at the mo?

Here's a list of the problem modules. All 44KHz, 16-bit.
I'll edit in the url's later as soon as I can get them from TiS

Carl Dub : Remember The Dreams (XM)
Pirat : Feels Are Changing (MOD)
Scienide : Fragmatized (IT)
Scienide : Peacemaker - SB Cut (IT)
Mathar : Cry (IT)
NoldusR : Approach, full (IT)
Petr Mikovec : The Way Up/Down (XM)
Mass : Fabeltjeskrant 3Dfx (MOD)
DJ Spoz : Stupid 'n Contagious (XM)
Wide Damned Mind : Real High Real Fast (XM)

There's more, but that'll do for now . . .
Unless ya want to add me as a broken mod too

[Edited by DJEgg on 08-06-2001 at 05:42 PM]
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 6th August 2001, 13:18   #3
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
ok, I'm now scavenging on TS too.
about some broken IT files - it seems that buggy versions of Impulse Tracker are to blame - the file I've been messing with got fixed after loading/saving in the latest Impulse Tracker.
btw, as my research shows - ModPlug isn't 100% bug-free neither
peter is offline  
Old 6th August 2001, 15:38   #4
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
XM loading error: fixed (my connection is too fuxored to reupload now, hafta wait till evening)
i dunno what's wrong with the rest of stuff; these IT files seem to play OK (haven't changed IT-related stuff since the version which is now on my website).
could you gimme a direct link to one of MOD files that don't work ?
peter is offline  
Old 6th August 2001, 20:12   #5
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
woo, managed to upload new update. XMs work, dunno what's wrong with the rest of stuff (haven't noticed anything weird about ITs linked above, can't find any of MODs).
peter is offline  
Old 6th August 2001, 22:48   #6
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Righty-o, I've edited in the url's of all but 3 of the trax above.
Typical that 2 of the 3 I can't find are both mod's
Either the search is broken or those trax no longer exist on TiS
One of them is only 233kb, I can e-mail it to ya if ya want?

I'm pretty certain they're both old Amiga Soundtracker mod's.
Both = 4 channel

Okay, I'll d/l the new updated in_mod.dll & let ya know if I'm still getting that dreaded error. If so, it's back to in_modplug again.

Cheers PP

Egg
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 6th August 2001, 23:05   #7
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Update

"Remember The Dreams" was the only one in the list I managed to play.

It's a start at least

All the others are still returning the dreaded error message.

Weird!

There's about 15 other modules in my playlist which all play perfectly ok.
MOD, IT, XM, etc.
All of them play ok with in_modplug.dll, all of them play ok in MPP.

Could it be a setting somewhere that needs adjusting?
I've not bothered changing any of the defaults.
Everything looks ok to me.

But you're saying you got them all to play ok?
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 7th August 2001, 10:09   #8
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
do you have the latest bigass read_file.dll installed ? if not - go get it already. also try running without read_file.dll in plugins dir (no decompression).
you will be pissed off, but I can't find any other mod that doesn't work. i don't think it has something to do with settings, but you might try to erase winamp.ini or something.
my current playlist:
Real High & Real Fast
The way up\down
Stupid 'n Contagious
Remember The Dreams
PeaceMaker: SB CUT
Fragmatized
(all of them work)
(edit: NoldusR / Approach works too. we could start using AIM/ICQ/IRC 'cuz this is getting too slow because of damn timezones)
peter is offline  
Old 7th August 2001, 19:13   #9
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Yes, I already have the latest bigass read_file.dll
If I remove it, then I won't be able to play any of them, 'cos they're all compressed as mdz, itz, xmz. So I might as well stick with in_modplug.dll, yes?

What I'll do is load & save them again in MPP, see if they play in Winamp with latest in_mod.dll, then recompress them in MPT (or just zip & rename)

I'll let ya know how I get on, but I'll probably have to leave it till the weekend now. But I'll take your word for it. If you can get them to play ok, then it must be a problem somewhere at my end. Fear not, I'll sort it out . . . as always

Off subject, but I've also run into a WMA problem too.
Winamp won't play any of them anymore (I've only got 5)
WMP6.4 plays them perfectly, so yup, I've got a bit of work on my hands.
Yes, yes, I've tried EVERYTHING! Believe me! (more details in Ask Steve)
It'll give me something to do at least

Golly gosh, these are the first pc-related problems I've had in ages!

btw, I don't have AIM/ICQ . . . just e-mail. Sad, eh?

Cheers -> Egg

ps . . . timezones? You're in Poland, yes? I'm in UK.
What's the difference? 2 hours?
It's probably just that I keep really strange hours, what with being a bit of a creature of the night
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 7th August 2001, 21:03   #10
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
about timezones - i've just came back from vacation and my night-day cycle hasn't returned to normal state (had to wake up at 7-8 AM because of %$@ kids making noise).
i've tested the stuff on both my computers (K6-2/128meg/win98se, Athlon/128meg/win2k) and haven't managed to get any errors (there was an error with that first XM, but it got fixed). i've just put my hands on a big load of potentially troublemaking ITs so i have plenty of stuff to mess with.
i've added some critical fixed to IT loader, but i'm unable to upload the file (the file which is now there is incomplete)
in_modplug sucks. like i said, even modplug isn't 100% bug-free. if you find a mod which doesn't work with modplug, i won't be able to fix it.

PS. what kind of compressed mods are they ? you sure that there is _only_one_ file in every archive ? if not, repack them. read_file.dll extracts only the first file from archive (unless you specify path of file to extract - eg. "zipfile.zip\modfile.mod" instead of "modfile.mdz")

[edit] i think i've managed to upload da update.
peter is offline  
Old 7th August 2001, 22:19   #11
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Aha!
I think you've hit the nail on the head there PP

I've got a sneaky feeling that all the trouble-causing mod's were originally zip files which I extracted out of the internet cache and changed the extension to mdz, or whatever. Methinks these zips also contained a txt file, so it's probably reading the bleeding text file first. Doh!

I'll resave/recompress them with just the actual module and see if that fixes it.
Pretty certain it will.
Weyhey. Nice one PP, I'd never've thought of that! (well, maybe eventually)

btw, like I said before, ALL of them play ok in MPP & in Winamp with in_modplug.dll . . . I know it sux but main thing is that it works.

In fact, I'm so excited at the prospect of being able to use in_mod.dll again that I think I'll go offline right now & sort it out

/Downloading your update now

[edit]
oops, no I'm not . . . no response at the mo, I'll try again later
[/edit]

ps. btw, the WMA problem thread isn't in Ask Steve, it's in Tech Newbies . . . LOL, of all places
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=56513
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 8th August 2001, 02:44   #12
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
w00t !

All my compressed mods are fixed
Yup, you were right PP (hey, what's new?) . . .
Read-file.dll was reading the stoopid TiS.txt file

btw, everything's working fine with the update from a couple of days ago.
I've not downloaded the very latest in_mod.dll yet . . .

One thing's for sure, MPPSDK.DLL & in_modplug.dll are out of my Winamp dir for good. Yay!

Cheers PP

Oh yeah, I'm a happy guy now!

Right, that's 2 out of 3 (modules & forums = fixed)
Now on to those darned WMA's
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 9th August 2001, 00:16   #13
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
update: IT215 decompression finally works correctly, added ModPlug's ADPCM decompression
about WMA - this is really the last thing i feel like working on (even if paid); i prefer making more creative stuff (in_mod, in_tfmx, in_spc, in_midi).
peter is offline  
Old 9th August 2001, 01:58   #14
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Yeah, you're absolutely right PP
WMA suxx big time & isn't worth the trouble it causes.

I'll find the fix eventually. It's gotta be something pretty simple & straightforward. I'll put a few hours in when I've got the time, maybe this weekend. Though I might just play them through WMP, save them to WAV with TotalRecorder, then recompress to MP3 . . . then never ever d/l or use any WMA's again.

I find it very sad that winamp.com promotes this evil M$ format.
If they must use secure formats on the music downloads page, then surely MJF would be better? (hmmm . . . maybe)

Okay, end of rant, time to d/l the new in_mod update.

errmmm . . . 245 bytes/sec . . . wtf?
Ahhh, now it's got stuck at 46kb. Methinks I should try again later! lol
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 17th August 2001, 18:21   #15
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
uploaded new read_file.dll, should filter out all unwanted crap from zip/rar files (so all TiS files should work w/o repacking); report if something is still not loading correctly.
peter is offline  
Old 17th August 2001, 19:11   #16
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Drat! I already deleted all surplus files, leaving just the module itself in the zip. But fear not, I've got a few more mods which aren't in my Winamp playlist (ModplugPlayer only), so I'll try it out on them. Fingers crossed.

/me goes to d/l new file

Cheers PP

Egg.

[edit]
Oops! Just had to edit out a typo in your link.
The url began http:/// (removed extra forward slash)
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 24th August 2001, 17:07   #17
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
doh!
another update - (hopefully) fixes some of problems mentioned in this thread. i wonder how many files does it break (should affect only S3M/IT).
peter is offline  
Old 24th August 2001, 20:58   #18
TheChange
Junior Member
 
TheChange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 44
ahh, a fellow coder, finally found the man with the plan :P
ok, just tried a bunch of stuff, very nice to see the pitchslide fixed
and also great that erm, well, suddenly my IT mods dont crash anymore
very cool stuff
but erm what about the surround effect S91 ?
in IT you can go to channel setup (f11) and press 'S' to make a chan surround instead left or right - i have the feeling these thingies are not reflected in thy dll
TheChange is offline  
Old 24th August 2001, 21:41   #19
TheChange
Junior Member
 
TheChange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 44
Ok I got a nice testing song at http://www.geocities.com/thechange/FX4.IT which can be used to compare IT with WinAmp on Interpolated Sine Wave/Square Wave and Surround Sound.

Simply put: Run IT and make sure Interpolation is on and then Play the song
Afterwards run WinAmp and make sure Interpolation is on and then Play the song.
You can also test with both interpolation off for some outa-speaker-blowin' sound.

The first part of the song demonstrates the sine wave and square wave, the second part demonstrates the same but with 'surround sound'.

The first part should display no difference with interpolation on.
However, with the surround sound part, in IT, my speakers will blow away while in WinAmp I hardly hear it, even when I turn on a 3D enhancer!

Anyway, there is this Stereo Output thingy for Impulse Tracker and I cant seem to find it anywhere apart from the official webby, where it costs a smack of money
TheChange is offline  
Old 24th August 2001, 21:58   #20
TheChange
Junior Member
 
TheChange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 44
ok ok im just browsing thru my it collection here but erm ok maybe i should listen to 1 mod every day ( instead of more :P )
http://www.geocities.com/thechange/FX5.IT is such a song that displays the 'missing note'-bug. if u listen to it in IT, it sounds, ofcourse, normal. but if u listen to it in winamp, u'll hear a missing note. i dunno what it doesnt like that note. maybe the instrument isnt reset after a noteoff ? or a conflict between envelopes ?
TheChange is offline  
Old 24th August 2001, 22:29   #21
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
hacking in progress...
peter is offline  
Old 25th August 2001, 00:27   #22
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
daaamn, what a mess... this should fix surround. some combinations of sample formats & output settings might cause mixers to puke (report if you find any).
i dunno what's exactly wrong with fx5, seems ok to me (compared to modplug). i can't get impulsetracker to work on my main box (win2k/winme) (gonna try on second box tomorrow)
peter is offline  
Old 25th August 2001, 02:29   #23
TheChange
Junior Member
 
TheChange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 44
very cool!
TheChange is offline  
Old 25th August 2001, 03:37   #24
TheChange
Junior Member
 
TheChange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 44
so it seems that u make miracles..
is there something to do about the IT mods in WinAmp sounding like they're played inside a tin can, like, totally metallic..?
TheChange is offline  
Old 25th August 2001, 13:00   #25
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
any samples ?
peter is offline  
Old 26th August 2001, 00:04   #26
TheChange
Junior Member
 
TheChange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 44
oki i'll attempt to create some very well noticeable examples.. although for most ppl it's still not noticeable then so u need either good ears or good sound equipment
i'll post the example in a couple of hours..
TheChange is offline  
Old 26th August 2001, 04:02   #27
TheChange
Junior Member
 
TheChange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 44
ok i reconstucted 2 examples which also shows 2 new bugs :/

http://www.geocities.com/thechange/FX6.IT demonstrates what happens if you enter notes without a value but it also demonstrates the extra metallic effect

http://www.geocities.com/thechange/FX7.IT demonstrates an incorrect Amiga pitchslide but also displays the extra metallic effect

metallic effect: it is the lower sound quality that creates the effect thus in IT also having the metallic effect. although it sounds 'warmer' there, as if there are more midtones there. or maybe it has something to do with the 32-bit mixing involved? anyway, it needs a full compare between WinAmp and IT to hear the exact difference

gl =)
i'll create a song for ya if u can fix it
( that is like saying thanks, but without words ok im sounding taccy now )
TheChange is offline  
Old 26th August 2001, 04:12   #28
TheChange
Junior Member
 
TheChange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 44
btw imho the best smiley for :P is which seems more hilarious than the for :p but the and are still amazing and check this one out which i thought was missing in the 'internet collection of smilies' so i just created it please do copy at will
TheChange is offline  
Old 26th August 2001, 06:03   #29
TheChange
Junior Member
 
TheChange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 44
ok i just put every IT mod into my winamp and i must say i can really use winamp now to play stuff and damn i love it!

but also, new bugs keep popping up...
http://www.geocities.com/thechange/FX8.IT shows something hilarious

( in IT it sounds normal , in winamp there are .. erm .. things missing )
TheChange is offline  
Old 26th August 2001, 06:51   #30
TheChange
Junior Member
 
TheChange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 44
oh dear another one

running http://www.geocities.com/thechange/FX9.IT in winamp will suddenly make a weird bleep appear

btw most of these and previous modules can be tested best without interpolation , like crystal clear sounds , like some of those bad 8-bit samples used in some previous mods

btw2: a bonus mod included for testing, but sounds pretty ok - http://www.geocities.com/thechange/FX10.IT

( hmm they say Mod means Moderator in the glossary list )
TheChange is offline  
Old 26th August 2001, 07:03   #31
TheChange
Junior Member
 
TheChange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 44
omg the worst one yet: http://www.geocities.com/thechange/DRIVER.IT
a testsong from the soundlabs
TheChange is offline  
Old 26th August 2001, 17:47   #32
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
dunno wazup with fx9, seems ok to me (no weird sounds, only non-interpolated mode sounds bad, but that's due to lack of interpolation)
fx8 looks really interesting (hacking in progress, looks like even modplug doesn't like this one)
peter is offline  
Old 26th August 2001, 20:14   #33
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
fx8: fixed (note to self: use built-in debug shiznit next time)
about weirdo sound quality - mikmod uses only linear resampling, this might be the problem (it's not a big priority for me now to rewrite mixers )
btw, fx8 is really freaky... when i saw the file size first time, i thought that my download manager screwed up.
peter is offline  
Old 27th August 2001, 00:31   #34
TheChange
Junior Member
 
TheChange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 44
rofl
TheChange is offline  
Old 27th August 2001, 00:46   #35
TheChange
Junior Member
 
TheChange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 44
wow very cool
hmm FX5 still has notes missing tho
TheChange is offline  
Old 27th August 2001, 10:56   #36
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
FX5 fixed. i hope it won't mess anything else up. also, some other files with missing notes should work better now (there was a major bug with SDx notedelay after note-off). huge thanks for info (i don't have that much mods).
peter is offline  
Old 27th August 2001, 18:27   #37
TheChange
Junior Member
 
TheChange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 44
np at all m8 !
this is great stuff

gonna test some more
TheChange is offline  
Old 27th August 2001, 19:00   #38
TheChange
Junior Member
 
TheChange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 44
http://www.geocities.com/thechange/FX11.IT is some sort of replica of FX6.IT but demonstrates a bug better
there should be no sound at all , but in my winamp i hear.. stuff..
TheChange is offline  
Old 28th August 2001, 09:22   #39
peter
ist death
 
peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 3,704
fixed. report if you find any more problems (i want to change version number to beta2 and put it 'officially' on my website).
peter is offline  
Old 28th August 2001, 19:50   #40
TheChange
Junior Member
 
TheChange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 44
nice
btw is it possible to fix http://www.geocities.com/thechange/FX3.IT ? i mean in IT it goes all the way while in WinAmp it seems to loop, then go all the way ..
TheChange is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Bug Reports

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump