Old 22nd February 2011, 02:08   #1
CrazyNick
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
Need Help if this is Possible

Hi All need help if this is possible or feasible: I do a internet talk show 1 night a week for 1-3 hrs sometimes with a song or two from a indie band. I currently use my laptop with mixer to broadcast my show and skype for call ins, i would like to utilize shoutcast to broadcast my show and use Opera on my desktop which i dont use for broadcasting and isnt connected to my usb mixer
Can i setup shoutcast to do my show that 1 nite a week for those 1-3 hrs live and its off air the rest of the time and if so how would I use the shoutcast server? can i set it up on my desktop and broadcast from my laptop to desktop shoutcast server? please help this is all new to me and im confused as it is cause im old...im also using win vista 64 laptop
CrazyNick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2011, 07:59   #2
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
you can run a SHOUTcast server on a local machine and just for a few hours or as long as wanted though if you're already doing a broadcast, you might be able to feed it directly to a SHOUTcast server (otherwise you need to capture the audio and then feed that to the server for it to then be broadcast).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2011, 18:10   #3
CrazyNick
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
ok so basically how do i run it i just download the shoutcast dnas install it on desktop or what i have my laptop with usb mixer and mic on it with winamp for indie music i have how do i broadcast from laptop to server? how do i feed my audio from laptop to desktop server?
CrazyNick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2011, 19:17   #4
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
http://dev.winamp.com/wiki/SHOUTcast_Broadcaster is the best place to start as that has details on how to run the tools and config them together (you'll probably want to use the config_builder if you're not happy editing the example config files - which are just text files).

to go from laptop to server, you could use the Source DSP if you're using Winamp though depending on the OS you're using, you might have to use some sort of virtual audio cable or a direct cable doing a loop back for the mixer + mic combo (Vista / Win 7 support of the capturing is known to not work correctly with the DSP plug-in at the moment).

as well there's info on the wiki for how to configure the DSP plug-in to work with the DNAS. though if you're using the v2 tools, the DNAS is a command-line based tool so you'll need to able to pass a file to it or use the bat file the config_builder provides (otherwise it won't do anything - though i've got something in the works for the next public build to ease that issue people have with command-line tools).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Tags
desperate, newbie, setup

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump