Old 30th August 2004, 18:12   #1
mcm2567
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2
Winamp 2.12

I had an older version of winamp on my computer before it crashed, does anyone know where to get older versions of winamp?
mcm2567 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2004, 18:16   #2
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,398
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
oldversion.com.

YtseJam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2004, 18:17   #3
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,229
www.winampheaven.net for old unsupported buggy versions

Winamp 5.05 for the best version ever
(install the LITE version if you don't want burning/ripping and Modern Skin Support; really: Winamp 5 IS Winamp 2 with bugfixes (and new features which you can choose not to install))

If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2004, 18:18   #4
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
Not recommended, because these truly old Winamps feature nice security exploits and bad MP3 decoders.

Just for the record.

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2004, 18:30   #5
Brocolli'sLove
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Richmond, Va, USA.
Posts: 5
Send a message via Yahoo to Brocolli'sLove
Hey, I'm sure the guy wanted an older version because he's got an 'ancient' machine that can't handle the pure power that is Winamp 5! That, and he probably doesn't realize the nice little Classic skin support feature of wa5. That's some sweet stuff there, baby.
Brocolli'sLove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2004, 18:44   #6
NJK
FRISIAN (MOD)
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: in a house
Posts: 16,232
Quote:
Originally posted by Brocolli'sLove
Hey, I'm sure the guy wanted an older version because he's got an 'ancient' machine that can't handle the pure power that is Winamp 5!
you're right about that part -
got an Old pentium with 100mhz processor and it can't handle winamp 5!
on a 486 DX 100 the highest winamp version that ever worked on that machine was 2.9 ( with nothing else running)
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2004, 18:59   #7
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
what is classified as ancient now? (cos i'm sure this P2 is ancient )

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2004, 19:26   #8
NJK
FRISIAN (MOD)
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: in a house
Posts: 16,232
Quote:
Originally posted by DrO
what is classified as ancient now? (cos i'm sure this P2 is ancient )

-daz
a p2 isn't that ancient Daz.
my son has one with 350mhz processor and it runs winamp 5.04 smoothly system os = windows xp .
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2004, 19:27   #9
J_Darnley
Forum King
 
J_Darnley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Belgium, Europe
Posts: 3,625
Send a message via ICQ to J_Darnley
I have WA 5 running on a 'burnt out' P2 233MHz with 64 MB ram (I know it's not as bad as your's). I have unchecked all the stuff I don't need from it (WA Agent, modern skin support, JTFE, Tray controll, uneeded input plug-ins, Ripping/burning support, CDDB, vis plug-ins, SPS DSP, DS output), did the tweaks from my sig and it runs well enough (on its own) even though it does take a while to start.

Winamp ATF ReferenceMy cPro timer widgetMy port of AVS
Do NOT email me with general tech support questions.
J_Darnley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2004, 19:36   #10
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
this machine is a P2 266 @ 310 with 288Mb, win2k pro and 5.05 and it all runs a treat just i use classic skins (which i prefer anyway). Modern skins run fine (especially if i disable the visualiser)

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2004, 19:45   #11
NJK
FRISIAN (MOD)
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: in a house
Posts: 16,232
the only skin i use is the one from Wildrose Wally.
but on the p2 my son and i installed several modern skins and all run fine, and the visual things also run fine without delaying the system very much.

(makes note to burn winamp 5.05 setup to disk so we can install it on the p2- yes no network here, this machine can't handle it )
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2004, 19:47   #12
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
mine handles a network (well it did when i was running Win98 a few years back) and i was on a 10Base network (i think that's the right name)

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2004, 19:56   #13
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
The minimum requirements you may have seen posted at the FAQ or online docs are more geared towards Winamp 5's newer features. The following an unofficial "bare bones" minimum requirements list.

Classic skin mode:
Minimum P166 MMX or higher
64mb RAM or higher
All Windows OS (WinNT4/95=limited)
DirectX 8 or higher

As already been suggested try the Lite version of Winamp or download the Full version and uncheck the features you don't want. There has been a few security fixes and a lot of bug fixes since 2.12. There are a lot of users suggesting to use WA5. It would not hurt to give it a try. If you do have to go back to the WA2 series, I suggest you download 2.91 or 2.81.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2004, 09:09   #14
nybergh
Dialup Junkie
(Major Dude)
 
nybergh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,219
..or 2.95 (with illegal/unlicened mp3-encoerg if I remember correctly)

But seriously, I have tested WA 5.05 on a 166 mhz pentium without MMX running on 32 MB ram with win98 (slooow) with almost everything but file formats deselected in install, it runs exactly like 2.81.
nybergh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2004, 12:42   #15
lordsky
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to lordsky
Main Computer:
PII 333 @ 417
384 RAM
IBM 14 Gb HD (ata 33)
WinXP Sp2
WinAmp 5.05 modern skin with song ticker off and spectrum analyser on.

Runs everything fine.
lordsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2004, 18:16   #16
lunarboy1
Forum King
 
lunarboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Somewhere, USA
Posts: 2,233
J_Darnley, that is one messed up avatar... WA5 classic style runs fine on a PII 233 with 96megs o ram

[edit]Win98 SE[/edit]
lunarboy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2004, 10:05   #17
Kado
Member
 
Kado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 99
And I was thinking that my PC was a "classic"! PIII 800 @ 840MHz + 256MB RAM + Windows XP Pro. My Winamp 5.05 takes lots of cpu because I'm using some extra plug-ins... tmsVU e Marron (vis), GlamorousPad (playlist alternative), ReginaCape_mix (classic skin enhancer) , M2Soft Advanced Skin Plug-in (classic skin enhancer), YunaSoft SexyFont (Main window display enhancer) and Enhancer (dsp). all those plug-ins (except for enhancer) are in japs so is quite dificult to understand the settings!

You can check some skin examples here
I only have 5MB of bandwidth!

Kado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2004, 10:37   #18
CraigF
Passionately Apathetic
Administrator
 
CraigF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Hell
Posts: 5,435
why would somebody do that to their winamp? seriously.

CraigF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2004, 19:56   #19
castle4u
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1
Winamp v2

http://www.fileplanet.com/search.aspx?q=Winamp%202
http://www.1001winampskins.com/download_winamp.html
castle4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2004, 20:45   #20
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,965
Winamp v(anything)

www.winampheaven.net
www.oldversion.com

As already stated in the first two replies...
DJ Egg is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump