Old 24th January 2004, 22:05   #1
Grim3684
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5
"Preset manager" freezes on load

When I attempt to start Winamp, a window is created that says "Preset Manager". This window does no drawing to the screen, and the application "Preset Manager" shows up on the task manager as "Not Responding"

System Setup:
Winamp 5.01 Free
Windows XP Pro
Athlon XP 3200+
Abit NV7-133R
512 Megs of ram.

I am posting to this forum before reporting this issue as a bug in hope of fixing it, and collecting more information to create a useful bou report.
Grim3684 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2004, 23:03   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,867
At a guess, this will be a problem caused by some old/incompatible 3rd-party plugin.
Installed any perhaps?

afaik, this particular error/issue has never been reported before on these forums, so I doubt very much that it is a bug in the default Winamp setup...
unless it's Milkdrop or AVS vis plugin related?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2004, 23:07   #3
Grim3684
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5
Well, THe problem seems to have fixed it's self...

I rebooted trying to install some other software; while shutting down, windows killed a spare winamp process. I'm guessing that somehow the preset manager detetced this stray process and refused to run propery.

If the problem re-occurs, I will look into it more.
Grim3684 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2004, 23:10   #4
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,867
Hmm, not even sure what this 'preset manager' is though...
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2004, 23:14   #5
Grim3684
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5
I think it's part of winamp that's loading equalizer and volume presets.. maybe even skins and playlists in 5
Grim3684 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2004, 23:24   #6
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,867
nah. don't think so...

so, you've not installed any 3rd-party plugins at all then?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2004, 23:27   #7
Grim3684
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5
I've installed a few, but I'm not shure that this is a result of them.
Grim3684 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2004, 00:10   #8
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,867
I am

maybe you'd care to list them?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2004, 02:32   #9
Grim3684
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5
let's see if I can figure out which ones are 3rd patry...

DSP/Effect:
Compresssor & Wider v1.1 [dsp_compwide.dll]

General purpose:
MEXP (disabled)
MP3-Lister

Dylan's OpenGl Dynamic Textured Cube [vis_DylansGlCube.dll]
MilkDrop 1.04b [vis_milk.dll]
Smoke 1.06 [vis_smoke.dll]
TwistedPixel v1.0 [vis_tp.dll]

Output:
Dee3 3.0 [out_dee3.dll]

I was not using any visiulazations when experiencing the problem, and was listening to mp3's.

Input:
LineIn plugin v1.51(x86) [in_line.dll]
Weedsoft Noise Generator v0.1 [in_noise.dll]
Valax's AC3 decoder for Winamp v2.06 [in_vac3.dll]
Microsoft WINAMP/WMA plug-in v1.13(x86) [in_wm.dll]
Grim3684 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2004, 11:00   #10
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,867
The 1st-party plugins are all listed here

From your list, Milkdrop & in_wm are 1st-party.

Therefore, I guess one of these 3rd-party plugins is/was to blame:

Compresssor & Wider v1.1 [dsp_compwide.dll]
Dee3 3.0 [out_dee3.dll]
Weedsoft Noise Generator v0.1 [in_noise.dll]
MEXP (disabled)
MP3-Lister

I know you said you're not using a vis plugin,
but which one is currently hi-lighted in Prefs -> Plugins -> Visualization?

One of vis_DylansGlCube.dll or vis_tp.dll maybe?


Alas, I don't use any of those 3rd-party plugins (Smoke is installed, but that's one of Ryan Geiss' plugins, who used to be a Nullsoft employee), and I sure as hell don't want to install them either, so I've no way of finding out the culprit. If the problem reoccurs, use a process of elimination method to find the guilty plugin.

Close winamp, disable one of the 3rd-party plugins by moving it out of the Winamp\Plugins dir, then reopen Winamp.
Repeat as necessary until the error message disappears. The last plugin you disabled was the guilty one!
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump