Old 3rd August 2003, 04:50   #1
drumchick
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9
I cant get a SKIN

I used to have winamp3, but its a jerkface to me and freezes and what not. So i just got winamp2 after not having it for like 8 months. Well, i tryed to put a skin in like i used too, and it wont do it!! I download them and it wont find them in winamp and load. The weirdest thing is that i cant download winamp2 skins, only winamp3 skins?? Im so confused!! Please help im just a stupid chick who doesnt know anything oh and i uninstalled winamp3 so its not a conflict with that.....
drumchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2003, 10:43   #2
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,867
Hi. See if this thread helps:

Downloaded skins won't load
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2003, 04:15   #3
drumchick
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9
Thanks dj egg, but iT STILL DOESNT WORK! For some reason, when i click on a win2 skin to download, instead of a download box appearing, it takes me to a page with just code on it? So i cant download any win2 skins. However win3 skins i can download, the code does not appear
Please help : )
drumchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2003, 04:24   #4
drumchick
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9
HAHAH i DID IT! The blonde highlights in my hair must really be showing through. I have been using netscape to download skins. For whatever reason it doesnt like winamp. So i used IE and it worked fine. First try!! THanks so much for all ur help dj egg.
: ) u rock
drumchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2003, 10:45   #5
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,867
Yes, it's a known problem with Netscape / Mozilla browser, where all filetypes must use an associated MIME Type, but .WSZ skins don't use any MIME . . . so Netscape doesn't know how to deal with them.

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=120615
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=134060
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=132754
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2003, 15:11   #6
drumchick
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9
Ok, im just gonna use IE for it from now on. Thanks again
drumchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump