Old 26th November 2005, 03:21   #1
jheriko
Forum King
 
jheriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: a twist in the fabric of space
Posts: 2,150
Send a message via ICQ to jheriko
GVM tools again...

Here is a much more powerful image to gvm file converter for those who are interested. That's mainly PAK-9 I guess... but anyway:

http://jheriko.kicks-ass.net/avs_pro.../Image2GVM.exe

Unlike the previous command line offerings it has a UI, a help file (although very simple) and supports some more practical file formats (.jpg, .png etc..). It also provides some compression options because the size of the .gvm files produced can be quite hefty (256x256 rgb -> ~6MB).

Complaints or bugs reports are welcome. There are likely to be things that I have missed since I only started this about 6 hours ago... but everything has been given the quick once over.

Enjoy!

-- Jheriko

'Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers'
jheriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2005, 03:36   #2
jheriko
Forum King
 
jheriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: a twist in the fabric of space
Posts: 2,150
Send a message via ICQ to jheriko
Forgot about the example presets... replace test_zp.gvm in the 'Misc / Global Variable Manager' with the filename of a 256x256 sized image .gvm and it will render it for you. greyscale and color versions provided.

These are really basic just to show you that it does work.... if anyone gets stuck with anything... just complain here.

-- Jheriko

'Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers'
jheriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2005, 03:37   #3
jheriko
Forum King
 
jheriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: a twist in the fabric of space
Posts: 2,150
Send a message via ICQ to jheriko
ffs

feel free to punish me for being a moron
Attached Files
File Type: rar jheriko.rar (1.5 KB, 356 views)

-- Jheriko

'Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers'
jheriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2005, 07:19   #4
JaVS_v2.5
Forum King
 
JaVS_v2.5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Seremban 2, Malaysia
Posts: 2,717
Send a message via Yahoo to JaVS_v2.5
i hate .rar extension! any zip??

Last played [offline]: Lamb of God - Nippon
-- JaVS :: h i p o t e s i s
JaVS_v2.5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2005, 08:24   #5
MaTTFURY
Major Dude
 
MaTTFURY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia,
Posts: 1,356
Think it'd hurt to do a quick linux port (please?)

also* Punishes Jheriko ...

i am not normal, no really.
MaTTFURY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2005, 11:11   #6
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
I prefer my oldskool raw->gvm converter

console apps f0r3v3r!!1

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2005, 12:35   #7
jheriko
Forum King
 
jheriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: a twist in the fabric of space
Posts: 2,150
Send a message via ICQ to jheriko
Quote:
Originally posted by MaTTFURY
Think it'd hurt to do a quick linux port (please?)

Because Winamp works under Linux

Because AVS works under Linux

Because GVM works under Linux


Its a .net executable, in theory it could be altered to compile with mono or some such, but I wont do it for the three blindingly obvious reasons posted above...

and JaVS... get with the times, rar compresses better. get winrar or something. :P (have a zip anyway)

Also, thanks guys for informing me that it installed without the .exe :P (fixed below)

http://jheriko.kicks-ass.net/avs_pro.../Image2GVM.exe
Attached Files
File Type: zip image2gvm.zip (60.7 KB, 324 views)

-- Jheriko

'Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers'
jheriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2005, 15:44   #8
JFASI
Major Dude
 
JFASI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: I was hoping you could tell me
Posts: 1,350
I feel like such a n00b saying this, but what's a GVM again?
JFASI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2005, 15:58   #9
ASD5A
Titeleinzigartigkeit
Senior Member
 
ASD5A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: under a bridge
Posts: 620
a .gvm is nothing but a .txt file with a different extension and which can be used with the global variabel manager.ape

oversized e-penis replacement
ASD5A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2005, 16:44   #10
JFASI
Major Dude
 
JFASI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: I was hoping you could tell me
Posts: 1,350
Then why does one convert a image to text??? Or is there some deep dark use to the var manager that I don't know about???
JFASI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2005, 17:30   #11
jheriko
Forum King
 
jheriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: a twist in the fabric of space
Posts: 2,150
Send a message via ICQ to jheriko
You can load from files into gmegabuf using the var manager. If you looked at the interface or read the help you might have noticed it...

You can use this for a lot of things... you just need to think of some

-- Jheriko

'Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers'
jheriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2005, 18:57   #12
Grandchild
Senior Member
 
Grandchild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 338
MSCOREE.DLL is missing he says.
Dunno what i made wrong with so simple a program...
Running win ME, downloaded and installed all three dl's.
erm..... chrm, chrm, HELP!

Last edited by Grandchild; 26th November 2005 at 19:15.
Grandchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2005, 20:19   #13
JFASI
Major Dude
 
JFASI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: I was hoping you could tell me
Posts: 1,350
Eeeeeeww... ME...
JFASI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2005, 23:19   #14
jheriko
Forum King
 
jheriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: a twist in the fabric of space
Posts: 2,150
Send a message via ICQ to jheriko
Quote:
Originally posted by Grandchild
MSCOREE.DLL is missing he says...
I should mention that it is dependent on the .net framework

-- Jheriko

'Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers'
jheriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2005, 01:52   #15
MaTTFURY
Major Dude
 
MaTTFURY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia,
Posts: 1,356
Quote:
Originally posted by JFASI
Eeeeeeww... ME...
eww windows ...

i am not normal, no really.
MaTTFURY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2005, 09:46   #16
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
Quote:
Originally posted by MaTTFURY
eww windows ...

Eeeewe... mattfury ...

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2005, 13:39   #17
hornet777
Member
 
hornet777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 87
yeah the original only had only 2 .CHM files (copies), but I didn't get back here until today; glad its resolved.

(I only make mistakes for the punishment)
hornet777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2005, 16:35   #18
ASD5A
Titeleinzigartigkeit
Senior Member
 
ASD5A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: under a bridge
Posts: 620
gc it sounds like you dont have the .net framework

oversized e-penis replacement
ASD5A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2005, 17:09   #19
Grandchild
Senior Member
 
Grandchild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 338
no i don't.

/me googles, searches, clicks on dl link...

Aaargh! 22mb! 1 n' a half hour dl time!

/me hit's 56k modem
Grandchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2005, 18:49   #20
eheiney
und keine Eier!
 
eheiney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: MI, USA
Posts: 1,374
Send a message via AIM to eheiney
I feel your pain. It sucks waiting that long, but it's worth it.

Spiral out, my friend. You will find your way back to yourself, we all will.
I'll be waiting, and shall see you on the other side...
eheiney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2005, 19:54   #21
Grandchild
Senior Member
 
Grandchild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 338
I've done [dled] it! works now.


a few things, Jheriko:

- for xdp the color value has a comma where a point should be: "assign(gmegabuf(0),,16);" instead of "assign(gmegabuf(0),.16);".

- "Options > Store as columns" isn't selected on clicking [at least not visibly in the menu].

- on appending the image to an existing file, the megabuf indizes just start with zero again. If it's possible it would be better to make them continue the count.

/edit: not sure about the last point, maybe I'm just doing sth wrong.

oooh and Jheriko, it felt soooooo good to play Stunts again! one of the best games ever! [haven't thought of it in a decade or so]
Grandchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2005, 09:14   #22
jheriko
Forum King
 
jheriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: a twist in the fabric of space
Posts: 2,150
Send a message via ICQ to jheriko
thanks grandchild

the comma is because .net is all localised and stuff... i apolgize for that. i will try to fix that asap, i need to look it up tho

grandchild, i could make it continue the count for appending... its just a fag to code... i will add it as an option maybe.

well spotted that the columns menu option doesnt work... i hadnt noticed that at all. i can fix that quickly, as the code for working with columns is there just the menu isnt coded for..

i did sort of rush this off a bit. i have to go take an exam in a bit, but i will fix these when i get back and stick up the new installer, i'm glad that this is possibly useful anyway..

i'm planning to write some avstrans texture lookup macros when i get back too.. so that its not a fag to do texture lookups, bilinear filtering etc.. hopefully some cubemap lookups as well

-- Jheriko

'Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers'
jheriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2005, 17:04   #23
Grandchild
Senior Member
 
Grandchild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 338
it will be very useful. it's funny, a week ago or so I had a preset idea were I needed exactly this sort of program. I already had me this far to think about doing it all by hand!
now this will take much less time, so thanks from my side!

to the append thing: since it's such "a fag" to code it, you could let the user set a number for the program to start the indizes with [not very handy, but easier to do i think]

GC
Grandchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2005, 20:10   #24
jheriko
Forum King
 
jheriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: a twist in the fabric of space
Posts: 2,150
Send a message via ICQ to jheriko
http://jheriko.kicks-ass.net/avs_pro.../Image2GVM.exe

i didnt add the append thing yet. but the localisation problems and menu for column output should be fixed.

btw grandchild, offset is the number you are looking for. its next to the three command buttons.

-- Jheriko

'Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers'
jheriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2005, 17:02   #25
jheriko
Forum King
 
jheriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: a twist in the fabric of space
Posts: 2,150
Send a message via ICQ to jheriko
no more problems?

-- Jheriko

'Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers'
jheriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2005, 17:10   #26
Grandchild
Senior Member
 
Grandchild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 338
except for the fact that this darn tuggummi did the preset that I wanted to do in his awesome 20th pack... no.
Grandchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2005, 19:24   #27
JFASI
Major Dude
 
JFASI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: I was hoping you could tell me
Posts: 1,350
***Pats Grandchild on the back***

Certified Spam Connoisseur.
JFASI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2005, 06:36   #28
Jaak
Major Dude
 
Jaak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Estonia.
Posts: 851
reported to run successfully under linux with mono 1.1.10 ^_^

Phi = (1+sqrt(5))/2
Jaak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2005, 05:54   #29
jheriko
Forum King
 
jheriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: a twist in the fabric of space
Posts: 2,150
Send a message via ICQ to jheriko
in your face mattfury...

-- Jheriko

'Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers'
jheriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2006, 15:54   #30
Kar-mAVS
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 56
Pak 9 - Where can I find the command line tool you mentioned? (I dont want to DL .Net)
Kar-mAVS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2006, 22:37   #31
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=213336

I'm not sure you will find these tools much use though, unless you are pretty familiar with avs already. They arent very easy to use either.

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2006, 01:59   #32
Kar-mAVS
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 56
I don't think i'll find that one any use (it only does .obj right?)
Kar-mAVS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2006, 06:03   #33
Kar-mAVS
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 56
and I just got ADSL
Kar-mAVS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > AVS

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump