Old 18th April 2008, 18:40   #1
vboogieman
Senior Member
 
vboogieman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: California
Posts: 182
Send a message via AIM to vboogieman Send a message via Yahoo to vboogieman
When will new Vista compatible DSP come out?

Too many new people that want to broadcast on my station have Vista. Tired of having them install XP or some other solution...

We need a DSP that works on Vista!!!

Anyone know if it's in the works or planned?

Last edited by vboogieman; 18th April 2008 at 19:34.
vboogieman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2008, 20:22   #2
arthurvasey
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 144
The Shoutcast DSP does work on Vista - the core problems lie in the internal soundcard (Realtek).

For whatever reasons, even though the on-board soundcard HAS Stereo Mix (or What U Hear), it doesn't actually work.

You can stream live on Vista on Soundcard Input - but you need the following for good effects:

An external soundcard - I use the Creative Soundblaster 5.1 - but it's difficult to stream DIRECT from the computer, as some of the things don't work - even with the Vista drivers installed;

An external mixer - I use a HomeMix - might be tacky, but it serves well.

To stream sounds FROM the computer to a Shoutcast server, you need to connect the computer to a channel on the mixer - that way, you can stream from other music management software packages - some have crossfaders, so you can auto DJ if you have to take a phone call, answer the door, a call of nature, watch something on telly or have a meal, without having to interrupt the broadcast. Don't monitor your broadcast THROUGH the computer (Winamp, ITunes), as it sounds like you're holding a conversation with yourself - lilke one of those chat shows on daytime TV with real people - all you!

You can also add things like CD jukeboxes that let you rip them to a hard drive - stream that for a bit - or an MP3 player with a high amount of GB, loaded with good music.

I do that on my station - between about noon and about 5 or 6 (UK time), check it out. Go to the main Shoutcast menu, (where the stations are listed), and type in Arty's Party.

Arthur Leslie Vasey
arthurvasey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2008, 22:43   #3
Hobs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 24
Send a message via Yahoo to Hobs
Quote:
Originally posted by arthurvasey
The Shoutcast DSP does work on Vista - the core problems lie in the internal soundcard (Realtek).
Why do people advise when they dont know the facts, Realtek humbug!

I have a soundblaster x-fi it dont work and will never work, I have a friend at MS and the old xp MS sound mixer maps has been taken out the way vista does sound is totally different to xp it also affected games.

SAM 4 will work with Vista on SOME cards.

I think its pretty bad that shoutcast has not updated their shoutcast plugin.

Being told by people here why use Vista? and thats MS for you is just lame.

I mean is was called winamp not linamp or macamp jesus it will get to the stage where its wimpamp.

All it seams is going on here is pushing AOL channels and NSV illegal movies and bad porn via NSV.

1 year on with vista sp1 out and no updates is this the AOL factor and shoutcast is now a dinosaur once great now a Dodo?

So what the powers to be at shoutcast castle expect for Broadcasters to live in the past and DJ and stick with XP or migrate to the bloated SAM

I remember when winamp and shoutcast was the no1 top dog and on cutting edge streaming, simple effective and did the job nicely.

Something has gotten lost on the way or they looked at the Vista issue and either thought to much hassle or its a $ issue.
Hobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2008, 23:06   #4
Sawg
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 7,456
Send a message via ICQ to Sawg Send a message via AIM to Sawg Send a message via Yahoo to Sawg
The removed the recording mixer functionality in Vista, that is not SHOUTcasts fault. And no the SHOUTcast DSP isn't currently being updated and if you are looking for an update to work round Vista's limitations be prepared to wait. Or feel free to use something else. But as for broadcasting though Winamp with the SHOUTcast DSP it works fine.

| Brought to you by ^V ^C | The one... the original... no seriously!
Sawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2008, 00:03   #5
vboogieman
Senior Member
 
vboogieman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: California
Posts: 182
Send a message via AIM to vboogieman Send a message via Yahoo to vboogieman
Quote:
Originally posted by Sawg
But as for broadcasting though Winamp with the SHOUTcast DSP it works fine.
It only works fine on XP...

Sure would like to be able to provide Winamp and Shoutcast DSP to new DJ's that want to broadcast on my station on their computers that run Vista without hearing a bunch of nonsense about it.

Luckily you can still get a computer with XP on it for people in the know. But lots of people are buying new PC's and they are coming with Vista.

It's time someone here at Nullsoft/Winamp/SHOUTcast/AOL realized they need to upgrade their software to run on Vista.
vboogieman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2008, 08:16   #6
Nick@ss
Moderator
 
Nick@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Streamsolutions Headquarters
Posts: 11,953
I think you are barking up the wrong tree here.

the dsp works fine on vista its just the sound mixer that's screwed.

so it works fine on xp and people can stream from soundcard so mickysoft bring out a new o/s that doesn't work and you want the dsp changed to make it work?

vista sucks for more reasons than shoutcast as it is rubbish but everyone thinks all the developers have to run around making their software work before bill gates changes it again.
Nick@ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2008, 09:56   #7
Hobs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 24
Send a message via Yahoo to Hobs
Actually MS took out the mixer map because it wasnt going anywhere the directx and way as I said before was rebuilt its independent.

They change it because many developers for applications and games when they had a bug xp crashed as xp sound is deep within the OS this also happened with sound drivers for just about anything.

So usual responce once again Vista is shit and MS sucks etc (groundhog day)

The new OS will be out in 4 years time tops you think their going to put mixermap back in lol.

It will be based around Vista sound management with hd sound and all that dolby crap.

I guess over the next few years the stations listed on shoutcast will be less and less.

Its not really the index it once was.

So it seams Shoutcast people cant be bothered and want new computer uses to dl xp off some torrent format and make their computer a dual boot with xp and vista.

Or buy a second hand computer if you want to do it legally all because shoutcast coders and comunity want live in the past and bitch about Vista like some raving drama queen.

Vista is alot better more secure and has more features than xp and as for mac's its overpriced eye candy and I use them all the time at work and boy do they crash and display things funny.

Oh well to all new DJ's looking for help with their new dual or quad core computers running vista.

Think up another Hobby as with the Luddites at shoutcast your be waiting a long long time for a fix.

Hobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2008, 10:36   #8
Nick@ss
Moderator
 
Nick@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Streamsolutions Headquarters
Posts: 11,953
Quote:
Its not really the index it once was.
hmm the yp has gone from 12000 stations to 24000 station in the last 4 years so im not sure where you get your info from?

Quote:
Or buy a second hand computer if you want to do it legally all because shoutcast coders and comunity want live in the past and bitch about Vista like some raving drama queen
as vista has removed things like rem desktop on the lower versions and the fact it treats you like an idiot alongside the fact that the mixer map is screwed plus the security settings stopping you from changing files on c:// program files.

without the fact that it is over resource intensive is enough reason for people to complain.

its wonderfull to have a quad core machine with gigs of ram but if it is using too much resource @ idle you may aswell have a 486 in my opinion as it prolly runs faster
Nick@ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2008, 11:28   #9
fc*uk
Moderator
 
fc*uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Atlantic Beach
Posts: 8,142
Quote:
Originally posted by nick@ss
vista sucks for more reasons than shoutcast as it is rubbish but everyone thinks all the developers have to run around making their software work before bill gates changes it again.
Quoted for emphasis and I would also like to point out that only an idiot changes standards he has spend the past 10 years forcing people to use and develop.

Think its just the OS? Wrong.

Office 2007 changed the default format of their documents to implement their new, more compatible xml format. See, here is where the major oops is.

Office 2007 does not open older documents properly; older versions of Office do not open documents saved by Office 2007 in the old format properly. The formatting in both cases is wacked.

Now see, I work in a very regulated industry. Just about every agency has their hands in what we do across the world. The field that I work in is so picky that when we change any document, we have to list all changes and why we changed it; that includes formatting.

We picked up this problem with Office 2007. Did we bitch to anyone about fixing what was really MS'es fuck up? No. We will simply not upgrade beyone Office 2003. See, this is the reason why legacy systems are kept. You don't change what you spent 10 years shoving down the end user's throat.

We are not the only ones on the "don't upgrade past office 2003" either. Just about every major pharma company in the world refuses to go past that.

Same thing applies to Vista and its compatibility issues. I have yet to see one corporation that has actually made the switch. Sure it took a while for them to go to XP too, but after a year and a half, corporations were switching. Does that tell you anything?
fc*uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2008, 14:27   #10
Nick@ss
Moderator
 
Nick@ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Streamsolutions Headquarters
Posts: 11,953
irir!!
Nick@ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2008, 14:52   #11
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
Way to cherry pick the only parts of his post that you could refute. . .

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2008, 16:27   #12
TonyG146
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Shoutcats with Vista

Well I dont think is a windows problem, the thing is that everybody are complaining with W.Vista, the problem does not come from microsoft, as vista is a new O.S, most of the programs should be developing a new update por vista as there are many new drivers and new sound car, so how can you explain that shoutcast works wiht realtek in XP and does not with Vista.

Come on all this developers for winamp and shoutcast, MOVE and bring out something new!! You should be ready for new times, and new times means Vista, and as you people say, windows is new O.S. so all drivers must be updated for it, the solution is not buying an external soundcar, you clever people make realtek work with.

P.D. sorry for my english but this is my best!! lol

Thanks
TonyG146 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2008, 16:30   #13
Hobs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 24
Send a message via Yahoo to Hobs
Quote:
Originally posted by fc*uk
Quoted for emphasis and I would also like to point out that only an idiot changes standards he has spend the past 10 years forcing people to use and develop.

Think its just the OS? Wrong.

Office 2007 changed the default format of their documents to implement their new, more compatible xml format. See, here is where the major oops is.

Office 2007 does not open older documents properly; older versions of Office do not open documents saved by Office 2007 in the old format properly. The formatting in both....
Your in the wrong forum, this is about 'What you hear' and recording/resampling not how to open some old word file

Think this says it all about vista Read this makes sense

Jesus cant post a url? Fine!

How to get what you hear
November 25, 2007
In a comment to my previous post, Jay of vistasucks fame pointed out that Microsoft deliberately disabled the “what you hear” and “stereo mix” audio input options in Vista to stop people using software such as Audacity to strip DRM from audio content.

It makes a lot of sense. You could play back an encrypted song on say iTunes while recording it off the “what you hear” channel using Audacity. The resulting sound file would be a new, unencrypted recording.

I guess there would be some loss of quality because the recording is capturing the signal after conversion from digital to analogue for playback over your loudspeakers. Still, many users wouldn’t care too much about that.

Jay is probably right about Microsoft crippling part of the audio functionality in Vista deliberately to thwart DRM circumvention and please the record labels. He is not alone in being of that view. It would be entirely in keeping with the pandering to the studios that has led to the elaborate copy protection systems built into Vista for HD video playback.


Happily, Microsoft’s dabblings are not terminal. All you have to do is flush out Microsoft’s DRM friendly audio drivers by installing the drivers provided by the soundcard manufacturer. In most cases, the proprietary drivers will support “what you hear”. The low down on the whole process is described here.

In my case that meant downloading and installing the Asus AudioMAX drivers for my on-board sound chip. I could then enable “what you hear” and “stereo mix” from the Sound applet in the Windows Control Panel as described in the Audacity link above.

I call this the Silk Purse solution.
Hobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2008, 16:37   #14
Greg_E
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,687
I think maybe this thread is going nowhere but a pissing match, maybe one of the mods can lock it.

Your mileage may vary!
Greg_E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2008, 18:15   #15
Hobs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 24
Send a message via Yahoo to Hobs
Quote:
Originally posted by Greg_E
I think maybe this thread is going nowhere but a pissing match, maybe one of the mods can lock it.
Its hardly a Pissing match or a personal attack by anyone. I guess some people are over sensitive.

This topic is all about the death of shoutcast and how any new DJ who bought a new computer cant DJ with shoutcast and will have to use Sam or something.

Unless someone is using vista has a soundard that has 'what you hear' and 'stereo mix' then let me and all the new dj's know and allows you to play a mp3 click the mic button on shoucast mp3 drops to -8 db etc then talk over it at the same time
Hobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2008, 18:35   #16
Dallasweeks
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Scarborough UK
Posts: 1
Vista?

I did not realise there was a problem, i've used it on vista many a time and its been fine,
Got me paranoid now ill be looking for problems, thanx
Dallasweeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2008, 09:03   #17
mychucky
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: San Jouqen Valley Ca.
Posts: 43
I am running three radio station servers on Vista one of them also running apache server to service the asx files required to play the other two on Win media player. I was going to add extra sound cards just cause I think I can get better quality out of them but the on board sounded well enough, so what was the issue again. My stuff works fine on vista and two at another location on XP and one with Win 2000. So I say leave well enough alone for the time being. As a matter of fact I realy am getting tired of seeing the popup that a new version of win amp is ready for downloading because I DONT want to take a stream down for ANY reason, as long as it aint broke DONT FIX IT>.....
mychucky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2008, 09:05   #18
mychucky
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: San Jouqen Valley Ca.
Posts: 43
I also must comment about the suggestion that "one of the mods should lock it" With all due respect if you dont like the disscussion, turn off the computer and watch tv.
mychucky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2008, 17:38   #19
DRThomson
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego, CA USA
Posts: 9
Sad isn't it. Vista sucks so naaah naaah. jeeze.

I solved this problem by going to edcast. After some trial and error, it works just fine. Apparently, Oddstocks antipathy towards Vista is not so bad that the refuse to support their own product anymore.

You can get edcast at www dot oddstock dot org. forward slash tools.
DRThomson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump